Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beefy Refried Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beefy Refried Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    58 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 58

    Sort by:

    • on February 06, 2009

      This is a fantastic soup!!! I made it with 16 oz can of diced tomatoes and 8 oz can of tomatoes with green chillies. Left out the bell pepper, doubled the garlic. I drained the beef after cooking, for less grease. I added a 16 ounce can of pinto beans and topped with mexican shredded cheese and sour cream. I didn't puree it. Served with a Caesar Salad recipe #618000 from evelyn/athens and crusty bread. My DH and his friend devoured this. I wanted leftovers, but it's all gone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      I was looking for a pureed soup and made this exactly as described except that I left out the beef. (I don't like pureed meat.) I didn't really love it (maybe the meat changes the flavour profile quite a bit?) I ended up freezing it in a few batches and I'm going to add it the next time I make chili. Otherwise I would have thrown a lot of it out. I would not make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      A very tasty soup that all can adjust to their own taste. The basic concept of refried beans and beef broth as the base -- YUM!! I agree, ditch the celery and cinnamon, and add more of whatever beans you like. I agree no need to blender, though I did hand-cut the peeled tomatoes with scissors in the can before adding (my personal technique! canned "diced" aren't as tasty). I too only gave it 3 stars because no soup with this few vegetables can rate any higher with me, but I threw in some shredded Napa cabbage I had on hand -- disappears into it, and and ups the nutrition some!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      Made it as listed except didn't add the celery or cinnamon. I did add a 15 oz can of black beans. Without the black beans it would not seem complete. I did not blender it at the end. The texture does add to the goodness of the soup. It is a good change from chili. I would make this again with these changes. Only gave it 3 stars because it is missing something without the extra beans. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      We definitely liked the soup, but I have to agree with another reviewer . . . it wasn't "beany" enough for us . . . so I added an extra can of refried beans. I also eliminated the celery, due to personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      This soup was good and really different. We prefer brothier soups which is why we might not make it that often, but its definitely a nice alternative to chili. I omitted the celery as it just doesn't go with Mexican food IMO. We added a bit more broth per the suggestion of another user, and although it thinned out the soup amazingly the refried bean flavor was still there making it very unique. Thanks for sharing - great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2008

      This was delicious, and quite easy to make. The only thing I did differently was to add only 1/2 of a bell pepper (all I had on hand) and I threw in a couple chopped chipotles in adobo for flavor and heat. My only complaint is that this didn't taste very bean-y... I love refried beans, which is why I was drawn to this recipe. Next time I'll double the beans and half the tomatoes, and possibly leave out the celery as well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      This was a great a tasting soup...although I did add a lot more stock to thin it out and chopped jalapeno's. I topped mine with a handful of lightly crushed cornchips and grated cheese then zapped in the microwave so cheese melted. Mmm...a tasty Sat night's supper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      YUm! The family enjoyed this and is going to be a keeper! I did substitiute b-b-q rib meat for the hamburger meat but I think that just added more flavor. I also added more broth than the recipe called for because we wanted a thinner soup. Thank you for a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      My family really enjoyed this soup. Very good and easy to make. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      Thick, rich & filling - really good & hearty. Served it w/ sour cream, cheddar, & nacho chips. Great addition to our fajitas dinner. (I had it without the chips- South Beach) it's still very filling.Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      This soup is wonderful! I left out the celery because I don't care for it, used ground turkey, 1 can diced tomatoes and 1 can diced tomatoes with green chili, and used chicken stock, added a can of black beans and some frozen corn. It was so delicious! I'll be making this again, but tripling the recipe so we can have more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      This is really good even my picky 7y/o that normally won't touch anything with tomatoes in it ate it! Pureeing it is a fantastic idea for kids!!! I really enjoyed it also. DH has not tried it yet but I'm sure he will love it! Will make again!! Add more refried beans next time! Served it with tortilla stars(here on Zaar)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      Oh my! I had never heard of refried bean soup before. This is delicious! I absolutely love beans of all kinds and have been looking for some different soup recipes. Since the refried beans were already seasoned, there was no need for me to add any of the spices. Instead of a can of peeled tomatoes, I substituted some chunky black bean and corn salsa. I also added some green chilies and left out half of the hamburger. I think it would be great topped with shredded cheese, sour cream, green onions, tortilla chips, chili cheese Fritos, the possibilities are endless! I will be making this often. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      Tugar357, this was excellent! I added some mushrooms (typical for me) and upped the garlic just for personal taste. I made this last night and it was great. Today, as leftovers, it thickened so I cooked up some spaghetti noodles and topped with this soup/sauce and had what I would call East Texas spaghetti, since I grew up on these flavors. Ha! It's good stuff! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      Great soup. I added a can of rotele tomatoes with chilies and a large can of refried beans. I loved the chunky texture so didn't puree. I added a extra pinch of cayenne for extra spice. I would not leave out the cinnamon because of the great flavor. Serving this with Marie Calenders cake like corn bread.#104715 Will review later.Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2006

      I really was looking forward to this dish after a long day at work, but was suprised at how watery it was, and I even used a 15oz can of peeled tomatoes instead! I don't think that I'll make this recipe again, but thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      I wasn't really impressed with this soup. It taste's OK. There is nothing special about it, in my opinion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      Tastes great, filling and really easy. Thats all a person can ask for. We loved it. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beefy Refried Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (423 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 318.5
     
    Calories from Fat 156
    49%
    Total Fat 17.4 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 51.4 mg
    17%
    Sodium 692.9 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 6.4 g
    25%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 20.7 g
    41%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites