17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made half a recipe for the two of us and it was very good. I had to add water at the end as it was dry and needed something for the sauce. The meat was so tender it fell apart. Served with Baked Sweet potatoes, Lime Cayenne mayo, and crispy corn fritters.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound June 15, 2011

This was very good. The rub is very fragrant and would make for good grilling rub. I braised this on top of the stove and not in the oven. Took the same amount of time and turned out very tender. I would use a bit more chipotle next time as we like really spicy food, but this would make for a good meal to make guests who are not accustomed to hot foods. Thanks Bev. Served this with fried potatoes and braised leeks in cream sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L. Duch February 23, 2008

I made these the other day and unexpected company showed up. What a HIT! I fixed a Tex-Mex style risotta with them and some crunchy French Bread. Everyone loved them! I ended up cooking them a little longer and the meat was so tender! Thank you Bev!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sami December 10, 2007

Very good! We added chopped roasted Numex green chiles, as Anaheims have very little heat, but there is really ample heat from the chipotles if you don't keep green chiles on hand. Be careful not to scorch the spice rub when browning the meat, it browns pretty quickly! We used bison short ribs, as we prefer them to beef, and cooked it completely on top of the stove using a flame tamer to diffuse the heat. Made some buttermilk mashed potatoes and some corn with diced roasted red bell peppers and zucchini mixed in. Made a nice southwestern comfort food meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zeldaz51 November 19, 2013

This recipe is awesome. I doubled the ingredients for the rub so that I would have plenty of it. I have made this recipe many times and my husband loves it every time. Thank you Bev.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carlacakes65 November 28, 2012

This was tasty. Beef short ribs are one of my favorite cuts and am always looking for different ways to prepare them. Not overly spicey with lots of good peppery flavor. I served them with homemade mashed potatoes. Thanks Bev.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tread August 25, 2012

Really really great. Followed the recipe up until adding the Anaheim chilis (I was afraid it would be too hot). The heat actually mellowed for me after simmering it at the end. It was wonderful over rice and served with carmelized carrots. I'm always looking for a way to cook short ribs as we get them with the 1/2 cow we buy every 9 months or so. I'm usually not a huge fan but this recipe made them great. Thanks for the keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz September 25, 2011

These were great for taco filling and I used the leftovers for beef enchiladas! Instead of browing the ribs, I put them on the grill for about 6 minutes per side. This worked out great and added to the smokiness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hqhinc August 15, 2009

We all enjoyed this spicy rib dish for dinner a few nights ago. I made the ribs in my dutch oven, and they seemed to cook up a little faster, perhaps, then the directions stated and there was maybe a little less sauce then what other reviewers' have stated. However, I kept my eye on the dish so this wasnt too much of a problem and the flavors ended up being top notch. I served with Smokey Mashed Sweet Potatoes 373832 as a side. Thanks for posting. We will make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny August 10, 2009

I tried this for Memorial Day and it was absalutely SUPER!!!!!!!!! Thank You so much Kath

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
taquito_tortilla May 28, 2009
Beef Short Ribs in Chipotle and Green Chili Sauce