23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was quite tasty! I halved it and used a can of cream of mushroom instead. I also added some frozen veggies and cut up mushrooms. l did have to thicken it with some cornstarch near the end to get the gravy nice and thick. Definitely keeping this recipe in my repertoire!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiesha Bullock August 08, 2014

I used cream of mushroom soup and added a can of mushrooms too. Great stuff!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CooksSoGood August 02, 2009

This was really good. I didn't have any of the low sodium soup or broth, so I used full sodium versions which made it a little salty. I don't know what I expected, but this really tasted like stew without the veggies. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eileen0862 November 23, 2008

my husband said that this should go in the "Beef Tips Hall of Fame" I gave the recipe to my friend and her kids said it should be renamed Yum Yum Beef. I did turn it up to high at the end and use some cornstarch mixed in cold water to thicken for about 20 min. It was really good the first time and even better left over!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JJBurns October 15, 2008

I was hesitant to try this because 1) sounded too easy 2) we don't really care for cream of soup recipes. But with 18 good reviews, it was worth a try. Am so glad I did...tastes great! Gave it four stars only because, as another reviewer suggested, it kinda looks like dog food. One bite will convince you otherwise though. Thanks, Audrey--your other crockpot recipes sound good too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers February 05, 2008

Very, very good. Very, very easy to put together. We are lo carbing it but I can only imagine how wonderful this would taste over mashed potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugaree May 19, 2007

Very, very good and simple. I didn't change a thing. We had it over rice and it was total comfort food. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kellymike April 26, 2007

Oh my, what delicous gravy and tender meat. I used stew meat I had on hand and added some sauteed mushrooms and onions that i needed to use up. I did add a extra can of soup only because I added so many mushrooms and onions. Will make again and again. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef KLC April 01, 2007

This was very good. I added mushrooms to it since my DH loves them. I think he ate two big platefuls of it. Thank you very much for a new meal instead of the same old stuff.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JollyChef February 22, 2007

:yummy: This turned out so good! I cut the recipe in half (just cooking for me) and so one of the cans of soup had to go (wasn't opening two and just using half of each). Choosing to go w/ the beef broth, I tossed the cut up beef w/ seasoned flour and put it in the crockpot before adding the onion soup mix and the broth. When I got home from work... WOW! The kitchen smelled wonderful! The meat was tender and tasty and the gravy was just out of this world! Served over rice as recommended. Looking forward to leftovers tomorrow night! Thanks for a great recipe.... definitely will make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Impera_Magna October 25, 2006
Beef Tips & Gravy With Rice