Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    75 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 75

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2010

      Couldn't get enough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      Thanks for the recipe-- this turned out great! I used about a pound and a half of beef, a bit more oil, 5 carrots instead of 4, 3 medium russet potatoes and no bell peppers... I added salt (maybe 1.5 TB?) and added more water right before serving... it was a huge hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      This is great beef stew! Just made half a recipe only had 1 lb of stew beef. I used cornstarch instead of the flour, beef broth instead of the water and added Old Bay seasoning to the other seasonings. i had no bell peppers in but i did have some parsnips which I added with some diced tomato. Ended up with a lovely flavourful stew that we had been longing to have. The whole hose was filled with a very inviting arouma while it cooked, lovely tender beef too! Thanks for posting, I will make this again, next time with the bell peppers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      This was overall a really good stew. I did make a few changes. I seasoned the flour the beef was dipped into with salt, pepper, and Badia complete seasoning. I also only used one green pepper, because once I chopped it one seemed like enough for us. It added a good flavor to the stew without being overwhelming. Finally, I used beef broth instead of water and added salt and parsley to the stew at the end. In the end it was very delicious and comforting. The meat was so tender and the house was filled with an incredibly aroma! The next day when I heated up the leftovers I added some diced tomatoes and cooked penne pasta as well, and it was delcious and I will probably add them to the stew next time I make it. This is a really good base recipe and you can defiently customize it a bit to suit your family's taste and make it your own. I will make it again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      Came out great but sauce needed a little more thickening. I made a roue with butter and flour as another reviewer suggested and that helped a lot. Meat is tender and flavorful. I added some more potatoes and used a mix of sm baby onion and regular yellow onions. Also cooked mine first on stove and then in pampered chef roasting stone for another hour as I dont have a dutch oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      This was my first time making stew. It turned out great, especially after I had a lot of problems (like my stove element shorting out). I used baby potatoes and left the peel on. Next time I will peel them. I don't like green peppers and onions but I kept in the stew and it turned out good. The only change that I made was with the flour and water at the end. After I added it to the stew it stayed lumpy and wouldn't dissolve so I fished it out and sprinkled the flour directly into the stew (slowly) while stirring. I will be making this again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      Wish there were six stars! Wife and I ate every last morsel tonight. I used half chicken stock and half water. Also added some sliced mushrooms and a dash or two of red wine. A very flexible recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      I left out the bell pepper and also used white potatoes. I will add greens beans next time I forgot to. Also, I added maybe a 1/4 cup of red whine. This was very very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      This is only ok. It needed something...may be some other seasoning/spics?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      This GREAT. I actually didn't finish making it the first time, because it tasted sooo good before adding in all the veggies that i just served it that way over noodles!! I ALWAYS adjust seasoning to my taste, that's just how i cook...sazon is my best friend, as is garlic powder =) and i added cayenne pepper to make it spicy...yum yum yum soooo good (i DID make this again with the veggies, and it was just as good...thanks for a basic beef stew recipe!!) I think next time i might try replacing half of the water with non-alcoholic beer, it might be exciting lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      I'm not a big beef stew fan, but my husband loves it. I thought I'd try this to see what he thought, and he loved it. To my surprise, I liked it also. Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      FANTASTIC! The best stew I have ever had. We added egg noodles and only 2 potatoes. It was great, leftovers were just as good. This will be a regular in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      Yummy! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      Very nice! I doubled the Worcestershire sauce and added paprika for the color. Thank you for posting! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      Very good and filling. I followed the recipe except that after browning the meat I made it in the crockpot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      This recipe is wonderful. I am going to try this recipe. Very low in sodium! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      I tried this tonight and my husband and I loved it! Even my picked 3 year old was licking her bowl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      I chose this recipe for dinner tonight as I had everything included on hand. I did substitute green peas for the green pepper (I never heard of green pepper in beef stew but, oh well). My husband and I enjoyed it very much and I have a quick, easy meal of leftovers for tomorrow night's dinner. I found the stew made a lot of gravy so I may cut down the water a bit next time. Great, simple stew! Thanks Sugardoll.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      I choose this recipe because it doesn't have tomatoes in it. I enjoyed your recipe very much, i followed it completely and didn't have a problem with it. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      This recipe was very good! I made a few changes by leaving out the peppers and using beef stock (seemed like it would be very bland with just water). I also used a crock pot which worked great. Will definitely make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (604 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 411.3
     
    Calories from Fat 106
    25%
    Total Fat 11.8 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 96.7 mg
    32%
    Sodium 220.9 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    27%
    Protein 37.8 g
    75%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes