59 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had half a can of refried beans sitting in my fridge that needed to be used up and I was looking for a recipe that didn't call for tortillas since I'm trying to go low carb. This recipe fit that bill and I had all the ingredients on hand so I could make it for lunch today. I used a green pepper instead of a red one, I used red pepper flakes instead of cayenne and I skipped the cinnamon. I only simmered it for 10 minutes instead of the half hour instructed since I was on a time crunch and it was still very flavorful and hearty. I made only half the recipe and it made four servings. I served it topped with a little grated cheddar cheese. This recipe was so simple I think even my hubby could make it. It will definitely be on my regular rotation from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PeeblyWeebly May 27, 2012

I'm giving the recipe 3 stars as written. I made some changes that bumped it up to 4 for us. A can of crushed tomatoes instead of whole, some oregano, extra garlic, chili powder and cumin and added frozen corn. I didn't puree everything.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nosygirl January 09, 2012

I thought this was a really good soup. I think next time I would like to add some jalapenos and omit the cinnamon. I also think adding some additional bean like black beans would throw this recipe over the top. Thank you for a great post. I will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mini_1 July 18, 2010

Yum! I added a can of Hominy, a can of bean dip, and cilantro. I'll enjoy eating this for lunch for the next week! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ihvhope February 28, 2010

Definately a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
841595 February 06, 2010

A great, easy weeknight meal. We both really enjoyed the flavour. Followed the recipe exactly, but subbed ground turkey for the beef & we were thrilled with the results. Thanks for sharing this keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heydarl November 23, 2009

Names don't scare me. ;) I love refried beans, anyway. The soup was delicious and easy to make. I used the celery stalks and the optional cinnamon, which should not be optional, IMO. I garnished with fresh chopped cilantro.....yum! Thanx for sharing this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* September 11, 2009

This soup was really good and easy. I used up my taco night leftovers in the soup. I added about a can and a half of beans. I used one can of regular diced tomatoes and one with green chillies. I only blended about half of the soup so we would have creamy and chunky soup. Thanks for a yummy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adena mangis May 09, 2009

This is great! My family loved it. I've been wanting to try chili for the first time with my kids but they hate to many foods mixed together. Beans, which I like in my chili, would freak them out. This was the solution. My DD was sniffing at the pot with much interest from step 2 on. I put some in the freezer for these last few chilly days and this will be high on my list next winter. I can't wait. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookee monster April 16, 2009
Beefy Refried Bean Soup