36 Reviews

These really were better than the ones from the store! I don't know if it was just me, but it did take almost three hours to shred the roast and assemble/fry all of the taquitos. I wanted to do them all at once, I just didn't know quite how long it would take! I wish I had thought to do this with pork instead of beef, just for economical reasons, and will probably give that a try next time. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pedspeech March 21, 2009

An experienced chef with kids coming back for the second time on this one....so simple and good! I just shread the roast (I use pork - it's cheaper!) and freeze it with spanish rice. I either serve it reheated (obviously! :)) with salsa or stuff burritos or tacos with it. We even serve it with just tortilla chips. The roast it excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1023700 November 12, 2008

I enjoyed this , left out the onion powder and salsa (allergy) The family loved them as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwenstacy October 25, 2008

So worth it! These are awesome =) The reviewer that suggested warming 8 tortillas at a time for 1min 25 sec. was right on. Turned out perfect - and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Jodi September 28, 2008

Delicious. Still questioning if it was worth all the rolling and frying but they did taste just like the restaurant variety.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leahfrank January 13, 2008

This is exceptional! I used a couple of large onions instead of the soup mix as I didn't have any. I expected to have problems rolling as other reviewers but had no probs at all, so easy in fact my son filled and rolled. I took these from the freezer and put straight into a hot oven for 30 mins, but they are very versatile in terms of re-heat as another batch I put in at 150C before going out on a gym-run & when I got back just under an hour later they were perfect. I tried both frying and baking b4 freezing and I would say the frying is best but lots of fat! baking was great too tho. Thanks SO much for posting Tish, these tick so many boxes for me - my kids love them, I can make a batch and fill the freezer and they can also be eaten on-the-run. The next batch I make will be double.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fairywishes wish January 08, 2008

Made these to take to a church lunch and I thought they were great. I used leftover brisket, didn't use the onion soup mix but otherwise followed recipe as written. Of course they were better hot but I had probably at least 30 and they were all gone. Thanks, I'm sure I will make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vlynn December 06, 2007

i made these for my teenaged son since he is always asking me to buy the store bought ones and then complains that they aren't very good. i tasted a broken one and then couldn't stop eating them. i can't wait til he gets home from school, he will love them! i will have to make another batch to freeze. thanks for the wonderful and easy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrincessPage November 29, 2007

i thought this recipe worked wonderfully. i cooked a 3.5 lb roast in my crockpot for 7 hours and then followed the recipe to the letter. though the tortillas take at least 30 seconds each to become soft enough to roll.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovelysoulthief July 12, 2007

Great and easy recipe! I didn't want to have to deal with the oil each time we wanted a snack or easy meal so I decided to fry them all ahead of time so that we can just pull them out of the freezer and reheat them. I've found that reheating them (baking them) in a 375 degree oven for ten minutes helps them retain their crispy texture better than just microwaving them. Served with homemade salsa and guacamole (recipe 173063) and enjoyed them very much! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vitameatavegamin Girl May 03, 2007
Beef Taquitos (Oamc)