25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The best beef stew I have ever had. My kids are fussy so I put the onion in whole and took it out when the stew was ready.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janine#1 December 22, 2002

Wonderful! I made this tonight and sad to say it is much better than my recipe. Maybe it's the bay leaves? I added a can of un-drained diced tomatoes instead of soup, because I love tomatoes. I cooked this in the crock pot on low for 8 hours. This will be the only stew I ever make from now on. Thank you very much!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiss*My*Tiara December 10, 2002

This is the way mama used to make it. The tomato soup add a great flavor that I remember well. I hadn't thought about adding wine to it. I'll have to try that.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark Kovach October 26, 2002

I suggest to add a cup of red wine the taste of it is really something good. Congrtulation on your recipe.. oscar

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OSCAR TERRAZA August 27, 2002

Great stew, I however did not have enough meat to go around. I did leave out the carrots, I do not like them cooked. Will make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A foodlover February 04, 2004

Since I'm divorced and my adult daughter lives with me I only have two to please. This was really a big hit with both of us, and my daughter keeps asking when we're having "that wonderful" stew again. It will be soon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shirley King January 27, 2004

Very tasty and wonderfully easy! I will never make stew on the stove again! Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bekah~ August 08, 2003

Resting on its own laurels makes this a keeper. Really, really easy to make. No fancy ingredients..just pantry-perfect. Wonderfully put together to make a very delicious crock-pot stew. Pots, carrots and beef were all done to perfection, making them fork tender. It was a tad soupy for me; so next time I'll just use less water. P.S. I used sodium free bouillon and low-sodium soup. Thanks for sharing, Jill

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzanna Marie November 23, 2009

My husband gave this a 5+. He ate every last morsel. And, I enjoyed the vegetables as meal. YUM! Thanks, Jill!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annette NC October 16, 2009

This is the very BEST stew I have ever made! I added one more potato just because I really like them and after reading the reviews decided to use only 4 beef bouillon cubes and added water just enough to cover everything in my 6 QT slow cooker. Set the dial to Low for 8 hours and I was not disappointed - it was the perfect consistency and everything was tender and delicious. This is a definite keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SkyGlitter April 14, 2008
Beef Stew