9 Reviews

Thanks for the recipe, Dreamgoddess! I've made this type of soup many times without benefit of a real recipe. Never would have thought of adding the ground beef, black-eyed peas, or okra. They were worthy additions and the soup was a hit!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mswhipple October 25, 2006

I made this soup to take to a sick friend, but wish I had used some other recipe. I think this has way too much meat in it. It is also more like stew than soup. Just not the best, don't agree with all the top ratings. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FL JoJo February 23, 2009

I substituted 1.5 lbs of ground turkey for the 2 lbs ground beef, used 2 bouilloun cubes instead of 4, omitted the tomato sauce and the stewing beef. This recipe held up well despite my changes and was delicious. Great recipe! I served it with the Southern Cornbread recipe on this site (#51550) and this meal was a huge hit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
New South Cook May 05, 2005

This is the best Beef Vegetable soup that I have ever tasted!!! After cooking this recipe, I was so enthused that I called my mom about it and drove and let her and my father try it. 5 Stars all the way!!!!!!! Only thing I did different was, using reduced sodium packets for the bouillon cubes, and did not use the shells.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJ KooL February 28, 2005

This is a perfect soup for families that have some who like thick soups and some that like brothy soups. The favor is so rich that when serving it two both kinds of soup lovers you can add water to the individual soup servings. Normally when you add water it makes it so diluted that it has no taste. Not this one. I served my DH the thick soup and added 1/2 cup water to my bowl and was thrilled. I baked up a batch of "Best Cornbread Ever" and had a meal that couldn't be beat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debby H February 02, 2005

My husband does not like vegetables, but he ate two bowls of this! I added more beef bouillon as it was a little too tomatoey, but I will be making more and freezing for those nights I'm in a hurry. Low cost to make also by the way!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christie Bowling December 27, 2003

This was a very good soup. It was hearty and very delicious. There was plenty leftover to freeze.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anna T December 14, 2003

We feel in love with this recipe. The combination of beef, pasta and black eye beans was terrific. I cooked it in my crockpot for 8 hours on low. I didn't even brown the meat. Just added the ingredients, set the timer and I was off to do my errands. Served it with side salad of Parmesan Peppercorn dressing and Texas Three Cheese Toast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M October 05, 2003

What a great soup, made the whole recipe and have frozen it in portions to take to work for lunches. I didn't have any beef cubes so I used a can of beef broth and as advised left the potatoes out for freezing. I just added enough water with the broth to cover the meat. It is almost like a minestrone, very flavourful and hearty with out being overpowering. Although we like our soup thick, I did add more broth at the end as it was almost thicker than a stew. We had it for supper the day I made it and added some boiled cubed potatoes, it was excellent but I don't think I'll bother adding the potatoes to the frozen portions, it's plenty thick enough for lunches. Thanks for sharing a great dare, so glad we found it for winter lunches.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf September 16, 2003
Beef Vegetable Soup