Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    73 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 73

    Sort by:

    • on May 01, 2007

      5 Thumbs up indeed!! We have been having awfully cold weather (7months winter now!!)and today hubby requested stew and dumplings! What a tasty dish this is. I did however use more worcestershire sauce, 4 cloves fresh garlic crushed, 1/4 tsp thyme, 1/4 tsp oregano, and instead of small onions, I used the greens of spring onions. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

      This was BY FAR the best beef stew I have ever had primarily because the meat was SOOOOOOOO tender!!! From here on out this is the recipe I am going to use. I can't imagine a better beef stew! I used 2 fresh garlic cloves (crushed), russet potatoes instead of the red (because that is what I had on hand), and left out the onion and green pepper since I didn't have any. I also only used 1 1/2 pounds of stew meat and had to add a little extra water/flour mixture at the end to get the gravy to thicken up. Well worth the 3 hours of preparation and cooking time!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2007

      I made this for my DH and I and it was pretty good! I also used the beef broth and I thought it added more flavor. Without it, I would think it would be more bland than it was already. This was a great first beef stew recipe for me though and thanks for posting this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      MADE THIS RECIPE YESTERDAY FOR DINNER, 4-01-07 and it was the absolute best ever...... Meat very tender, gravy consistency was perfect.. DH had some for lunch today and supper tonite, agreed this was the best i've ever made. thanks a million for posting recipe. I will make this again. Only things i did different was to use 1 can beef broth and one can chicken broth. used red and green bell pepper. MADE HALF THE RECIPE. Did not need to thicken gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      In general, this is a fairly good recipe for what, I believe, most of us would think of as a traditional Wintertime beef stew. Here are my personal amendments to the recipe. First of all, I omitted the green peppers; I don't think I have ever had a beef stew with green peppers. Ever. Add salt and pepper to the flour mixture when coating the beef and don't forget to season before serving as needed. I deglazed the browned beef with some red wine before adding my liquid. I agree with reviewer, John Sanderbeck that beef broth should be used instead of water. I also added some Winter root vegetables (turnips, parsnips, etc) to the recipe. To thicken, I made a roux by adding flour and butter togethet and browning before adding to the stew. This gave it a silky texture and eliminated the floury or raw doughy taste. All in all, this recipe is a good starting point for you to make a Winter stew one you can call your own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2006

      This was the best! I could not believe how great it came out. The only things I changed a bit was to use a little barley and mushrooms instead of peppers(not a big fan). I also added 1/2 cup of wine as well. Served with warm biscuits. Great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      This is a really good stew. I used beef stock instead of water, and added some fresh thyme and parsley. I just realized I forgot the worcestershire sauce (drat!), which would have made it even better. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      This is so tasty! My kids who never eat stew happily not only ate it, they asked me to make it again the next week. Super easy to make, I made it in the crockpot and let the meat cook all day. Put the vegies in around noon and they were perfect by dinner time at 6. I did add a packet of gravy mix to help thicken the stew, and I also added beef stock to the water. The most savory delightful stew I have tasted in a long time, just nummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      This stew was easy to make and the beef was very tender, but all together it was Very Bland. It lacked beefy taste and the sauce had little to no flavour. This stew could use a little spicing up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2006

      Disappointing. Beef stew should have more of a beefy flavor and have thicker consistency. I followed the directions to a tee. It's all in the sauce...........needs help.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2006

      Perfect as is, the only thing I changed was that I added a package of dry brown gravy mix, it thicken up the broth and made it silky. I made it and took it on a camping trip, heated it over the campfire. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2006

      Loved it...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2006

      Great stew recipe. We omitted green pepper and cut back garlic to 1/2 t. minced. We also added 1 can of tomato paste and corn. Every time we make it, it gets better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2005

      I like it for the simplicity and basic-ness of it. But the flavor wasn't as intense as I like. Definitely use beef broth and/or V8 or tomato sauce or something to give it a kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2005

      This is the BEST stew. The meat is tender. It needed a little more flavor though. Next time I will add more garlic and red wine. Thanks so much for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2005

      Yes, this is wonderful.. Made it for a rainy valentines Dinner and it was a hit. Put "enough" pepper in, but not full amount and it was a great stew. I also used a home made broth and that helped it too. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2005

      Simple and tasty. I used red peppers instead of green and added red wine. Even better the next day for lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2005

      The overall taste of the recipe was fine but the 3/4 tsp of pepper was way too much for me.It ruined the entire stew.I should have just used pepper to taste but I went by the recipe instead.I also had to add about 1 tsp or more of salt to not have such a "fresh" taste to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2004

      This was my first time making a beef stew. It was pretty easy to make. I think I will take the suggestions & add part beef stock & maybe some red wine. I reheated the beef stew leftovers w/ a little wine - yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2004

      This was so easy and delicious! I added a cup of red wine with 3 cups of water. Very tasty and I will definately make this again. I served it with fresh baked rolls. Thanks ~ MT2 - Bedford, NH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (604 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 411.3
     
    Calories from Fat 106
    25%
    Total Fat 11.8 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 96.7 mg
    32%
    Sodium 220.9 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    27%
    Protein 37.8 g
    75%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites