83 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Well, this is just too good to be this easy!! The flavors of the tomato, mushroom, and onion along with the wine come together beautifully!! I added potatoes, carrots and frozen peas. Will definitely make this again!! Thanks GinnyP!!

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz November 01, 2002

made this stew last night and also added 1 cup beef broth as we like a lot of gravy. The stew had an excellent flavor and the meat was very tender. I used cream of celery soup as i did not have mushroom soup on hand. The veggies were a bit too crisp for our taste so the next time I make this, i will follow recipe exactly except i will cook on top of stove instead of oven so i can easily monitor the consistency of the potatoes and carrots thanks for posting

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BoxO'Wine February 14, 2003

This was delicious. It's so easy, it's hard to beleive how good of a stew it makes. Followed recipe, putting in 6 potatoes (quartered), 3 small yellow onions (quartered), 1 small bag of baby carrots (halved) and about 1/2 cup of frozen peas. When it was time to put the veggies in, I added 1 can of beef consomme, not necessarly for flavor (it tasted great already), but because, we like our stew to have lots of "gravy", also 3 small whole cloves of garlic. Sprinkled with fresh black pepper and it was The Best! Thanks this is my new stew recipe from now on!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nat Da Brat February 05, 2003

You saved my life with this recipe Ginny. I made this yesterday (Sunday), had planned to make beef stew but woke up with a nasty cold. Looked in here for an easier version than how I usually do it, had all the ingredients and was able to pop it in the oven and get back onto the couch with my kitties and kleenex. My husband loved it and wants me to do it the same way next time. He's a beef stew afficionado and he went nuts over it and wants mushrooms in it next time. This time I just threw in frozen peas, carrots and celery and served it over mashed potatoes. Thanks for a great recipe.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude February 03, 2003

Great recipe Ginny!! The flavors of the soups mixed together made a wonderful gravy. The meat was absolutely SO tender. I added carrots and made mashed potatoes, poured some gravy over it all...SUPER!! Thanks Ginny, this is a keeper.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dana-MMH January 20, 2003

Well as the others said, who would think a recipe so easy would be so good? My broth didn't thicken as much as I would have liked so I added a 1/2 a cup of instant mashed taters and voila! You can bet with the cold weather and the ease of this recipe, I will be making it again very soon!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rise` February 11, 2003

over the years i have made many stews, but after trying this one, i will never make another. Absolutly fabulous. Made exactely as written.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deco Lady October 24, 2003

Just tried this recipe, it is great. The combinatiion of soups sure make a great sauce. This will be a great dish to make when we have a house full of relatives! Thanks so much.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamma February 09, 2003

After seeing your recipe I found out within 4 hours that we were having a family dinner. I doubled the recipe and had it ready to eat for all of us with huge success! Thanks, Carole

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando February 08, 2003

This is an update to my previous review. My family loved this recipe so much that I decided to try to make it in the crockpot. I cut up three medium-large potatoes and placed them in the bottom of the crockpot. On top, I put chopped up celery and cut up carrots. I blended the soups and the red wine together and pour on top of vegetables. I cooked it on low for 10 hours. Two hours before serving, I mixed in 3 Tablespoons of quick cooking Tapioca to thicken the broth. I couldn't believe how well this turned out. Served it Grandes biscuits and side salad. Mmmmm......good.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M October 20, 2003
Beef Stew