Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on November 05, 2003

      My husband took one bite and said, "this is delicious!" I fully agree. I only had canned mushrooms on hand but will use fresh next time. I added a 1/2 cup of cream sherry. The wine is definitely a great addition. I did add the carrots and mushrooms early and later threw in a few frozen peas with the potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      This was excellent! Just what I've been looking for. I'm not a fan of the "red" stews (tomato juice, tomato soup, etc.), but DH is...or was...until he tried THIS tonight! This will definitely be the stew I will make from now on except, of course, when DH has a hankerin' for the "other" stew! Sooooo glad I stumbled onto this recipe! Thanks, Dancer^, for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      Loved it, and so did everyone else! Thanks.
      Next time I'll skip the flour as I don't see it making any difference, and adding a tbs of 'herbs de provence'.
      PS remember folks that browning the beef does not mean well done!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2012

      This was a great tasting stew. My DH thought it was good also. Will be making it often. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2012

      Great non-tomato based stew! Used Sherry because I didn't have regular wine and it was great. Probably will be better and have a better depth with actual red wine. It was greasy though - I skimmed about a cup off the top layer and then it was perfect. Hubby loved it and that is high praise indeeed. Delish thanks for the keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2011

      Excellent beef stew. I substituted the mushrooms with parsnips, added a bit of rosemary, and added a teaspoon of Spike seasoning. As recommended by some others, I served the stew on top of egg noodles. I cut 20 minutes of the initial simmering time, and only simmered another 30 when I added the vegetables in.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      Excellent, basic beef stew but so good. You are right, do not put the potato in too early as that makes it mushy, I made that mistake because I loaded everything into the crockpot. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      Have made this several times and it always turns out fantastic!  Not being one to spend time stirring, etc., after beef broth/spices are added (#5 step) I put beef mixture, vegetables and broth into the crock-pot for a few hours on high until everything was tender.  Some broth was carefully removed  then and thickened with flour.  The thickened broth added back to meat/veg mixture and stirred carefully.  The great thing about the crock pot is that none of the vegetables are damaged from constant stirring.  It's perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      I loved this stew. I have never made stew and to be honest wasn't even sure I was using the right kind of meat. apparently I did because this was delicious. I had to omit a couple of things because of what I had on hand at the time. So out with the red wine and onions but to be honest we didn't miss them. The broth was still rich and delicious with out it. I added some onion powder to replace the missing onions and I had some fresh parsely and thyme that I think really added to the flavour rather then dry. I think this would be delicious using parsnips as well. thank you so much for the recipe! This was easy to make and it was just the comfort food I needed after the emergency root canal I had yesterday.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      This receipe is FABULOUS! My husband said that it was the best stew he has ever had and would I please make it for this parents. The meat was extremely tender and I used stew meat. I didn't tell him there was wine in it. Didn't change a thing. Very easy to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2003

      This recipe was very simple to make, It turn out great, my family and just loved it.....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2014

      I made this for my guy and he loved it! In fact, he overstuffed himself because he couldn't stop eating it. I loved the technique, I think that's what made this so good. I left out potato because I was serving this over mashed potatoes. Thanks for sharing the keeper beef stew recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2013

      This was pretty delicious! I knocked off one star because I thought that some additional seasoning was needed, but still a great recipe! After reading other reviews, I added 2 teaspoons of Spike seasoning, and ended up adding a little sea salt at the end to taste as well. I also needed to cook the potatoes and carrots a tad longer, like an extra 20-30 minutes for our tastes. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2013

      Tried this recipe tonight with some beef stew cubes I purchased and it was really good. I agree with the other poster that the wine adds some nice flavor to the stew. Prep time took a little longer as I had to cook the beef stew cubes in 3 batches and we didn't add mushrooms, but the whole family enjoyed it. Perfect for a cold Chicago night like tonite!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      Delicious, I browned some of the veggies and the beef , then added everything to the crockpot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      Excellent recipe! I didn't use the flour to coat the meat and I just added the celery onion and garlic to the meat at the time I added the broth. I used red potatoes. Enjoyed by the whole family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      I made this last night for supper and it made our house smell fantastic. I served this stew with homemade bread andwe were set. I loved the flavor of this stew. I did add an extra 1/2 cup of red wine to deglaze the pan but otherwise followed your directions. Thankyou for this great stew recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2011

      Added everything except the thyme and peas. Very tasty! We like wine based soups and stews. I will admit that my dish looks more like a soup than a stew, but it still tastes great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      I used this recipe as a base, but used leftover smoked brisket. This made it a lot quicker to make! I put everything together using 2 beef bouillon cubes mixed with 1 1/2 cups water. Added some flour mixed with some of the broth at the end of the cooking to thicken it. With pre-cooked meat, took only about 45 minutes to an hour to make. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      I made this tonight for my husband, myself, and 3 adult guests. It fed us all very well with leftovers for lunch tomorrow! I used a can of mushrooms b/c I had it on hand but of course fresh would have been much better! I also added some peas. I used corn starch and water to thicken this. I didn't have any red wine but I would love to use it next time. Very good and very filling! Thanks :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (846 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 914.1
     
    Calories from Fat 463
    50%
    Total Fat 51.4 g
    79%
    Saturated Fat 17.2 g
    86%
    Cholesterol 156.4 mg
    52%
    Sodium 1498.6 mg
    62%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.5 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 7.7 g
    31%
    Sugars 8.3 g
    33%
    Protein 52.9 g
    105%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes