Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Tips and Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Tips and Gravy

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on September 25, 2010

      Classic comfort food!
      I adapted the recipe for the crockpot by reducing the water to 1 1/2 cups and cooking on low approx 6 hrs. I added 1 clove of minced garlic and used 2 T cornstarch/ 3T water to make the gravy the last 30 minutes then added 1/2 t Kitchen Bouquet for color. Served over rice with a green salad & peas. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      I did not like this as stated, all I tasted was the ketchup in the gravy. Also I suspected I would not need 3 cups water so I only used 2 and that was perfect. Next time I am going to try using beef stock in place of all the water and a little tomato paste in place of the ketchup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      This was really good, old-fashioned comfort food. I added some sliced mushrooms with the onions, and served this over mashed poatoes. The meat turned out very tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      Love recipes that just kind of sit there and does it's thing with very few ingredients. My husband loved the gravy. Served over gnocchi. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2012

      Excellent flavor, the whole family enjoyed it. I did add mushrooms with the onions. I served it over egg noodles and my only complaint is that the sauce was not thick enough for our liking. I think it would be a great consistency over mashed potatoes, but it just didn't stick to the noodles. I will double the cornstarch next time - but there will definitely be a next time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2012

      This came out great! I've never made beef tips before. I was nervous about the amount of Worcestershire sauce because it smelled strong at first. I intended to add garlic but I forgot. I did add a few shakes of Italian seasoning. My family enjoyed the flavor of this. I served it with egg noodles. Easy, good recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2012

      Simple Goodness!
      My husband was yearning for Beef Tips over noodles, so I chose this recipe. He yummied through the entire meal, as did I. It was very tasty and the meat so tender. Simple ingredients, easy preparation, and the final product satisfied our hunger for great, home-cooked comfort food.
      As a leftover, we combined the noodles and beef tips for a casserole dinner with salad the following night. It's a truly EASY recipe with a comforting yummy taste. Next time, I'll try it in the crock pot for an all day slow cooked method.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      This was a lovely dinner on a chilly night. I added some garlic and a dash of red wine near the end of the cooking time. Thx for sharing your Mom's recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      It was just what my belly needed :))) Delicious!!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      Wow, these were great! We'll be having them again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      I'm not a big fan of tips but I went back for seconds on this one and that says a lot! Made a slight change in the gravy in that I used 2 T of cornstarch to 3 T of water for a thicker gravy. Sure to be repeated as the pot was bone dry when we got thru out meal. Made for The Aussie/NZ RS#34.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      The meat kind of fell apart after about 8 hours but the taste was delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      Not to often hubby says give it a 10,thought he was going to lick the plate.Will be making this again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      Aussie Swap 29: Emily - awesome recipe!! I love the taste and ease of making this!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2014

      This really does catch the flavor of true beef tips. I subbed in tomato paste for ketchup. Today's ketchup has NO tomato taste, just a glossy, sweet jam IMHO. After browning the tips in flour I baked in Dutch Oven for 1/ 1/2 hrs at 300 degrees, covered. Added the onion and baked for an additional 1 hour. Last 1/2 hour I added the mushrooms and cornstarch slurry. I used water as the recipe called for and next time I will give beef broth a try

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      Very yummy, I loved it! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      Great dish! I'm a New Orleans cook so I made a few changes. Lightly floured and browned beef tips, removed from pan. Sauteed onions, bell peppers and mushrooms ( all cut in large pieces); returned tips to pot, added 2 C water with kitchen bouquet, Worcestershire sauce, Tony's and garlic powder. <br/>This removed need for corn starch ( flour that drops off thickens). If white flour is a problem use whole wheat.<br/>Served over egg noodles with cream corn...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      Thank you, this was wonderful! I have never cooked beef tips before but my boyfriend has been craving them. I didn't want to use a lot of processed canned soup stuff though and I stumbled on your recipe. I wasn't sure, it was too easy to be good, but it was just perfect. I did add some mushrooms because i love mushrooms but otherwise followed, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2012

      I took some liberties with this recipe but used it as a base. I also added sliced red peppers, sliced fresh mushrooms and a clove of garlic. I added a packet of brown gravy instead of corn starch, and a dash of bouquet garni. I thought it was very good! Served over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2012

      Husband and I loved it. Made as written. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Tips and Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (323 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 184.3
     
    Calories from Fat 122
    66%
    Total Fat 13.6 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1510.5 mg
    62%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 7.4 g
    29%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    beef tips

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites