Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    83 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 83

    Sort by:

    • on March 08, 2004

      This was nice and easy, though I prefer to brown my meat first - better flavour. Made it for my husband's parents, everyone enjoyed it. Thanks GinnyP!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2004

    • on February 05, 2004

      I threw this all together this morning in the crockpot, put in on low and came home this afternoon to a delicious smelling kitchen! My whole family loved this. I put in celery,carrots and about a cup of mixed vegs., then served it over mashed potatoes. Heavenly! Thanks for keeper recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2003

      Loved this stew recipe. Very easy to make and tasted exceptional! I was a little leary with the addition of soup, but I am certainly glad I got over that! Very good stew. And yes, my whole house smelled great while it was cooking too! Thank you for submitting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2003

      My daughter had made this when I went to visit her. It was absolutely wonderful!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2003

      Stew just doesn't get any easier than this! I chopped 3 onions and thickly sliced 4 carrots and put them in the bottom of my crockpot. I then put my stewing beef (partially defrosted) on top. I coarsely chopped a handful of mushrooms and put them on top. I mixed the soups and the wine and poured it all on top. I cooked it for two hours on high and 7 hours on low, stirring a couple of times. I did have to thicken the stew with some cornstarch at the end, but I expected that with slowcooking all those veggies. This stew had a great homecooked taste with minimal fuss. Who would have thought tomato and cream of mushroom soup would go so well together?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2003

      16 Recipezaar raters can't be wrong, but I did not get good results. After three hours of cooking, the meat was dry, and the sauce did not have a savory taste...maybe it was the wine. Next time I will try it in the crockpot and eliminate the wine but add the beef broth. I wish I knew what went wrong, because that is one of DH's favorite meals.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2003

      Mmmmm...my house smelled so good, I didn't think I would make it until dinner! I doubled up on the soups and added 5 medium sized peeled and chopped potatoes and 4 freshly cut carrots. Outstanding! I served with freshly baked bread and the Dave had the nerve to ask me if this was the stew I was serving from now on, instead of my Hamburger Vegetable Soup! LOL...It was very thick and hearty, and he loved that. We all loved it, great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2003

      I have made this recipe over & over again. It is delicious, my whole family agrees. I do put in half a bag of peas & carrots in it also. Extremely simple to make, but out of this world taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2012

      I made the recipe using 1 pouund of stew meat. I added a soup can of beef broth and 2 bay leaves and cooked it in a pressure cooker for 15 minutes. Then I added chunks of carrot, parsnips, celery and onion and cooked it for 8 minutes. Then I added frozen peas and pearl onions. This is by far the best beef stew I have ever made. DH had 3 helpings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      Really easy and tasty. The only thing I'd have changed is I'd have doubled the soups to make more gravy. It would have probably been enough, but I had left it in the oven longer than called for because I had to run a last minute errand. But I threw baby carrods, diced red potatoes, and onion slices on the top of the meat and cooked for an additional hr and then stired the veggies in with the rest of the meat and the sauce. The veggies came out super tender. The only person who wouldnt eat it is my 7 year old son. But he dosnt eat much of anything, he is super picky. But my daughters 9yrs and 4 yrs, my husband & myself, really enjoyed it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2011

      Made this last night and really enjoyed the ease of preparation and the flavor as well. My husband rated it a 4, but he went back for 3 helpings so I think he would really give it a 4.5. My 11 year old got a second helping as well, which is very unusual for her when I try a new recipe. My 6 year old didn't like it at all but he's always very hard to please. I followed the recipe except I sprinkled some fresh ground pepper and sea salt over the meat before adding the rest of the ingredients, and I added a bay leaf and 3 or 4 shakes of dried thyme when I incorporated the veggies. The veggies I used were 5 small-medium potatoes peeled and chopped into 1 to 2 inch pieces, 4 carrots sliced into 1/2 inch rounds, 3 small onions quartered and 5 ounces of fresh sliced mushrooms. I cooked the beef mixture 1 hour before adding the veggies and then 2 hours with the veggies. The meat was perfectly cooked and so tender and the veggies were the perfect texture as well. There was just the right amount of gravy and the consistency was great. Not too soupy nor too thick. The wine does permeate the flavor quite a bit so if you're not fond of wine, you might want to sub some broth or other liquid instead. I will probably try using half wine half beef broth or stock next time I make it to see if I like the flavor even better that way. Either way, I will definitely be making this again. Oh, and this made exactly 6 dinner size bowl servings for us. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      Sorry to go with the minority. Like a few others noted, the wine was a bit over-powering, and produced an unpleasant sweet after-taste. Blame it on our family's taste preferences or perhaps the kind of wine I used. Obviously a lot of people, as the reviews prove, enjoy this flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      This is absolutely the best stew I have ever had! The meat turned out perfectly tender and the gravy is wonderful. I used white cooking wine, added 3 potatoes, 3 carrots, 2 stalks of celery, 1/2 onion and some frozen peas. I also added about 1/2 can of beef gravy that I had in the cabinet to make it more saucy. My whole family loved this so much that I am going to make it again tomorrow night! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      I liked this but it wasn't great. I think it was just my personal taste that I didn't like the gravy. Somehow it just seemed too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

    • on September 27, 2007

      I had such high hopes for this recipe based on the stellar reviews. Sorry to say that we didn't enjoy this at all. It lacked flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      Honestly, I can't understand the comments that were made for this recipe. Because of the great ranking I decided to try it. It was very plain and tasted processed. IMHO, if you have the beef and have the bottle of wine - don't add any condensed soup, add a half bottle of wine, carrots, mushrooms and potatoes, salt, pepper, some herbs de provence and a bay leaf... you cook it the SAME amount of time and it will taste a BILLION times better and not processed at all... not to mention that it's better for you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      Essentially a good recipe, however needed a few additions and changes to make it suit my taste. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      It was very good. Probably next time I will add beef broth for more sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (223 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 319.5
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    28%
    Total Fat 10.0 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 96.7 mg
    32%
    Sodium 1197.2 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 35.0 g
    70%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites