20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've been making this version for years as it was the way my mom used to make it and was our favorite! I use eye of the round steak cut up and brown the meat and onions together in about a Tbsp of olive oil rather then the butter, use a half pound of fresh mushrooms and no white wine. I use a 16 ounce container of light sour cream, mixing it well with the soup and Worcestershire sauce before adding to the beef and let it simmer at least 2 hours so the meat is fall apart tender and the flavors meld. This is a delicious recipe and very easy to put together! Its really good over mashed potatoes or white rice too! Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Breezytoo April 07, 2008

Wow! This is just like my mother used to make it. I made mine in the crockpot while I was at work.... so easy! My husband and my daughter don't like mushrooms, so I mixed mine in later. I also added less onion and more onion powder just because my daughter would be picking out the pieces all night! Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Mommy August 11, 2006

This was so easy and DELICIOUS! My 9 y/o daughter helped me out with the whole dish, served it up with corn bread and we all went back for seconds. Definitely keeping this one on hand!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moblessed October 13, 2011

good and very easy! I used fresh mushrooms and it worked out wonderfully!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outdoorsy December 23, 2010

This was tasty. I used fresh mushrooms and made it in the crock pot. The meat was tender. My only complaint was that it was somewhat runny. I think I will try it on the stovetop next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookie Princess December 12, 2010

Outstanding recipe...simple and delicious. Used fresh mushrooms but either would work well. Thanks for a keeper

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jklein8962 March 06, 2010

Delicious and easy! I didn't use the Worcestershire sauce, and I think it was great without it. I also used fresh mushrooms. I will definitely put this on my list of dishes to make often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fairycook February 16, 2010

This is beyond GOOD! My hubby and I loved it, the kids loved, even the picky daycare boys loved it! I used fresh mushrooms but otherwise followed it to a "t". Thanks, I'll defiantly be making this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamacruz03 December 03, 2009

This stroganoff was delicious; even my picky pre-teen daughter enjoyed it, and asked to have it made again. I used 1/4 cup of Pino Grigio for the wine, and substituted Smart Balance spread for the butter, because I didn't have any butter on hand. I cooked it in the crockpot for 6 hours, then served over egg noodles, this has a nice tangy taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KathleenP July 14, 2009

Yummm! This was sooo good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
schoombie.emma June 09, 2009
Beef Stroganoff