Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beefy Macaroni and Cheese Bake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beefy Macaroni and Cheese Bake

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on March 18, 2002

      This was a simple easy casserole dish to make. I adjusted the amount of thyme and oregano to about 3/4 of a teaspoon to suit our taste. The flavor was very good and the consistency very nice due to the milk/flour/cheese mixture. I was a little nervous when I added this mixture thinking it might turn out more like macaroni and cheese but it blends in very well (and my husband doesn't like cream sauces). The only thing I might do different next time would be to use 3 Tablespoons of flour to thicken it up a bit but it was very good just as prepared. The ingredients are not complicated, and are ones that I almost always have in my kitchen so this casserole is one that I could easily throw together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2003

      I liked this because it was fast to prepare, good and filling. The only change I made to this recipe was to use a can of Italian flavored diced tomatoes (without draining it)because that's what I had on hand. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      Sorry, but this was not for us. Very bland and the flour and milk mixture made the dish taste pastey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      Not bad. Needs more flavor in my opinion. I would add some garlic and/or onion powder next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      I followed the recipe exactly except I added garlic and a few red chili flakes to the meat as it browned. I also made a traditional bechamel sauce and added cheddar and mozzarella cheese to it for the cheese sauce. It was great, and even better the 2nd day. We'll make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      This was made on 1/28/09 for mine and SO's dinner.I did make a few changes to the recipe,and they are as follows.Since my beef wasn't exactly on the lean side,the oil was omitted and the onion was added to the beef as it was browning. For the tomatoes, the same size can of fire roasted diced were used,so no chopping was required.After adding the herbs and salt, the tomato mixture was simmered for about 10 minutes. Then I tasted it and thought it needed "a bit of something" so about 1 teaspoon of garlic powder was added.While the pasta was draining, I mixed the cheese sauce in the same pan that I had cooked the pasta in so I wouldn't have another pan to wash:) Instead of adding all the milk at the same time to the flour, the flour was added first, then the milk was added a little at a time and stirred until smooth and creamy.The recipe was follwed as written from step 9 to step 14. Since we like the cheese a bit on the crunchy side,the dish was left in the oven just a bit longer.My SO and I both give this recipe a good "Solid 4 stars" in other words, this will be made again.Thanks for posting and,"Keep Smiling :)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      We really liked this. I made minor modifications: added garlic, used a bit more thyme and oregano, and made a roux with flour and butter before adding the milk as I think it makes for a creamier cheese sauce, and I seasoned everything with a bit of salt and fresh ground pepper as it cooked. It was very tasty and came together quickly and easily. I will make this again. Thanks Sharlene!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      Great recipe...minus the thyme. It was way overpowering. Also, next time I will add more cheese and a second can of tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      We just did not enjoy this and I threw the leftovers away. DH thought it was bland, DS would not eat it (though I don't just go by him because he has days like that). I just did not care for the flavor at all. I think it was the thyme. Or maybe the combo of thyme and oregano. I will probably try again, but will omit these spices. Will probably add garlic too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      This was great. The only thing I changed was a cup of salsa for the tomatoes. Gave it a bit of a bite as well. Will be making this again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2006

      This was really good. I added peas & a grated carrot, also used basil instead of the thyme only because I didn't have any. I didn't mix the cheese mix with the meat & pasta, instead I added this at the end on top of the meat & pasta mix. Will defiantly make again, next time adding garlic and mushrooms for some more flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2006

    • on January 23, 2006

      I too added some garlic. Love the stuff :) I served with steamed broccoli & cauliflower but in hindsight think it would have been better with a crisp coleslaw. A handy recipe to have for when you can't get to the shops and need to feed a hungry family with whats on hand. A little bland for my taste but I am sure children would like it as is. I will certainly make again but will spice it up, not sure with 'what', but will experiment. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2006

      My family loves this even my 7 year old which SD is saying ALOT!! The only changes I made was to add some chopped garlic (I love garlic) during the step that adds onions and also about another 1/2 of a 14 oz can of tomatoes since we like things a little more juicy. It is wonderful. We make this all the time. Thank you Sharlene for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2005

      A perfect grab what ya have meal. I had to sub rotel tomatos and added a can of green chili's as well. I combined cheddar and mozzarella cheese, and used more of it. My son and I think it's great, hubby said it was okay. (he ate half the casserole!) lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2005

      We liked it very much. I made mine with crumbled italian sausage instead of ground beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2005

      Thank you so much Sharlene~W we really loved this easy to make tasty casserole. The flavour was very good. A real comfort food. I added 2 tbsp of dried garlic pesto as I was out of thyme and oregano.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2004

      Forgot to give this stars! Sorry! Five stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2004

      This was good and easy. I usually have all these ingredients on hand. I omitted the thyme, just used oregano and basil. My son is eating the leftovers as I write this review!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2004

      The whole family liked this one, even the finicky four year old cleaned his plate. I added 3/4 tsp each oregano and thyme, as well as italian style chopped tomatoes drained, and 1 extra tsp flour to thicken the sauce. The flavor is pretty subtle at first,but it gets better as it sets. Tx! Kellie2

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beefy Macaroni and Cheese Bake

    Serving Size: 1 (276 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 395.7
     
    Calories from Fat 170
    42%
    Total Fat 18.8 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 8.8 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 77.4 mg
    25%
    Sodium 202.2 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 26.3 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites