13 Reviews

I made your three beef stew/soup recipes for a family get together and all three were a huge hit! Thanks for the fabulous recipes!

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LikeItLoveIt October 28, 2001

This was a breeze to make when I just had a few minutes to get out the door to work. Simmered in the crock pot all day and was so thick & rich after adding the flour and water. I used the can of diced tomatoes...salt, pepper, and lawrys.... it was absolutely delicious. Served it on top of egg noodles. A real hit.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mom of 4 January 09, 2002

This is a 5-Star Recipe! You must make this for your family, friend's or loved one's! It's simple yet sophisticated, easy to make and delicious!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark Marcarian January 19, 2002

Easy and yummy.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hen October 23, 2002

Actually Dorothy I looked at this recipe and then at Ellen Dickens recipe and I combined the two and came up with a winner (Not that this isn't) Love th sun dried tomatoes. Added 1 tsp Cajun spice, Paprika 3 cloves of garlic & some wocesteshire sauce, mushrooms and frozen peas

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy January 07, 2002

Derf, this is a wonderful recipe and so simple to throw into the crockpot! I used a can of diced tomatoes, 6 potatoes and regular-sized carrots that I cut down to size. I added seasoning to taste with salt and pepper, other wise, I followed your directions. Very nice flavor! The beef was nice and tender and the vegetables were delicious! Thanks for another winning supper!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev March 08, 2003

This morning my mom remembered that we had some stew beef that needed to be used, so I went to this site, typed in Crockpot Beef Stew and this one was on top. It had good ratings, and after looking at the prep and ingredients, I found that it would be the one. I was so glad that it did not take long to put together, and everything was right on hand. I used 2 pounds of stew beef, almost 16 oz of carrots, 8 rather large potatoes, and a can of chopped tomatoes. This served 8 people-without having to do all the hard work! Since I did use more beef and carrots, I found that I probably should have added another bay leaf or something to add more flavor. Next time I will have to experiment. Thank you for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bec May 02, 2003

The stew was great! I've been looking for a good beef stew recipe for a while and thank heavens I've finally found it. It was soooooo easy and smelled great cooking all day. I used a can of diced tomatoes in lieu of the sundried tomatoes. It got rave reviews from my family. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gapeach October 22, 2003

This was vary easy to make!! I added the diced tomatoes, potatoes, onion, celary, carrots, and corn. I also didn't have the bay leaf so I added a mixture of the lipton onion soup instead. It had a lot of flavor and I will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brittany_lynn04 June 24, 2009

very easy, and tastes good - could have used a little more seasoning for my taste

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortieNJ December 03, 2008
Beef Stew - Crock Pot