15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The flavor combination is perfect!. I used Sugar snap Peas (they are really the same but fatter and hold their crispness better) Don't change a thing in this recipe Thanks Kim127 it'll be a regular

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy April 12, 2003

We didn't have beef so we used chicken and it was great. Next time we will make more sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gypsyjazz1150_11823878 August 04, 2012

Excellent! We loved this dish. The brown sugar adds a touch of sweetness without it being 'too much'. I didn't have rice wine and instead added 1 tbsp of rice vinegar and 1 tbsp of white wineI hardly had any sauce and added 3/4 cup of stock which worked really well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini January 19, 2011

This was a quick and tasty meal. It was a bit on the salty side, so next time I might substitute low-sodium soy sauce. Other than that perfecto!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 February 09, 2009

Delicious. So easy to make. I am always looking for homemade oriental style dishes instead of purchasing take-out. Didn't change a thing. Think this recipe would be good with broccoli instead of snow peas and chunks of onion too. Served on top of steamed rice. This one is definitely on my make again list and added to My Favorite Recipezaar recipes binder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodtvfan December 12, 2008

Made this for lunch this afternoon and it was a perfect quick and satisfying meal. The seasonings were wonderful, not to sweet with a good balance of acidity. I added a pinch of red pepper flakes just out of personal preference. I loved that the sauce was just the right consistency enough to coat the components without becoming clumpy or sticky. My strips were perhaps a bit too thin as at the stated cooking times, I did find them to be a bit overdone and slightly tough. Next time I would go with just a minute before adding the snow peas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni June 01, 2008

this was a hit w/ the kids. even the neighborhood kids who isn't that fond of veggies or asian-y (is there such a word? lol) flavor really liked it. sauce didn't thicken for me either but it was still very good and flavorful. next time tho i'm sure to use a better cut of meat. thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvMyBabies May 16, 2008

Well, I hate to be the one to give this a low review, but after much deliberating, I decided I should be honest. We really didn't like this one very much at all. The flavor was pretty bland. The sauce didn't thicken up the way I'd hoped (even though I doubled the corn starch and the cooking time), and the meat was very tough. Sorry to add this to the reviews...but I figure the whole point of this review system is to be honest, right?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L-Burden May 13, 2008

This had a great flavor, the rice wine and soy worked well together. The snow peas add a little crunch. It is quick to prepare, great for a week night. Served it over rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser April 08, 2008

Nice and easy recipe. I also added sugar snap peas as suggested by another reviewer. It turned out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakerBeth March 06, 2008
Beef With Snow Peas