Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    83 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 83

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2002

      Well, this is just too good to be this easy!! The flavors of the tomato, mushroom, and onion along with the wine come together beautifully!! I added potatoes, carrots and frozen peas. Will definitely make this again!! Thanks GinnyP!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2003

      made this stew last night and also added 1 cup beef broth as we like a lot of gravy. The stew had an excellent flavor and the meat was very tender. I used cream of celery soup as i did not have mushroom soup on hand. The veggies were a bit too crisp for our taste so the next time I make this, i will follow recipe exactly except i will cook on top of stove instead of oven so i can easily monitor the consistency of the potatoes and carrots thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2003

      This was delicious. It's so easy, it's hard to beleive how good of a stew it makes. Followed recipe, putting in 6 potatoes (quartered), 3 small yellow onions (quartered), 1 small bag of baby carrots (halved) and about 1/2 cup of frozen peas. When it was time to put the veggies in, I added 1 can of beef consomme, not necessarly for flavor (it tasted great already), but because, we like our stew to have lots of "gravy", also 3 small whole cloves of garlic. Sprinkled with fresh black pepper and it was The Best! Thanks this is my new stew recipe from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2003

      You saved my life with this recipe Ginny. I made this yesterday (Sunday), had planned to make beef stew but woke up with a nasty cold. Looked in here for an easier version than how I usually do it, had all the ingredients and was able to pop it in the oven and get back onto the couch with my kitties and kleenex. My husband loved it and wants me to do it the same way next time. He's a beef stew afficionado and he went nuts over it and wants mushrooms in it next time. This time I just threw in frozen peas, carrots and celery and served it over mashed potatoes. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2003

      Great recipe Ginny!! The flavors of the soups mixed together made a wonderful gravy. The meat was absolutely SO tender. I added carrots and made mashed potatoes, poured some gravy over it all...SUPER!! Thanks Ginny, this is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2003

      Well as the others said, who would think a recipe so easy would be so good? My broth didn't thicken as much as I would have liked so I added a 1/2 a cup of instant mashed taters and voila! You can bet with the cold weather and the ease of this recipe, I will be making it again very soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2003

      over the years i have made many stews, but after trying this one, i will never make another. Absolutly fabulous. Made exactely as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2003

      Just tried this recipe, it is great. The combinatiion of soups sure make a great sauce. This will be a great dish to make when we have a house full of relatives! Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2003

      After seeing your recipe I found out within 4 hours that we were having a family dinner. I doubled the recipe and had it ready to eat for all of us with huge success! Thanks, Carole

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2003

      This is an update to my previous review. My family loved this recipe so much that I decided to try to make it in the crockpot. I cut up three medium-large potatoes and placed them in the bottom of the crockpot. On top, I put chopped up celery and cut up carrots. I blended the soups and the red wine together and pour on top of vegetables. I cooked it on low for 10 hours. Two hours before serving, I mixed in 3 Tablespoons of quick cooking Tapioca to thicken the broth. I couldn't believe how well this turned out. Served it Grandes biscuits and side salad. Mmmmm......good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2003

      i made this the other day when mother in law was coming to visit and i had to work all afternoon. she popped it in the oven for me and i thought i would die when i walked in the house - oooooh the aroma! mmmm. i added whole baby carrots right from the get go (we like them a bit mushy) and then served it on top of mashed potatoes with a side salad. we all raved about it and then raved again the next night when we had the leftovers over rice. i will be making this again. and again. and again. thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2003

      I agree with all the rave reviews. This is absolutely delicious. I did cut the veggies in smaller pieces and put them in the dish after the first hour. I also added some minced garlic. I will defintely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2003

      Incredible. I was searching on Zaar for an easy recipe as I had the flu and didnt feel like standing in the kitchen preparing dinner, when I saw this recipe I thought YES! The gravy was delicious and went well with the mashed potatoes I served with the meal. For the vegetables I added a mix of peas, carrots and green beans. Thanks for sharing a definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2003

      I'm with EVERYONE on this one. VERY tasty. The smell in the kitchen was fabulous. I was skeptical, as the ingredients didn't sound like a good mixture - BUT - it turned out delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      Very good!!! I made mine in the crock pot. I cooked everything on low for 7 hours then removed the lid for the last 20 minutes and put it on high to evaporate some of the liquid to have a thicker gravy. I also substituted beef broth for the wine. I will be making this again... everyone in my family loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      I tried this based on all the rave reviews, but I was disappointed. I'd give it 5 stars for ease of preparation, but the taste was processed...almost the exact same flavor of that beef stew that comes in cans. If you want a super-quick beef stew without any real preparation, then this is the recipe for you. I think I'll stick with my other beef stew recipes, though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      This was very tasty! I seasoned my meat, floured it, and browned it. Then I cooked onions in the leftover drippings, added carrots, and potatoes. I completely forgot that I had to put onion mix in this so it got left out. I did a half cup red wine, and a half cup beef broth. I only cooked this for 2 hours simmering on the stove, and everything was nice and soft. It was very flavorful, and I will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2010

      I am not a fan of canned soups or other processed food, but dang! This stew is not only easy, but the flavor is fan-freakin'-tastic! I added a teaspoon of chopped garlic, a bay leaf, and a pinch of thyme. I used cabernet for the wine. I added baby carrots, red potatoes, celery, and onion and cooked it on the stove. Served with garlic naan and Aunt Toni's Texas Sheet Cake for dessert. Total man food! Loved by all.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      Hands down the best stew I have ever had! I doubled all 3 soups and used 2.6 lbs of stew meat. I left the wine at 1 cup. I used merlot, I added 5 mediums potatoes some chopped baby carrots(maybe 6?) and half a bag of frozen corn after 1,5 hours of cook time. then baked another 1.5 hours. It was delicious! If I could give it 10 stares I would.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      My family and I love this recipe! We have used both cheap ($3.50) and expensive red wines and merlots and all worked wonderfully, though I prefer the merlot. You can do it on the stove top, in a crock pot, or in the oven......I just don't think you can really mess up. This is the simplest and best recipe I have ever used for beef stew; thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (223 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 319.5
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    28%
    Total Fat 10.0 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 96.7 mg
    32%
    Sodium 1197.2 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 35.0 g
    70%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites