Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Stroganov (Stroganoff) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Stroganov (Stroganoff)

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on June 14, 2013

      I stopped eating meat a few months back, but I remember this recipe was really delicious.<br/>I make a vegetarian version of this now and it turns out SOOOO GOOD!<br/>In the beginning when I saute the mushrooms, onions, and garlic I add in some white wine. <br/>I also add in more 2 more vegetable bullion cubes and some dried basil, garlic powder, paprika and oregano to the sour cream sauce. <br/>For the meat I used Trader J's "beef-less" strips My boyfriend looooves this recipe and requests it at least once a week!<br/>Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2011

      This was really filling on a chilly night! I used venison but soaked it in milk overnight to tenderize the meat. This was very easy to put together with ingredients I usually have on hand! I followed to a T except I omitted the mushrooms as I didn't have any. Next time they will be a must! Thanks for the tasty recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2014

      This is a great recipe. I usually double it, put a bit more liquid and beef base in it just so I can stretch it out a bit. Wife is a vegetarian, so I have plenty to freeze in small containers for later meals. I usually make it about twice a year.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2013

      *Made for Australia/NZ Swap #74* I can see this as 20 year favorite !! Had about 1 pound of stir-fry beef strips and everything else as listed. Requires fairly constant attention, but well worth the time. It will be a keeper for us ! Thanks for posting, Peggy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      Loved this! So delicious,quick and easy, I made it with leftover cooked venison tenderloin, just omitted to step for cooking the beef and added it at the end, heated thru, and a very easy solution for left-overs!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

      Loved this recipe. It is truly 'the Classic' without the embellishments of paprika, Worcestershire or (shudder) ketchup. I made it as directed except that after browning the meat I only put it back in the pan at the same time as the sour cream. I used striploin steaks and they were perfectly tender after the browning stage. Thanks for posting - DH is a pretty slow eater but ploughed through this with nothing other than num, num sounds. Wasn't great dinner conversation but a great dish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2012

      Made this for dinner last night. Everyone devoured it. I did leave it to simmer more than recommended. Instead of the 15 minutes, I left for 25 and the meat was so tender. Thank you so much for posting. It's making it into my favorites.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2012

      Leggy Peggy, we had this lovely recipe for dinner last night. It was awesome. The meat was tender and the flavor of the sauce was delicious. I used canned mushrooms, it was all I had on hand, they worked beautifully in this dish. It was quick and easy to make with great instructions, served over top of fresh fettucini noodles it was an incredible meal...My dh was in heaven. Thanks for sharing another winner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      Amazing! Love this recipe because it doesn't use canned soup or other such ingredients. I made it for my family recently and my husband licked his plate, literally!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Delicious! I used beef base instead of boullion, made heaping spoonfuls, and didn't add extra salt. Iused a big sirloin steak and partially froze it for about 1/2 hour before slicing. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2014

      This really is the best Beef Stroganoff recipe. My husband and kids loved this meal! The recipe is definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2012

      Very good. The rich beef flavor with the mustard....delicious. We loved this, the only thing was we wished we made more for leftovers today!!! Thank you for sharing this lovely dish with us. We loved the flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2012

      Excellent. I used some venison steak and it turned out great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2012

      Outstanding! Instructions were spot on-so easy to put together & the dish was really, really tasty. Will I make this again? It's spring and I'm already looking forward to a chilly night! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      Excellent!! I just like my stroganoff more creamy so I added 3more cups sour cream and 2 more boullon cubes, but the flavor was great before I added the extra sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      Easy enough to make with a nice flavour, but it was more of a beef and mushrooms in creamy mustard sauce to us, and not really a stroganoff. I might add paprika next time. Also next time, I would only add the beef back at the very end- the extended simmering made a tasty meat into something really chewy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Made this for dinner last night and both DH and I loved it. I made it in the crock pot by adding the meat, onions, and spices all together, let it cook for 6 hours on low, then shredded the beef, added sour cream to sauce and returned meat with mushrooms. Served over rigatoni (only pasta I could get here at the time) and it was wonderful. We'll be using this one a lot - Thanks Peggy for a great recipe that was easy and full of flavor. Made for ZWT 6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      This was just sooo easy and tasty. I halved the recipe cos there are only two of us. Had it for dinner last night and about to finish it off for lunch today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      This is by far the best beef stroganoff we have ever tried - definitely a household favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      Awesome.. Quick and easy... Loved this ;) I may try the wine like one of the other reviews suggested :) that sounds yummy :) Great job !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Stroganov (Stroganoff)

    Serving Size: 1 (212 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 942.1
     
    Calories from Fat 865
    91%
    Total Fat 96.2 g
    148%
    Saturated Fat 42.8 g
    214%
    Cholesterol 152.8 mg
    50%
    Sodium 694.6 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 12.8 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites