Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Taquitos (Oamc) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Taquitos (Oamc)

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on September 30, 2008

      Trying to be helpful and not a know it all. Try heating the corn tortillas on a fajita or cast iron pan over med heat for about 15 or 20 seconds each side.They'll be easy to work with. Using a microwave is very inconsistant,and frying is even worse. Just my experience. From a taquitos fan!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      First off, I must apologize for keeping this in my cookbook for years before trying it. All that time not knowing how good these were! My kids even loved them. There are a few steps but don't let that dissuade you. I learned on another recipe that if you rub a tiny bit of shortning on each side of the corn tortillas and stack them on a plate and nuke them for about 3 minutes,(they'll be hot and you'll want to let them cool) they will be nice and pliable. I do 20-30 at a time this way. not worried about the bad in the shortning, the amount is negligible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      I have to admite, I start at Step ^ with any leftover meat I have. We grill a lot of pollo/carne asada, and anything seems to taste good in a taquito! The freezing technique is clutch! It makes them easier to fry, and you can save extras for later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      Here's what you need to do...take out each tortila,splash a little water (lightly) all over each side & add it to either a damp tea towel or what I lke to use is a damp paper towel (roughly 6 sheets & fold in half)when the tortillas are all slightly wet place in the middle of the fold & heat in a micowave for roughly 45 sec to a min.Make sure u place them all on a plate before microwaving.Enjoy..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2004

      I am re-reviewing this with 5-stars this time!!! This time, instead of trying to warm them in the microwave (which didn't work for me the first time I made these), I dipped the tortillas in hot oil to soften them before adding the filling and rolling. It made ALOT of difference....so much easier to roll since they did not fall apart on me! I also omitted the salsa and added some of the meat juices from the crock pot to moisten the meat mixture. This was excellent! Next time, I'm going to make a larger roast to have meat leftover for tacos and such! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2012

      I hate store bought taquitos and my husband loves them so I thought I would give these a try. First off they are huge. Secondly they are absolutely delicious!! They are so amazingly good right out of they frying pan and they reheat well in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      These were amazingly good Taquitos :) I do have to say i find the entire process a very tedious one with all of the different steps and with trying to keep the tortillas in shape. This is a matter of personal opinion though. However the taste result was amazing, and we have said we'd like to try using the filling in this recipe for other things as well. Over all absolutely deserving of a 5 star recipe, thank you for sharing this :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      Ok, well I spent all day cooking and this was one of the more tastier fillings I've had. But I gotta tell ya, all of my tortillas cracked open in the freezer. I don't know what everybody else did that I didn't because the reviews are pretty good. I tore all of the tortillas off and just froze the meat in rolls. I'll put them in the tortillas when I make them. Great filling!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      Delish! Four stars only because my tortillas fell apart while cooking. I read another reviewer who said to use hot oil rather than the microwave to soften the tortillas, so I'll try that next time. And, oh yes, there will be a next time. Even with the tears, they were SO yummy! I used Rotel for the tomatoes and added cilantro. I want to try with chicken and flour tortillas (flautas) too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      These really were better than the ones from the store! I don't know if it was just me, but it did take almost three hours to shred the roast and assemble/fry all of the taquitos. I wanted to do them all at once, I just didn't know quite how long it would take! I wish I had thought to do this with pork instead of beef, just for economical reasons, and will probably give that a try next time. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      An experienced chef with kids coming back for the second time on this one....so simple and good! I just shread the roast (I use pork - it's cheaper!) and freeze it with spanish rice. I either serve it reheated (obviously! :)) with salsa or stuff burritos or tacos with it. We even serve it with just tortilla chips. The roast it excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      I enjoyed this , left out the onion powder and salsa (allergy) The family loved them as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      So worth it! These are awesome =) The reviewer that suggested warming 8 tortillas at a time for 1min 25 sec. was right on. Turned out perfect - and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      Delicious. Still questioning if it was worth all the rolling and frying but they did taste just like the restaurant variety.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      This is exceptional! I used a couple of large onions instead of the soup mix as I didn't have any. I expected to have problems rolling as other reviewers but had no probs at all, so easy in fact my son filled and rolled. I took these from the freezer and put straight into a hot oven for 30 mins, but they are very versatile in terms of re-heat as another batch I put in at 150C before going out on a gym-run & when I got back just under an hour later they were perfect. I tried both frying and baking b4 freezing and I would say the frying is best but lots of fat! baking was great too tho. Thanks SO much for posting Tish, these tick so many boxes for me - my kids love them, I can make a batch and fill the freezer and they can also be eaten on-the-run. The next batch I make will be double.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      Made these to take to a church lunch and I thought they were great. I used leftover brisket, didn't use the onion soup mix but otherwise followed recipe as written. Of course they were better hot but I had probably at least 30 and they were all gone. Thanks, I'm sure I will make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      i made these for my teenaged son since he is always asking me to buy the store bought ones and then complains that they aren't very good. i tasted a broken one and then couldn't stop eating them. i can't wait til he gets home from school, he will love them! i will have to make another batch to freeze. thanks for the wonderful and easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2007

      My whole family loves these! They're a staple in my freezer now. I made 90 (10 lb of roast) last time! I first tried the original recipe and it was great! For variety, I tried adding some veggies and now I've refined our recipe so that I add two cans each of black beans (drained) and corn and double the cheese, onions and the salsa to give it a more veggie theme. Either way, it is super!! I also use the idea of another reviewer to soften the tortillas (corn or flour work!) by dipping them in hot oil before filling. That was a huge lifesaver as my tortillas were cracking like mad when I tried it without the hot oil. I freeze them and then I just bake at 400 right out of the freezer. Couldn't be easier! Thanks for a great recipe and great inspiration!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      i thought this recipe worked wonderfully. i cooked a 3.5 lb roast in my crockpot for 7 hours and then followed the recipe to the letter. though the tortillas take at least 30 seconds each to become soft enough to roll.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

      Great and easy recipe! I didn't want to have to deal with the oil each time we wanted a snack or easy meal so I decided to fry them all ahead of time so that we can just pull them out of the freezer and reheat them. I've found that reheating them (baking them) in a 375 degree oven for ten minutes helps them retain their crispy texture better than just microwaving them. Served with homemade salsa and guacamole (recipe 173063) and enjoyed them very much! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Taquitos (Oamc)

    Serving Size: 1 (85 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 48

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 132.8
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    29%
    Total Fat 4.3 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 35.1 mg
    11%
    Sodium 123.6 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 12.8 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites