21 Reviews

This was a simple easy casserole dish to make. I adjusted the amount of thyme and oregano to about 3/4 of a teaspoon to suit our taste. The flavor was very good and the consistency very nice due to the milk/flour/cheese mixture. I was a little nervous when I added this mixture thinking it might turn out more like macaroni and cheese but it blends in very well (and my husband doesn't like cream sauces). The only thing I might do different next time would be to use 3 Tablespoons of flour to thicken it up a bit but it was very good just as prepared. The ingredients are not complicated, and are ones that I almost always have in my kitchen so this casserole is one that I could easily throw together.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn March 18, 2002

I liked this because it was fast to prepare, good and filling. The only change I made to this recipe was to use a can of Italian flavored diced tomatoes (without draining it)because that's what I had on hand. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagopm April 19, 2003

Sorry, but this was not for us. Very bland and the flour and milk mixture made the dish taste pastey.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marilyn Collari August 21, 2009

Not bad. Needs more flavor in my opinion. I would add some garlic and/or onion powder next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah Smile March 31, 2009

I followed the recipe exactly except I added garlic and a few red chili flakes to the meat as it browned. I also made a traditional bechamel sauce and added cheddar and mozzarella cheese to it for the cheese sauce. It was great, and even better the 2nd day. We'll make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DianeH February 08, 2009

This was made on 1/28/09 for mine and SO's dinner.I did make a few changes to the recipe,and they are as follows.Since my beef wasn't exactly on the lean side,the oil was omitted and the onion was added to the beef as it was browning. For the tomatoes, the same size can of fire roasted diced were used,so no chopping was required.After adding the herbs and salt, the tomato mixture was simmered for about 10 minutes. Then I tasted it and thought it needed "a bit of something" so about 1 teaspoon of garlic powder was added.While the pasta was draining, I mixed the cheese sauce in the same pan that I had cooked the pasta in so I wouldn't have another pan to wash:) Instead of adding all the milk at the same time to the flour, the flour was added first, then the milk was added a little at a time and stirred until smooth and creamy.The recipe was follwed as written from step 9 to step 14. Since we like the cheese a bit on the crunchy side,the dish was left in the oven just a bit longer.My SO and I both give this recipe a good "Solid 4 stars" in other words, this will be made again.Thanks for posting and,"Keep Smiling :)"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � January 29, 2009

We really liked this. I made minor modifications: added garlic, used a bit more thyme and oregano, and made a roux with flour and butter before adding the milk as I think it makes for a creamier cheese sauce, and I seasoned everything with a bit of salt and fresh ground pepper as it cooked. It was very tasty and came together quickly and easily. I will make this again. Thanks Sharlene!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
raisdbywolvz March 12, 2008

Great recipe...minus the thyme. It was way overpowering. Also, next time I will add more cheese and a second can of tomatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pearson719 October 23, 2007

We just did not enjoy this and I threw the leftovers away. DH thought it was bland, DS would not eat it (though I don't just go by him because he has days like that). I just did not care for the flavor at all. I think it was the thyme. Or maybe the combo of thyme and oregano. I will probably try again, but will omit these spices. Will probably add garlic too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniferK2 July 25, 2007

This was great. The only thing I changed was a cup of salsa for the tomatoes. Gave it a bit of a bite as well. Will be making this again. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jo.woodbeck October 10, 2006
Beefy Macaroni and Cheese Bake