37 Reviews

Delish! Four stars only because my tortillas fell apart while cooking. I read another reviewer who said to use hot oil rather than the microwave to soften the tortillas, so I'll try that next time. And, oh yes, there will be a next time. Even with the tears, they were SO yummy! I used Rotel for the tomatoes and added cilantro. I want to try with chicken and flour tortillas (flautas) too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GirlyJu March 25, 2009

These really were better than the ones from the store! I don't know if it was just me, but it did take almost three hours to shred the roast and assemble/fry all of the taquitos. I wanted to do them all at once, I just didn't know quite how long it would take! I wish I had thought to do this with pork instead of beef, just for economical reasons, and will probably give that a try next time. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pedspeech March 21, 2009

An experienced chef with kids coming back for the second time on this one....so simple and good! I just shread the roast (I use pork - it's cheaper!) and freeze it with spanish rice. I either serve it reheated (obviously! :)) with salsa or stuff burritos or tacos with it. We even serve it with just tortilla chips. The roast it excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1023700 November 12, 2008

I enjoyed this , left out the onion powder and salsa (allergy) The family loved them as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwenstacy October 25, 2008

So worth it! These are awesome =) The reviewer that suggested warming 8 tortillas at a time for 1min 25 sec. was right on. Turned out perfect - and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Jodi September 28, 2008

Delicious. Still questioning if it was worth all the rolling and frying but they did taste just like the restaurant variety.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leahfrank January 13, 2008

This is exceptional! I used a couple of large onions instead of the soup mix as I didn't have any. I expected to have problems rolling as other reviewers but had no probs at all, so easy in fact my son filled and rolled. I took these from the freezer and put straight into a hot oven for 30 mins, but they are very versatile in terms of re-heat as another batch I put in at 150C before going out on a gym-run & when I got back just under an hour later they were perfect. I tried both frying and baking b4 freezing and I would say the frying is best but lots of fat! baking was great too tho. Thanks SO much for posting Tish, these tick so many boxes for me - my kids love them, I can make a batch and fill the freezer and they can also be eaten on-the-run. The next batch I make will be double.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fairywishes wish January 08, 2008

Made these to take to a church lunch and I thought they were great. I used leftover brisket, didn't use the onion soup mix but otherwise followed recipe as written. Of course they were better hot but I had probably at least 30 and they were all gone. Thanks, I'm sure I will make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vlynn December 06, 2007

i made these for my teenaged son since he is always asking me to buy the store bought ones and then complains that they aren't very good. i tasted a broken one and then couldn't stop eating them. i can't wait til he gets home from school, he will love them! i will have to make another batch to freeze. thanks for the wonderful and easy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrincessPage November 29, 2007

i thought this recipe worked wonderfully. i cooked a 3.5 lb roast in my crockpot for 7 hours and then followed the recipe to the letter. though the tortillas take at least 30 seconds each to become soft enough to roll.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovelysoulthief July 12, 2007
Beef Taquitos (Oamc)