9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thanks Nat! This is a really delicious stew. Thick and filling -leftovers were good too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin W March 13, 2003

This dish was very nice. I didn't use the crock pot, but instead made it in my dutch oven and baked it in a 350 oven for 3 hours. I added the potatoes in at the last 30 minutes. I also only used 1/2 cup of barley, only because I felt 1 cup would have taken over and made it too thick. The leftovers did become a thicker stew though, which was till very tasty. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama May 24, 2013

Absolutely DELICIOUS! 5 stars is not enough. On these blustery days in Western Washington this really hits the spot. I made this for my family because I wasn't going to be home to fix dinner and when left to his own devices DH would be feeding the children canned olives. When I got home that evening my husband and even my kids raved about it. What a wonderful, healthy and simple recipe. I am making it again tonight. Thank Nat for such a kick a$$ recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beautiful Disgrace October 14, 2009

the overall taste was good. We ate it, but no one was running for seconds. I would probably make this again, only cooking the barley separately and adding it at the end. Not in the Crock pot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookie McCookerson February 05, 2008

This was a delicious, thick, hearty stew that the entire family enjoyed. I was especially impressed since it was a crock pot recipe...that makes things extra easy for a busy mom.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamaC January 08, 2008

Great stew! I used 2 lbs of beef and a little extra broth, as well as both carrots and parsnips. Very thick and comforting stew, thanks Nat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear November 11, 2007

This was just okay for us. I think it had too much barley and not enough broth for our tastes. It was still good, just too thick...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dicentra May 29, 2007

What a wonderful winter meal. The house smelled terrific when we got home and everyone had seconds. I would definitely lean towards the 2 lbs of beef as the kids devoured almost every chunk. We now have "meatless" beef stew for leftovers ;0).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rainydayreader February 27, 2007

Delicious stick-to-your ribs stew that we will definitely be making again soon. I only had one small can of tomatoes so I used 6 cups of beef broth (using 3 bouillion cubes) to make up the difference and the stew was great with just enough broth for us. Thanks Nat! for posting this keeper recipe that we will be making often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ March 04, 2003
Beef Stew With Barley (Crock Pot)