Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Short Ribs in Cinnamon & Red Wine Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Short Ribs in Cinnamon & Red Wine Sauce

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 08, 2010

      This is a wonderful bold tasting dish I love it!! I used Flanken ribs with bone sliced very thin so it only took 2 1/2 hours I added sea salt I will make this allot .It is great Next time I am in Vancouver I am going to ViJ's restaurant thank you for posting this

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      These ribs have such a wonderfully complex flavor! I used boneless ribs but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Served it with red quinoa and a bottle of Peay syrah - outstanding! This recipe takes an awful lot of time to prepare, but it's so, so worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      Amazing recipe! Very savory dish that was well worth the wait! Even my picky 16 year old sister liked it :-) I wil l definately be making this dish again. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      i have lived in the most multi-cultural city in the world(toronto,canada) and i have had the pleasure of enjoying some of the best indian food! i love indian food with a passion. i have also been to vij's in vancouver. i must say vij's probably is the best indian restaurant in north america. saying that when i came across this recipe i couldn't wait to try it out. it was outstanding. i followed it to a tee and it turned out amazing. anyone who comes across this recipe must try it... even if your not familiar with indian cooking, this is #1...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      I followed this recipe faithfully and thought it was very, very good. However, I cook ribs so seldomly, and part of me missed plain old simple ribs with barbeque sauce. I would use this recipe again for flank or skirt steak or chicken (obviously with reduced cooking time). While it is very flavorable, it just doesn't have the cravability factor that ribs can uniquely have if basted and cooked on a grill or smoker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2005

      COUNTRYLADY; Thanks to KITTENCAL, who recommended your recipe to me. I too, could not buy any Short Ribs with Bone-in, so the butcher cut me the meat with no bone-in. I cut it into larger pieces and cooked it that way for 3 1/2 hours. The sauce was excellent, and I also used 1 cup of my dry red wine (and then drank the rest of the bottle) while the meat was simmering. GOOD STUFF. The spice blend was excellent and I ground my own Fenugreek, what a difference to have that nice spicy, pungent smell and taste. Thank you for sharing. I bought an extra package of Short Rib Meat and will be making another batch tomorrow. Enjoying with some Oven Baked Spicy Fries. "Uncle Bill"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2005

      One of the best short rib recipes I have made so far. I doubled all the ingredients as I have 4 people, including my son that can devour the whole thing himself! I just used plain butter and omitted the fenugreek as I did not have any around. The sauce from this recipe is to die for and the short ribs turned out delicious. Country Lady, I can't say enough about your recipe, it is fantastic! This will go into my favorites...thank you so very much for posting...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2004

      Very, Very Nice CL! Could not get the Beef Ribs so used boneless meat. :( But the flavours were wonderful. Cooked for only 3 hours as the guys got hungry with the aromas and forced me hand ;) Used only the 2 tblsp of ghee and all cayenne pepper though and served with Methi Rice and a veg salad. Thank you :) Fay

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Short Ribs in Cinnamon & Red Wine Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (140 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 248.7
     
    Calories from Fat 190
    76%
    Total Fat 21.2 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 16.3 mg
    5%
    Sodium 29.4 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    short rib of beef

    vegetable stock

    cinnamon bark

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites