77 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This made a fantastic stew, though I didn't measure any ingredients. I'm taking away a star, though, because I had to add spices to taste (thyme and a rosemary/garlic blend).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MookieMoo January 05, 2011

This tastes exactly like the stew that my parents used to make growing up that I never liked. I didn't mind it now but I did think it was missing herbs and I did need to add alot more flour to thicken it or it would have been more of a soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u October 16, 2010

We made this for dinner tonight. I used about 1.5lb stew meat and increased the Worcestershire. It turned out pretty good, although it seemed like it was missing something for our tastes. Next time I may try subbing low sodium beef broth for some of the water as previous reviewers suggested. We look forward to enjoying the leftovers tomorrow. Thanks for posting!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outnumbered By Peanuts January 17, 2010

Couldn't get enough!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa823 January 04, 2010

Thanks for the recipe-- this turned out great! I used about a pound and a half of beef, a bit more oil, 5 carrots instead of 4, 3 medium russet potatoes and no bell peppers... I added salt (maybe 1.5 TB?) and added more water right before serving... it was a huge hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nuiruq November 14, 2009

This is great beef stew! Just made half a recipe only had 1 lb of stew beef. I used cornstarch instead of the flour, beef broth instead of the water and added Old Bay seasoning to the other seasonings. i had no bell peppers in but i did have some parsnips which I added with some diced tomato. Ended up with a lovely flavourful stew that we had been longing to have. The whole hose was filled with a very inviting arouma while it cooked, lovely tender beef too! Thanks for posting, I will make this again, next time with the bell peppers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf October 10, 2009

This was overall a really good stew. I did make a few changes. I seasoned the flour the beef was dipped into with salt, pepper, and Badia complete seasoning. I also only used one green pepper, because once I chopped it one seemed like enough for us. It added a good flavor to the stew without being overwhelming. Finally, I used beef broth instead of water and added salt and parsley to the stew at the end. In the end it was very delicious and comforting. The meat was so tender and the house was filled with an incredibly aroma! The next day when I heated up the leftovers I added some diced tomatoes and cooked penne pasta as well, and it was delcious and I will probably add them to the stew next time I make it. This is a really good base recipe and you can defiently customize it a bit to suit your family's taste and make it your own. I will make it again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnetteM February 23, 2009

Came out great but sauce needed a little more thickening. I made a roue with butter and flour as another reviewer suggested and that helped a lot. Meat is tender and flavorful. I added some more potatoes and used a mix of sm baby onion and regular yellow onions. Also cooked mine first on stove and then in pampered chef roasting stone for another hour as I dont have a dutch oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mbartholdson February 06, 2009

This was my first time making stew. It turned out great, especially after I had a lot of problems (like my stove element shorting out). I used baby potatoes and left the peel on. Next time I will peel them. I don't like green peppers and onions but I kept in the stew and it turned out good. The only change that I made was with the flour and water at the end. After I added it to the stew it stayed lumpy and wouldn't dissolve so I fished it out and sprinkled the flour directly into the stew (slowly) while stirring. I will be making this again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flygirl #5 October 20, 2008

Wish there were six stars! Wife and I ate every last morsel tonight. I used half chicken stock and half water. Also added some sliced mushrooms and a dash or two of red wine. A very flexible recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ebbtide October 16, 2008
Beef Stew