83 Reviews

i made this the other day when mother in law was coming to visit and i had to work all afternoon. she popped it in the oven for me and i thought i would die when i walked in the house - oooooh the aroma! mmmm. i added whole baby carrots right from the get go (we like them a bit mushy) and then served it on top of mashed potatoes with a side salad. we all raved about it and then raved again the next night when we had the leftovers over rice. i will be making this again. and again. and again. thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaysma September 21, 2003

I agree with all the rave reviews. This is absolutely delicious. I did cut the veggies in smaller pieces and put them in the dish after the first hour. I also added some minced garlic. I will defintely be making this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IdahoGardens September 20, 2003

Incredible. I was searching on Zaar for an easy recipe as I had the flu and didnt feel like standing in the kitchen preparing dinner, when I saw this recipe I thought YES! The gravy was delicious and went well with the mashed potatoes I served with the meal. For the vegetables I added a mix of peas, carrots and green beans. Thanks for sharing a definite keeper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* September 09, 2003

I'm with EVERYONE on this one. VERY tasty. The smell in the kitchen was fabulous. I was skeptical, as the ingredients didn't sound like a good mixture - BUT - it turned out delicious!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmilinJenE August 29, 2003

Very good!!! I made mine in the crock pot. I cooked everything on low for 7 hours then removed the lid for the last 20 minutes and put it on high to evaporate some of the liquid to have a thicker gravy. I also substituted beef broth for the wine. I will be making this again... everyone in my family loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jyeschke January 02, 2012

I tried this based on all the rave reviews, but I was disappointed. I'd give it 5 stars for ease of preparation, but the taste was processed...almost the exact same flavor of that beef stew that comes in cans. If you want a super-quick beef stew without any real preparation, then this is the recipe for you. I think I'll stick with my other beef stew recipes, though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BtNugget January 05, 2011

This was very tasty! I seasoned my meat, floured it, and browned it. Then I cooked onions in the leftover drippings, added carrots, and potatoes. I completely forgot that I had to put onion mix in this so it got left out. I did a half cup red wine, and a half cup beef broth. I only cooked this for 2 hours simmering on the stove, and everything was nice and soft. It was very flavorful, and I will definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ArtofAimee November 26, 2010

I am not a fan of canned soups or other processed food, but dang! This stew is not only easy, but the flavor is fan-freakin'-tastic! I added a teaspoon of chopped garlic, a bay leaf, and a pinch of thyme. I used cabernet for the wine. I added baby carrots, red potatoes, celery, and onion and cooked it on the stove. Served with garlic naan and Aunt Toni's Texas Sheet Cake for dessert. Total man food! Loved by all.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BothFex October 15, 2010

Hands down the best stew I have ever had! I doubled all 3 soups and used 2.6 lbs of stew meat. I left the wine at 1 cup. I used merlot, I added 5 mediums potatoes some chopped baby carrots(maybe 6?) and half a bag of frozen corn after 1,5 hours of cook time. then baked another 1.5 hours. It was delicious! If I could give it 10 stares I would.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
terriclemens February 27, 2010

My family and I love this recipe! We have used both cheap ($3.50) and expensive red wines and merlots and all worked wonderfully, though I prefer the merlot. You can do it on the stove top, in a crock pot, or in the oven......I just don't think you can really mess up. This is the simplest and best recipe I have ever used for beef stew; thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alaina in N.H. February 03, 2010
Beef Stew