Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on October 05, 2003

      Very tasty,not a thick stew which is just what I was looking for.The meat was very tender and the bay leaves added a nice flavour.I left out all the "optional" ingredients except the worcestershire sauce.Will make it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

    • on November 28, 2009

      Good base recipe. Even with the Worcestershire, I thought it needed more seasoning; I added more salt, a few generous pinches of dried basil and oregano, and some garlic powder. I also thickened the broth with cornstarch. Browning the meat is a really nice touch. The beef was delicious and tender. I used peas, which added a beautiful pop of bright green.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      don't know why this won't post, like the recipe..made my own changes, added bacon, garlic and beer.YUm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      I made a change to this and while small it added serious flavor. I added 3 -4 teaspoons of Knorr beef bouillon. I also didn't use the parsnips. I did everything else according to directions and this was absolutely perfect! Oh yes...I added extra fresh ground pepper but I do that with everything. Thanks so much for giving me a good recipe to follow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      Yum Yum Yum! I did change the recipe a little. First, I doubled it. Then I replaced 3 carrots with celery, I added some basil and oregano, I used wheat flour, no parsnips, and some boulion cubes. I was afraid that the recipe called for too many potatoes and carrots but I followed it anyway and it was perfect. So so yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      Followed

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

    • on November 10, 2006

      Yum. Yum. Yum! The stew was GREAT! I did use the worcestershire and peas. I also added Kitchen Bouquet browning sauce. I thought I would freeze what we didn't eat (only 2 of us) but we ate it all over a couple of days! I served with crusty garlic bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      This stew is the BEST. My family loves it. I don't add the parsnips and use a bit less onion, but do everything else the same and it is perfect. I think it's the worcestershire that makes it so good. Thanks for such a keeper of a recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      Thanks for posting, my stew came out perfect. I followed the recipe exactly and left out the "optionals" except for the worcestershire. I served it with homemade bread with butter on a cold fall day-thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      Okay, I printed this beef stew recipe 4 years ago. I haven't used a different one since! I swore I would one day get back on and comment on how WONDERFUL it is! I don't do the parsnips and usually add green beans, corn and celery. You are right Mary, the world did need another beef stew recipe. Thanks for sharing yours!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      This was great, so easy to make! It took a little time but definitely worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2006

      This was a huge hit at our house. I added a little bit of horseradish, 1/2 tsp. of thyme, a splash of kitchen bouquet and 1 tsp. of beef base. Other than that I followed the recipe. I will be making this often as it's a great way to get MIL to eat veggies. Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2006

      Thank you for posting this recipe. I am a student in Chilly CO and I have a cold. I couldn't get ahold of my mom so I went online for a beef stew recipe and found this (after considerable effort). It was exactly what I wanted, savory, simple and classic. so many recipes take too many liberties, I found a recipe that called for green olives! wierd. This really hit the spot. my roommates loved it too. Thanks! (=

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2005

      Turned out delicious! I didn't add Worcestershire sauce (didn't have any), but I did add about 6 skinned tomatoes (canned) and the result was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2005

      A good basic recipe. The meat was wonderfully tender and the carrots give it a nice hint of sweetness. I found the broth a touch bland though so I added in some paprika, hot chilli flakes and a bit of tomato sauce to round it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2005

      I followed directions as written for the most part, but I cooked this on HIGH in the crockpot for about 5 hours. It was very tasty, next time though, I think I'll drain the browned beef on paper towels, as the stew had a thin layer of oil sitting on top of it. I also thickened it with about 1/4 c. of cornstarch and used a little Kitchen Bouquet/Gravy Master to darken the color a bit. All in all, very tasty and I plan on making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2005

      Lovely simple thick stew. Really great comfort food. I actually used buffalo chuck rather than beef and used vegetable broth rather than water. I did add the optional parsnips (love their flavor!), peas and Worchestershire sauce. Ours turned out wonderfully thick and with melt-in-your-mouth tender meat. I added a little bit of other spices- thyme, oregano and basil. Just a great simple and versatile recipe. Thank you for posting! Just like Mom used to make. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2005

      My hubby said this was very, very, very good! Pretty easy to make but takes a while to cook. Goes great with cornbread. Next time I think I will omit the parsnips (optional) or only put one small one chopped up. Great for cold winter days!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (499 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 477.9
     
    Calories from Fat 112
    23%
    Total Fat 12.4 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 72.5 mg
    24%
    Sodium 560.3 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.9 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 8.9 g
    35%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 32.5 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites