Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on December 22, 2002

      The best beef stew I have ever had. My kids are fussy so I put the onion in whole and took it out when the stew was ready.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2002

      Wonderful! I made this tonight and sad to say it is much better than my recipe. Maybe it's the bay leaves? I added a can of un-drained diced tomatoes instead of soup, because I love tomatoes. I cooked this in the crock pot on low for 8 hours. This will be the only stew I ever make from now on. Thank you very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2002

      This is the way mama used to make it. The tomato soup add a great flavor that I remember well. I hadn't thought about adding wine to it. I'll have to try that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2002

      I suggest to add a cup of red wine the taste of it is really something good. Congrtulation on your recipe.. oscar

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2004

      Great stew, I however did not have enough meat to go around. I did leave out the carrots, I do not like them cooked. Will make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2004

      Since I'm divorced and my adult daughter lives with me I only have two to please. This was really a big hit with both of us, and my daughter keeps asking when we're having "that wonderful" stew again. It will be soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2003

      Very tasty and wonderfully easy! I will never make stew on the stove again! Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      Resting on its own laurels makes this a keeper. Really, really easy to make. No fancy ingredients..just pantry-perfect. Wonderfully put together to make a very delicious crock-pot stew. Pots, carrots and beef were all done to perfection, making them fork tender. It was a tad soupy for me; so next time I'll just use less water. P.S. I used sodium free bouillon and low-sodium soup. Thanks for sharing, Jill

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      My husband gave this a 5+. He ate every last morsel. And, I enjoyed the vegetables as meal. YUM! Thanks, Jill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      This is the very BEST stew I have ever made! I added one more potato just because I really like them and after reading the reviews decided to use only 4 beef bouillon cubes and added water just enough to cover everything in my 6 QT slow cooker. Set the dial to Low for 8 hours and I was not disappointed - it was the perfect consistency and everything was tender and delicious. This is a definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      I used less water as other suggested and it still turned out really runny. I also used canned tomatoes which worked out fine. This was just okay for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      Next time I would use less liquid. Just enough to cover beef and vegetables

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      Nice, flavourful stew. The gravy is very runny, more like soup. I did thicken it up a bit. I didn't have bouillon cubes so I used beef broth in place of the cubes and water. Next time I will use less liquid. The meat came out very nice. It really does need 8 hours to cook but it smells so nice when you open that door after work. Thanks for the recipe. We will try this one again. I forgot to say that I added peas about an hour before it was done. To the leftovers I added some frozen bean. There is something about stew that is always better the second time around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2006

      I made this yesterday and it turned out very well. I added a couple extra carrots and an extra bouillion cube. I found it to be a little soupy, so I think next time I will use some cornstarch to thicken it slightly. But, overall, it was very tasty and very quick to make. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      I made this last night and it turned out pretty well, I started it too late so I set my crock pot on high for 4 hours, it needed about 5 1/2. But it tasted great, everything was very tender. I did end up using 4 bouillon cubes and a good glug of red wine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      I don't have a crock pot so I added all the ingredients to my stockpot, brought it to a boil and then turned it to the lowest setting. I also added about a tablespoon of cornstarch to the stew to give it a thicker sauce. Delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2006

      I cut the bouillon down to three cubes and added a shot of the red wine, as somebody else posted. This was a delicious and easy stew. My fussy son AND fussy husband liked it. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2006

      I have made this stew several times now and it is delicious!!! My hubby absolutely loves it too :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2006

      This turned out well. I left out some of the ingrediants. Did not use bay leaves, boullion cubes or oregano. I did add garlic and 1 tsp salt. Also 1 1/2 cups of water works well. I browned meat first after I coated it with flour. MDD and her friend loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2006

      This was okay. I made it in the crockpot following the directions exactly and ended up with something resembling soup and nothing resembling stew. So I let it simmer on the stove for a bit, and by the time it was thick enough there was almost no gravy at all. It was also so salty we could barely eat it, but I think that was my fault because cooking it down probably concentrated the salt flavor. The flavor of this was very good, though, so I need to come up with a way to make a nice thick stew with enough gravy to cover the meat and veggies without it being so salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (381 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 657.9
     
    Calories from Fat 93
    14%
    Total Fat 10.4 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 132.8 mg
    44%
    Sodium 2865.2 mg
    119%
    Total Carbohydrate 81.6 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 11.0 g
    44%
    Sugars 26.5 g
    106%
    Protein 60.5 g
    121%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes