Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Stroganoff Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Stroganoff

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2003

      Silky , smooth and velvety sauce poured over buttery egg noodles and served with a salad along side ! This was perfect on a cool fall day !!! I used the ketchup (out of tomato paste) and the sauce was the best we have had in a long time ! Thank You for sharing your recipe Caryn !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2012

      This is my FAVORITE recipe from this cookbook that I have in paperback that I inherited from my Mother. This is a hit every time!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      This is a very good recipe to use as a base for this dish. We then used fresh mushrooms, less onion and sour cream, and more beef broth. Also, we mixed a teaspoon of concentrated tomato paste with a drop or two of worchestershire sauce and some beef broth (to make it easier to blend in), but then added it to taste and didn't use it all. DH can be pretty fussy about this type of food, but even he loved it! Thanks for the recipe, Caryn. KK

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2007

      my husband fell in love with this, he asks me to make it all the time. i do serve it with mash instead of noodles, but its lovely. it's better than resturant stroganoff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2006

    • on December 30, 2005

      We have nearly the same recipe, also from a Better Homes & Gardens cookbook, except our version uses fresh mushrooms and sherry instead of white wine. It is my husband's favourite meal. True comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2005

      Very quick and easy. Was a little rich for us. I think next time we won't cook the meat in butter, maybe some veg oil, and try lite sour cream. Very tasty though, we'll make it again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2005

      The quantities in this recipe are very flexible. I used a pound of boneless beef chuck roast that I had cut into chunks for stewing, so it took more seasoned flour to cover it. I also had a LOT of fresh mushrooms to use up (almost a pound), so I pretty much doubled all the rest of the ingredients. I also used the tomato paste because I keep a small opened can of it in my freezer (in zip-top freezer bag so I can cut out small quantities when I need them)I cooked it ahead,through the step of adding the beef and vegetables back into the gravy. It could have been frozen at this point. Several days later, I was able to just reheat, add the sour cream and wine, and cook the noodles. Steamed broccoli went nicely with it both from a taste and presentation point of view. My meat was a bit tough (what can you expect from budget beef cuts); the sauce was marvelous. I was glad I had doubled it so there was lots to cover the noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2004

      This was delicious. I used rump steak as that is all I had, browned it in the frying pan with onions and fresh mushrooms. I didn't have any beef stock so I used beef gravy mix (Bisto) and boiling water instead of the extra butter and flour and stock. I just sprinkled the dry gravy mix over the meat mixture, combined well and then poured on some boiling water. I don't use alcohol so I added some balsamic vinegar and I used ketchup instead of the tomato paste like you suggested in the intro. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. It was quick, easy and most delicious! I know I will make this again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2004

      I liked the ease of this recipe.I did substitute fresh mushrooms for the canned,and added basil and black pepper.Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2004

      Delicious! I did everything to a T like the recipe but omitted the tomato paste. I didn't want any tomato flavor in the dish. Our lunch room loved it! (We cook for about 12 managers/executives here at work.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2003

      The recipe calls for 1 (1 oz.) can of condensed beef broth. Could this be correct?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Meat Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Stroganoff

    Serving Size: 1 (245 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 457.8
     
    Calories from Fat 291
    63%
    Total Fat 32.4 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 17.8 g
    89%
    Cholesterol 137.5 mg
    45%
    Sodium 1018.7 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 28.7 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites