21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My husband loved this dish. We often buy the frozen taquitos so when I saw I could make them myself I wanted to give it a try. These far surpassed the frozen variety. I used more than 1/2 cup cheese, sprinkling about 2 tbsp on each taquito. They browned up nicely. Mine did stick to the foil lined pan so next time I will be sure to spray it first.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelanieG June 25, 2007

These were easy and delicious! I made a couple of minor variations, adding some chopped green peppers and fresh tomatoes and a pinch of cumin. I also used half flour tortillas and half corn. The flour maintained their shape much better, but the corn "crunched up" better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeAnna Quartuccio November 25, 2014

I just finished eating these. Fantastic! I used olive oil, and added a pinch of cumin, but the rest the same. They are mildly spicy, so add more chili powder if you like it hot. They came out nice and crispy, as if deep fried. I'm going to have one more now........

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ann_marie_kelly August 02, 2012

I made a batch of these and threw them in the freezer for growing teenage boy who eats more often than I care to cook. 60 seconds at 50% power, covered with a napkin heats them through without overcooking. They are soooo much better than store bought frozen taquitos. I store them in a plastic pitcher with a lid. They fit perfectly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elielia February 05, 2012

I've made these a few times and they are amazing! Great taste, much better than store bought taquitos! I used 1lb of ground beef, so had to adjust the salsa and spices a bit. I've also tried these with corn and flour tortillas. The corn have a good taste, but completely fell apart when baked. I prefer the flour personally. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Travis H. October 08, 2011

These were great! I just sprayed with Pam instead of putting oil on them...they turned out great

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc December 27, 2010

My 12 year old loves the taquitos you buy in the store. When I made these he said these are so much better. I made as written. Thanks for the recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada August 03, 2010

Great recipe! Thanks for posting! Brought them to a party and they were a huge hit! Easy to make and I love the no frying part!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Nado June 21, 2010

Yum, Yum, Yum! These are great! I only had a couple tortilla shells so mine were stuffed but still really good. My only alterations were whole wheat tortillas, chipotle chili powder and I added a bit of cumin. I doubled the garlic because we love garlic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim12469 January 06, 2010

I made these using steak chunks and we loved them! What a great thing to make when you have the urge for something good that is quick and yummy too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Let's Cook Lisa! January 19, 2009
Beef Taquitos