Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Stroganoff Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Stroganoff

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on November 19, 2013

      I hate to contradict all the good reviews, but to me this tasted more like a McDonald's cheeseburger than Stroganoff. Maybe it is just personal preference, but it ended up tasting like the sauce was made of ketchup for us, and the pickles distracted from the high quality meat. If I were making this for kids, I think it would work. But for my husband and me, just not what we like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2012

      The only change I made was not to add the onin due to intolerance reasons otherwise made as per recipe with veal but for us is was missing something in a stroganoff (unfortuanely but as per usual my sour cream split and as we were eating the DH suggest I use full fat sour cream instead of the usual light and see whats happens, otherwise tasted really god and served with bow-tie pasta and had a salad on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2011

      I made this tonight for dinner and it was absolutely lovely. I made it pretty much exactly as written except I added a bit more paprika for personal taste and I used swiss brown mushrooms and quartered them instead of slicing as I think it gives a better texture to the dish. This stroganoff has a real lovely flavour creaminess to it and not overpowering like some stroganoff's can me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      My DH doesn't like beef stroganoff at all. I made this tonight and he actually liked it! (Had something to do with pickles being good in anything haha). Definitely added to our list of recipes to keep!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      Stuff authentic, this is just the way my mum made it and I've been desperate to find the recipe for ages! I've never added pickle before but I loved it. Had it over pasta, next time will try mash or rice just for fun! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      Served a top of wide egg noodles this made for a delicous dinner! I skipped on the dill pickles but otherwise made as directed. A quick n easy mid week meal, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      This was awesome. I am always generous with spices. Great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      Great recipe. I usually make a different stroganoff so this was a nice change of pace. I was told that this was the preferred one. I served this on rice as thats what we like. We all really liked the pickles in this. It gave the recipe that sharp taste every so often....great recipe....thank you so much.....Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      I've used this recipe often and DH always raves about it. It's a good basic recipe that is easy to tinker with and always tastes yummy. Last time I ran out of red wine and used Beer instead and it was great. Thanks, Jan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2006

      Brilliant recipe - simple but so tasty. This one is going in the keep file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2005

      JanS, this stroganoff was very tasty, and quite different than the type I usually throw together. I really enjoyed the addition of pickles, and think next time I'll make that a tad more subtle by using just 1 rather than 2 pickles. This makes a lovely sauce that perfectly coated the egg noodles that I served with this dish. I used 4 large cloves of garlic, more like 350 g of mushrooms, and olive oil rather than butter, changes that didn't alter the spirit of the dish. I just enjoyed leftovers for my lunch at work-- a nice treat! Thanks for posting. (P.S. In case it helps someone else, I was taught to slice the meat when it's partially frozen-- makes it easy to make thin slices.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2005

      Lovely comfort food for a cold night. I also used extra mushrooms and added the dill pickles which I feel really make this dish. Served with buttered noodles. Thanks Jan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2005

      Jan we all enjoyed your stroganoff for dinner this evening. I used four nice sirloins..probably 350g of mushrooms and I added the dill pickles, loved the extra flavour crunch that they added.Definitely a comfort meal that will be made often over the coming winter. Served with rice and broccoli.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2005

      I made it for my sharemates and all of them ( including me) loved it!!! one of my sharemate brought it for lunch next day. I added extra tomato paste and Dijon mustard becouse I used extra beef. I served this with rice, and was really good! I'm going to make this again. Thank you Jan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2005

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Stroganoff

    Serving Size: 1 (229 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 330.9
     
    Calories from Fat 218
    65%
    Total Fat 24.2 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 14.2 g
    71%
    Cholesterol 72.6 mg
    24%
    Sodium 528.1 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 8.8 g
    35%
    Protein 10.6 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites