Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    75 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 75

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2002

      This was an excellant recipe. My son made it by himself he sauted garlicin the beginning and added tomatoes & bell pepper towards the end. Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2002

      Excellent Recipe!! I want to thank you for this recipe, I cook every day for my family and this Beef Stew is so easy to make and not only that but, it taste so good! We all enjoyed this and the texture of this beef stew is perfect. Thanks again and keep it coming. Just love it! The Carreon's Family*****

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2002

      One of the best stews I've eaten in a long time... Varied the recipe a little by using Beef Stock instead of water (towards the end I added more water anyway), increased the Worcestershire sauce to 4 Tbsp, and put the Peppers and Onions in a food processor first. Also increased the #'s of Potato's and Carrots for my kids. And this cooked for 5 hours in a roaster at 350 degrees (didn't have a dutch oven...).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2002

      This was wonderful ! So easy to make ! I had to make it for a heap of people, so I added a couple of things off a whim. I tin of tomato puree...2 more tbsps of worcestershire sauce, 4 tbsps more of flour. 2 cups more of water. 2 tbsps of pesto...a few italian herbs and a bit more pepper and salt. It's a very versatile stew....take or add...... will be in my favourite recipe file forevever....love it SUGARDOLL !!!!! THANKS !!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2004

      ps.--forgot to mention I did this in the crockpot (browned the meat in a skillet beforehand) and instead of the flour/water technique, i just threw about 3/4 c. instant mashed potatoes in to thicken the gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2003

      Very good and easy. I added a tablespoon of beef base to the water, and next time will add two, as I still needed to add salt at the end. Next time I will also add more Worcestershire and more pepper as it could use a bit more flavor, but I didn't want to make too many adjustments the first time. The meat melts in your mouth, and I will definitely make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2003

      We made this the other day in the crockpot. I browned the beef first, then put it in the crockpot with the water and seasonings for about four hours. I added the last ingredients about 2 hours before dinner. It was excellent! I wasn't sure about the green bell peppers, but they really added a lot to the taste. Definately will make again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      This is great stew. I am rating it because I made some changes and I don't want to forget for next time I make it. Instead of 4 cups water I used 6 cups water and 6 beef bullion cubes. Also I added a teaspoon of Parsley, a teaspoon of thyme, 1 1/2 teaspoons salt, and 1 1/2 teaspoons pepper. My whole family devoured it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      I made this for our New Year's Eve potluck; it was supposed to warm us up after sledding but that idea was scrapped due to the warm weather here in Ottawa. I used 1.5 lbs. stew meat and tossed with doubled amount of flour pepper salt and browned in oil in three batches. After each batch, I cooked the scraps off the bottom of the frying pan with store bought beef broth. I put potatoes and carrots (doubled amounts) in the bottom of my slow cooker, added the beef as it was browned and poured the scraps/broth over top. I combined the garlic, Worcestershire sauce and remaining broth to fill my large slow cooker to 2 inches from the top. I added a small onion and 1 tsp. basil. Cooked on high 1 hour and on low 7 hours. It was very tender and a big hit. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2002

      The hardest part of this recipe is having to smell it for 2 1/2 hours before it was ready. It smelled WONDERFUL. Sometimes dishes smell better than they turn out. Not this one. It tasted as wonderful as it smelled. This recipe takes a while to cook but it was worth the wait. Great weekend dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2014

      I doubled everything on the recipe added a pound of bacon, three yuengling black and tan beers, 5 dashes of franks red hot. and instead of beef im using venison

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2014

      I know this was a good recipe when my husband said "that was great!". I used all the ingredients stated except I switched the green pepper for peas. I added the carrots, celery and onions after only 1 hour instead of 2. The last half hour I added the potatoes because they really don't need an hour. Peas were added in the last two minutes of cooking. I also did not do the flour/water mixture to thicken because I thought it was just perfect without it. Excellent ... will be making this again! One of the best beef stew recipes I've ever made!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2014

      Decent recipe. Two ideas; instead of oil start with a piece or two of bacon chopped fine in the bottom of the pot to add flavor and fat to brown the beef. Also, a bit of red wine added to the flour instead of water adds complexity and color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2013

      Very nice basic stew. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2012

      This. was. AMAZING!! I didnt have the green pepper but added all other ingredients. Added rosemary and cellery seed in a difuser ball. And when dredging meat mixed salt pepper and flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      great recipe because it was sooo easy and tasty!!!! thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      Really good and easy. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      This made a fantastic stew, though I didn't measure any ingredients. I'm taking away a star, though, because I had to add spices to taste (thyme and a rosemary/garlic blend).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      This tastes exactly like the stew that my parents used to make growing up that I never liked. I didn't mind it now but I did think it was missing herbs and I did need to add alot more flour to thicken it or it would have been more of a soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      We made this for dinner tonight. I used about 1.5lb stew meat and increased the Worcestershire. It turned out pretty good, although it seemed like it was missing something for our tastes. Next time I may try subbing low sodium beef broth for some of the water as previous reviewers suggested. We look forward to enjoying the leftovers tomorrow. Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (604 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 411.3
     
    Calories from Fat 106
    25%
    Total Fat 11.8 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 96.7 mg
    32%
    Sodium 220.9 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    27%
    Protein 37.8 g
    75%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes