80 Reviews

Came out great but sauce needed a little more thickening. I made a roue with butter and flour as another reviewer suggested and that helped a lot. Meat is tender and flavorful. I added some more potatoes and used a mix of sm baby onion and regular yellow onions. Also cooked mine first on stove and then in pampered chef roasting stone for another hour as I dont have a dutch oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mbartholdson February 06, 2009

This was my first time making stew. It turned out great, especially after I had a lot of problems (like my stove element shorting out). I used baby potatoes and left the peel on. Next time I will peel them. I don't like green peppers and onions but I kept in the stew and it turned out good. The only change that I made was with the flour and water at the end. After I added it to the stew it stayed lumpy and wouldn't dissolve so I fished it out and sprinkled the flour directly into the stew (slowly) while stirring. I will be making this again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flygirl #5 October 20, 2008

Wish there were six stars! Wife and I ate every last morsel tonight. I used half chicken stock and half water. Also added some sliced mushrooms and a dash or two of red wine. A very flexible recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ebbtide October 16, 2008

I left out the bell pepper and also used white potatoes. I will add greens beans next time I forgot to. Also, I added maybe a 1/4 cup of red whine. This was very very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seasons October 14, 2008

This is only ok. It needed something...may be some other seasoning/spics?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes September 22, 2008

This GREAT. I actually didn't finish making it the first time, because it tasted sooo good before adding in all the veggies that i just served it that way over noodles!! I ALWAYS adjust seasoning to my taste, that's just how i cook...sazon is my best friend, as is garlic powder =) and i added cayenne pepper to make it spicy...yum yum yum soooo good (i DID make this again with the veggies, and it was just as good...thanks for a basic beef stew recipe!!) I think next time i might try replacing half of the water with non-alcoholic beer, it might be exciting lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leb25 August 10, 2008

I'm not a big beef stew fan, but my husband loves it. I thought I'd try this to see what he thought, and he loved it. To my surprise, I liked it also. Thanks so much for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kayleighsmom529 February 29, 2008

FANTASTIC! The best stew I have ever had. We added egg noodles and only 2 potatoes. It was great, leftovers were just as good. This will be a regular in our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luminajd February 04, 2008

Yummy! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
traderjo February 03, 2008

Very nice! I doubled the Worcestershire sauce and added paprika for the color. Thank you for posting! :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mirelaz January 24, 2008
Beef Stew