11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Best Stroganoff i've had outside of Russia! It took me straight back to St Petersburg! Thank you for posting this - its fantastic!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AussieMel #2 March 01, 2010

Excellent flavor! As suggested I served over rice. This recipe is a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jo in Arlington May 05, 2003

Best stroganoff recipe I have made. Subtle but delicious flavors, there were no leftovers and i had increased the meat, we inhaled it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba May 01, 2014

I was disappointed in this recipe. I made it exactly as stated. The flavor just wasn't there. I could taste the wine and mushrooms and sour cream just fine, but when I look at the ingredients, there isn't much in the way of seasoning. I put a couple of splashes of worcestershire sauce in for the leftovers hoping that will help. I did not use the tomato paste as several of the reviewers said they didn't use it. I'll be looking elsewhere when I make stroganoff again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swein563 January 21, 2012

Great recipe,have made it this way(w/o tomato paste) and added stick french fries to top dish with. Delicious the way it is and do not need rice, if anything a bed of noodles instead, include french bread and butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paul catanese August 18, 2011

I made this for my MIL's birthday. Hubby and MIL loved it and had seconds. I didn't like it at all. It was too heavy. I gave it four stars because I was outnumbered.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeahBurgoon May 28, 2011

I made this about a month ago and forgot to review it. Tonight I got home late and saw the frozen leftovers in the freezer, fixed yellow rice and ended up with a candlelight dinner. GREAT!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beach Tia October 21, 2008

Excellent flavor, texture, and color (slightly pink). I used only 1 tb. tomato paste which still had a presence in the dish which I thought was unnecessary but everyone else loved. Best to use the fresh ingredients in this sensitive and subtle dish, especially the mushrooms.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mfreeny March 05, 2008

Actually I thought this was a excellent stroganoff recipe myself! We left out the mushrooms (I don't eat them) and used a meat substitute since we are vegetarians. I personally liked the tomato paste; it was part of what made it so good. We used low fat sour cream instead of regular. Actually we've tried a number of different stroganoff recipes over the years (all with meat substitute of course) and I thought this was the best! Go figure:D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend November 12, 2007
Beef Stroganoff (From the "old" Russian Tea Room)