13 Reviews

This is restaurant quality w/out breaking the bank! I used 2.5 lbs of chuck steaks (I just like the consistency better since chuck roast seems more stringy). I cut some of the fat off first, browned it in the seasonings, then stuck it in the crock pot for 6 hours. I shredded it on a plate to get rid of some more fat from the middle. I cut the ingredients in half, even though I used 2.5 lbs and it was perfect. Didn't want to use so much taco seasoning. Bought low-sodium beef broth & taco seasoning. I used 1 1/2 cups enchilada sauce & 1/2 cup gravy and it was perfect. It made 5 burritos, though it could have made 6. Next time I will put the lettuce & tomatoes on the outside, as I really prefer more of a crunch. The sauce is spectacular and who would have thought, so easy! Thanks!!! This is a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KadesMom October 18, 2010

These are delicious! I made the whole recipe using rickoholic's suggestion by using a slow cooker. We froze half of the meat, and bought enough cheese to bake half. These are huge!! I am a really big eater and could only eat half a burrito. Next time I will freeze 3/4 of the meat and make them smaller. This recipe is so worth the effort. I made Mexican Rice Mexican Rice to go with it. Thanks Wildflour!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetcakes March 09, 2009

I used a leaner cut of meat and put into my crockpot...then simmered down the sauce after shredding it...turned out wonderful...great flavor, but sure does make a ton....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc July 15, 2010

Love these gems!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckyjacobs54 June 14, 2010

Although I didn't adhere strictly to your recipe, Wildflour, the parts I did use turned out to be so yummy that I think it definitely still qualifies for lots of stars. The dry rub for the roast is excellent. Since I was making enchiladas instead of burritos, I added a can of diced green chilies to the crockpot and mixed a large onion that had been chopped and sauteed with the shredded beef. The meat and au jus had wonderful flavor! (One small caveat... I used a taco seasoning mix recipe posted on 'zaar, so it was fairly low-sodium. I'm afraid if I'd used 2 packets of the commercial kind it would have been waaay too salty for us.) Rather than opting for the canned stuff, I made a batch of Mark H.'s Texas Red Enchilada Sauce to use as the base for your Colorado Sauce. As good as his recipe is, I thought it was totally off the chain after adding the gravy mix as you recommended. I'd never even heard of CO Sauce before, but it was really sensational! Sorry to be so long-winded, but I have one recommendation with regard to the instructions. Chuck definitely isn't a lean cut, and much of the fat is on the inside, where you can't trim it off before cooking. There are some large, fatty pockets that are easy to see and discard after the fact. But there are also lots of thin strips of fat that sort of have to be peeled off. They're difficult to spot, but they're easy to feel. Rather than returning the roast to the pot and then shredding with forks, I'd recommend that you shred it on the platter using your hands. It's so tender that it can be done easily, and you won't miss a sliver of fat or gristle. Thanks so much for posting this, Wildflour. With your help, my beef enchiladas have gone from real good to absolutely killer! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highcotton July 22, 2009

An excellent burrito! I made the beef in the crock pot for 6 hours on low as did other reviewers, then shredded, and put together as directed. The beef was seasoned perfectly. Next time I will definitely add the lettuce and tomato afterward as we have TONS of leftovers and they'll probably reheat much nicer without the veggies. These are huge! Thanks so much Wildflour for sharing this recipe! Made for ZWT 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slim PA May 18, 2009

I have made these a couple times now. Made them for a family get-togther and had rave reviews. Followed the recipe to a tee, except I didn't find any reason to measure out liquid after cooking, I just let whatever is left reduce. Wonderful recipe, thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wyoming Mom March 21, 2009

I used lean chopped beef to make these following the directions. They came out really good! Even my grandchildren loved them! The sauce was awesome too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OutOfThyme March 13, 2009

I have made these several times now. We just love it! The Colorado sauce is what makes these so good. Thanks for a new family favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
torie t. October 17, 2008

We had these with Cheesy Green Chili Rice and they were so darn good the kids want them again this week! I made mine with the meat from this recipe and then made brown rice for Mexican rice and added it to the inside of the burritos, along with sour cream, salsa, lettuce and green chilies, they were awesome! Sprinkled more salsa and black olives on the top and we were good to go! Thanks for this great addition to my menu Wildflour!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrendaThurston67 September 07, 2008
Beef Wet Burritos Hacienda-Style!