80 Reviews

This was an excellant recipe. My son made it by himself he sauted garlicin the beginning and added tomatoes & bell pepper towards the end. Yummy.

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rickey Crandall January 26, 2002

Excellent Recipe!! I want to thank you for this recipe, I cook every day for my family and this Beef Stew is so easy to make and not only that but, it taste so good! We all enjoyed this and the texture of this beef stew is perfect. Thanks again and keep it coming. Just love it! The Carreon's Family*****

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ann Carreon March 29, 2002

One of the best stews I've eaten in a long time... Varied the recipe a little by using Beef Stock instead of water (towards the end I added more water anyway), increased the Worcestershire sauce to 4 Tbsp, and put the Peppers and Onions in a food processor first. Also increased the #'s of Potato's and Carrots for my kids. And this cooked for 5 hours in a roaster at 350 degrees (didn't have a dutch oven...).

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
John Sanderbeck November 25, 2002

This was wonderful ! So easy to make ! I had to make it for a heap of people, so I added a couple of things off a whim. I tin of tomato puree...2 more tbsps of worcestershire sauce, 4 tbsps more of flour. 2 cups more of water. 2 tbsps of pesto...a few italian herbs and a bit more pepper and salt. It's a very versatile stew....take or add...... will be in my favourite recipe file forevever....love it SUGARDOLL !!!!! THANKS !!!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teeje July 07, 2002

ps.--forgot to mention I did this in the crockpot (browned the meat in a skillet beforehand) and instead of the flour/water technique, i just threw about 3/4 c. instant mashed potatoes in to thicken the gravy.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Parrot Head Mama February 08, 2004

We made this the other day in the crockpot. I browned the beef first, then put it in the crockpot with the water and seasonings for about four hours. I added the last ingredients about 2 hours before dinner. It was excellent! I wasn't sure about the green bell peppers, but they really added a lot to the taste. Definately will make again. Thanks for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom of Five May 12, 2003

This is great stew. I am rating it because I made some changes and I don't want to forget for next time I make it. Instead of 4 cups water I used 6 cups water and 6 beef bullion cubes. Also I added a teaspoon of Parsley, a teaspoon of thyme, 1 1/2 teaspoons salt, and 1 1/2 teaspoons pepper. My whole family devoured it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachelii May 17, 2011

I made this for our New Year's Eve potluck; it was supposed to warm us up after sledding but that idea was scrapped due to the warm weather here in Ottawa. I used 1.5 lbs. stew meat and tossed with doubled amount of flour pepper salt and browned in oil in three batches. After each batch, I cooked the scraps off the bottom of the frying pan with store bought beef broth. I put potatoes and carrots (doubled amounts) in the bottom of my slow cooker, added the beef as it was browned and poured the scraps/broth over top. I combined the garlic, Worcestershire sauce and remaining broth to fill my large slow cooker to 2 inches from the top. I added a small onion and 1 tsp. basil. Cooked on high 1 hour and on low 7 hours. It was very tender and a big hit. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canada Goose January 01, 2011

Very good and easy. I added a tablespoon of beef base to the water, and next time will add two, as I still needed to add salt at the end. Next time I will also add more Worcestershire and more pepper as it could use a bit more flavor, but I didn't want to make too many adjustments the first time. The meat melts in your mouth, and I will definitely make this again and again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karyn in Portland October 23, 2003

In general, this is a fairly good recipe for what, I believe, most of us would think of as a traditional Wintertime beef stew. Here are my personal amendments to the recipe. First of all, I omitted the green peppers; I don't think I have ever had a beef stew with green peppers. Ever. Add salt and pepper to the flour mixture when coating the beef and don't forget to season before serving as needed. I deglazed the browned beef with some red wine before adding my liquid. I agree with reviewer, John Sanderbeck that beef broth should be used instead of water. I also added some Winter root vegetables (turnips, parsnips, etc) to the recipe. To thicken, I made a roux by adding flour and butter togethet and browning before adding to the stew. This gave it a silky texture and eliminated the floury or raw doughy taste. All in all, this recipe is a good starting point for you to make a Winter stew one you can call your own.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whatcha got cookin' January 06, 2007
Beef Stew