Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Soft Tacos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Soft Tacos

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2002

      These are the best!! No more trouble than the usual way and so much better! I doubled the recipe , cause we love tacos so much. It was a good thing I did. I don't think there would have been enough! I fed 6, and we devoured all of it!! Will be using this recipe a lot. Thanks John!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      these are some sissy taco's!! lol. I'm a born and raised texan, and these needed some serious help. I added chopped black olives, a tsp cumin, a tsp cayenne, and extra 1/2 tsp chili powder and a 1.2 cup chopped onion. These were okay, but if you like some heat and "real tacos" this may not be for you. Good and quick though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2012

    • on August 18, 2010

      Oh my, this is good! I used onions instead of onion powder, as I didn't have any powder on hand. I also added a can of green chilies to mine. This is the PERFECT meat for tacos and sanchos. I can't wait to try it in some enchiladas and chimi's!! It's flavored just right for me... not spicy, just really good flavor. It is the perfect base meat for any mexican dish, if you are using a ground beef filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      Son said they were great, daughter didn't complain, husband didn't say. 4X's recipe, may have needed a bit less flour. I did add fresh onions and small amount of cumin, I also added some salsa since I thought it was too floury. I used very lean meat, maybe that is why the flour was overpowering. Will make again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      We love this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      This is the best taco meat I've ever made. We had guests over when I made it for the first time, and I sent them home with your recipe. Needless to say, I will NEVER go back to making tacos how I used to-- from here on out, I will only use this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      We loved these last night. I have never made taco meat with flour, but I liked how it stuck together and didn't fall out of the taco. It reminded me of a restaurant meat for tacos. Thank you for sharing.....even DD (who doesn't like taco meat) enjoyed these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

    • on October 12, 2009

    • on May 14, 2009

      This was easy. I was looking for a recipe that didn't use the seasoning packs, and this fit the bill. But I used fresh onion instead of the onion powder and flakes. Next time, I think I will follow Kmmd's suggestion and add some cumin and substitute a bit of cayenne for the paprika. Also, a shake of tabasco sauce would have been a nice addition. It was not as spicy as what I've been used to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      Kids loved it. Husband thought it was a little bland. I had to use real onion instead of flaked. I thought it was simple and delicious. Thanks for a quick fix. No more taco kits for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

    • on November 04, 2008

      Very nice meat combination, but it was still lacking the amount of zip we enjoy when we use regular taco seasoning mix. I think this mix has definite potential with a few tweaks. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      So I have the PICKIEST fiance ever. Literally. He hasn't cooked at all since we've been together... until now. He wanted to show me that he could cook so he picked this recipe out to make. He loved it so hopefully we'll save money by making these at home more often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      I have made this recipe a few times now. It is easy to prepare and tasty too. Thanks for the recipe. Will use again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      Check this out! My first time making tacos. I used your lovely recipe -- BUT -- I used 'vege meat or tvp granuals' soaked 15 min. and I included some fresh chopped onions and about five sage leaves from my garden. I had to add a couple spoons of EVO Oil to the mix. It worked! Great texture and taste. Used "Salsa-sour cream dipping sauce, recipe 28610" to drizzle over my veggies. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      I will never make tacos from a spice envelope ever again!! This was eaten up quickly by my friends and I had to go whip up another batch! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      John this is unreal! I've been making tacos for the longest time and have always been trying to find a different or better way. My search is over. I was doubtful when I read to mix the dry ingredients into the hamburger meat, but it works! The meat breaks up just fine and has wonderful taste. I did add some ground cumin (personal taste 1 tsp.) My son ate 6! I had hoped there would be leftovers (I did triple the recipe!), but alas it will have to wait until I fix these again. Yes, we will have these often. Thanks for posting a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      Put an end to all dine-out mexican eating taco restaurants.My all time favorite mexican restaurant is El Maguey and I am a die-hard 3 day week fan. These tacos have put an end to those frequent flyer visits for these tacos are "bestest"ever.And believe me I have tried them all. The only thing I eliminated was the sour cream and for the cheese I used the Italian 3 mixed bagged which made the flavor identical to the restaurant. The funny thing is that the tacos taste 10 times better after the meat had been refrigerated and used for tacos again the next day.(told you i am a die hard)My pocket book thanks you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Soft Tacos

    Serving Size: 1 (108 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 255.8
     
    Calories from Fat 94
    37%
    Total Fat 10.5 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 30.8 mg
    10%
    Sodium 685.2 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 12.7 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes