Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Stew With Barley (Crock Pot) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Stew With Barley (Crock Pot)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2003

      Thanks Nat! This is a really delicious stew. Thick and filling -leftovers were good too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2013

      This dish was very nice. I didn't use the crock pot, but instead made it in my dutch oven and baked it in a 350 oven for 3 hours. I added the potatoes in at the last 30 minutes. I also only used 1/2 cup of barley, only because I felt 1 cup would have taken over and made it too thick. The leftovers did become a thicker stew though, which was till very tasty. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      Absolutely DELICIOUS! 5 stars is not enough. On these blustery days in Western Washington this really hits the spot. I made this for my family because I wasn't going to be home to fix dinner and when left to his own devices DH would be feeding the children canned olives. When I got home that evening my husband and even my kids raved about it. What a wonderful, healthy and simple recipe. I am making it again tonight. Thank Nat for such a kick a$$ recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      the overall taste was good. We ate it, but no one was running for seconds. I would probably make this again, only cooking the barley separately and adding it at the end. Not in the Crock pot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      This was a delicious, thick, hearty stew that the entire family enjoyed. I was especially impressed since it was a crock pot recipe...that makes things extra easy for a busy mom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      Great stew! I used 2 lbs of beef and a little extra broth, as well as both carrots and parsnips. Very thick and comforting stew, thanks Nat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      This was just okay for us. I think it had too much barley and not enough broth for our tastes. It was still good, just too thick...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2007

      What a wonderful winter meal. The house smelled terrific when we got home and everyone had seconds. I would definitely lean towards the 2 lbs of beef as the kids devoured almost every chunk. We now have "meatless" beef stew for leftovers ;0).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2003

      Delicious stick-to-your ribs stew that we will definitely be making again soon. I only had one small can of tomatoes so I used 6 cups of beef broth (using 3 bouillion cubes) to make up the difference and the stew was great with just enough broth for us. Thanks Nat! for posting this keeper recipe that we will be making often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Stew With Barley (Crock Pot)

    Serving Size: 1 (382 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 313.4
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    19%
    Total Fat 6.7 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 54.4 mg
    18%
    Sodium 655.3 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.1 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 8.0 g
    32%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 26.0 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes