36 Reviews

Trying to be helpful and not a know it all. Try heating the corn tortillas on a fajita or cast iron pan over med heat for about 15 or 20 seconds each side.They'll be easy to work with. Using a microwave is very inconsistant,and frying is even worse. Just my experience. From a taquitos fan!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bogie1234 September 30, 2008

First off, I must apologize for keeping this in my cookbook for years before trying it. All that time not knowing how good these were! My kids even loved them. There are a few steps but don't let that dissuade you. I learned on another recipe that if you rub a tiny bit of shortning on each side of the corn tortillas and stack them on a plate and nuke them for about 3 minutes,(they'll be hot and you'll want to let them cool) they will be nice and pliable. I do 20-30 at a time this way. not worried about the bad in the shortning, the amount is negligible.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enigma535 October 22, 2011

I have to admite, I start at Step ^ with any leftover meat I have. We grill a lot of pollo/carne asada, and anything seems to taste good in a taquito! The freezing technique is clutch! It makes them easier to fry, and you can save extras for later.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saucy48 June 28, 2010

Here's what you need to do...take out each tortila,splash a little water (lightly) all over each side & add it to either a damp tea towel or what I lke to use is a damp paper towel (roughly 6 sheets & fold in half)when the tortillas are all slightly wet place in the middle of the fold & heat in a micowave for roughly 45 sec to a min.Make sure u place them all on a plate before microwaving.Enjoy..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m00m0033 August 23, 2009

My whole family loves these! They're a staple in my freezer now. I made 90 (10 lb of roast) last time! I first tried the original recipe and it was great! For variety, I tried adding some veggies and now I've refined our recipe so that I add two cans each of black beans (drained) and corn and double the cheese, onions and the salsa to give it a more veggie theme. Either way, it is super!! I also use the idea of another reviewer to soften the tortillas (corn or flour work!) by dipping them in hot oil before filling. That was a huge lifesaver as my tortillas were cracking like mad when I tried it without the hot oil. I freeze them and then I just bake at 400 right out of the freezer. Couldn't be easier! Thanks for a great recipe and great inspiration!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StephanieZ July 28, 2007

I am re-reviewing this with 5-stars this time!!! This time, instead of trying to warm them in the microwave (which didn't work for me the first time I made these), I dipped the tortillas in hot oil to soften them before adding the filling and rolling. It made ALOT of difference....so much easier to roll since they did not fall apart on me! I also omitted the salsa and added some of the meat juices from the crock pot to moisten the meat mixture. This was excellent! Next time, I'm going to make a larger roast to have meat leftover for tacos and such! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kzim4 April 18, 2004

I hate store bought taquitos and my husband loves them so I thought I would give these a try. First off they are huge. Secondly they are absolutely delicious!! They are so amazingly good right out of they frying pan and they reheat well in the oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aubribanana October 25, 2012

These were amazingly good Taquitos :) I do have to say i find the entire process a very tedious one with all of the different steps and with trying to keep the tortillas in shape. This is a matter of personal opinion though. However the taste result was amazing, and we have said we'd like to try using the filling in this recipe for other things as well. Over all absolutely deserving of a 5 star recipe, thank you for sharing this :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PickleLover February 05, 2010

Ok, well I spent all day cooking and this was one of the more tastier fillings I've had. But I gotta tell ya, all of my tortillas cracked open in the freezer. I don't know what everybody else did that I didn't because the reviews are pretty good. I tore all of the tortillas off and just froze the meat in rolls. I'll put them in the tortillas when I make them. Great filling!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tmp68 August 16, 2009

Delish! Four stars only because my tortillas fell apart while cooking. I read another reviewer who said to use hot oil rather than the microwave to soften the tortillas, so I'll try that next time. And, oh yes, there will be a next time. Even with the tears, they were SO yummy! I used Rotel for the tomatoes and added cilantro. I want to try with chicken and flour tortillas (flautas) too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GirlyJu March 25, 2009
Beef Taquitos (Oamc)