22 Reviews

Rummaging through an ill-equipped pre-grocery day fridge, I mistakingly used hot mustard for the Dijon; substituted a large heel (and VERY much-more-than-the-2-tbsp the recipe called for) of red wine instead of white; and browned the mushrooms in chopped garlic before tossing them into the beef. It all came out a definite 5 stars. Thank you Chia. This is an easy one. I shall make it often.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry sans Sanddunes February 11, 2003

I have made Beef Stroganoff for 30 years and it has always been good. This was exceptional. My husband asked if I could make it again the next night. I used top loin steak and bella mushrooms. I cut down the cooking time because of the tender cut of beef. Thanks for a great recipe!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
surus March 14, 2003

MMMMMMMMMM, very tasty. My hubby kept coming in the kitchen and asking what smelled so good! I did have to add about half a cup of water to the sauce, it was too thick, added more salt, and used onions instead of scallions.I also browned the onions with the meat, gave it more flavor. But all in all, I loved it! Will add it to my permanent recipe file! Thanks Chia!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SlipC February 04, 2003

An unreserved five stars. This was wonderful. A few changes, though not substantial: I halved both the butter and the sour cream, added a generous pinch of dried parsley, and subbed red wine for white. Also, since I was out of broth, I used half tomato sauce and half water in its place-- that added a pretty red color. The Dijon was a great touch, and the meat and mushrooms were so tender. Served over brown rice. The sauce was so good! I'll make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Messy Cook December 17, 2009

My family enjoyed this stroganoff. We served it over rice instead of noodles for a change. Great leftovers the next day too. Thanks. Made for ZWT5.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slatts June 04, 2009

This was a definite pleaser with my sister. I cooked the 6-8 serving recipe. I have about 1 cup left! Just enough for her lunch tomorrow.lol. A good solid meal served over noodles. Thnx for posting, chia. Made for ZWT5 for RRR

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter June 04, 2009

DH loves comfort food like this. I had maybe 1 1/2 lbs of round steak and 1 lb of crimini mushrooms. I prepped up until adding the sour cream and refrigerated until 30 minutes before dinner. I heated the stroganoff slowly and then added the sour cream at the last minute. Delicious Chia, DH had seconds :) Made for ZWT5.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda. June 01, 2009

The perfect beef stroganoff!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tham March 05, 2004

Used a white onion instead and needed 8 tablespoons flour in order to thicken. Also used 4 cloves of garlic and doubled the Dijon mustard for more flavor. Served over Fusilli pasta. Next time I'll cut recipe in half since we're serving three of us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janelle Hargrove November 06, 2003

This was a pleasure to eat, however I found the directions a little lacking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Duane in Leominster March 31, 2003
Beef Stroganoff