Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Short Ribs in Chipotle and Green Chili Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Short Ribs in Chipotle and Green Chili Sauce

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on June 15, 2011

      I made half a recipe for the two of us and it was very good. I had to add water at the end as it was dry and needed something for the sauce. The meat was so tender it fell apart. Served with Baked Sweet potatoes, Lime Cayenne mayo, and crispy corn fritters.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      This was very good. The rub is very fragrant and would make for good grilling rub. I braised this on top of the stove and not in the oven. Took the same amount of time and turned out very tender. I would use a bit more chipotle next time as we like really spicy food, but this would make for a good meal to make guests who are not accustomed to hot foods. Thanks Bev. Served this with fried potatoes and braised leeks in cream sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      I made these the other day and unexpected company showed up. What a HIT! I fixed a Tex-Mex style risotta with them and some crunchy French Bread. Everyone loved them! I ended up cooking them a little longer and the meat was so tender! Thank you Bev!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2013

      Very good! We added chopped roasted Numex green chiles, as Anaheims have very little heat, but there is really ample heat from the chipotles if you don't keep green chiles on hand. Be careful not to scorch the spice rub when browning the meat, it browns pretty quickly! We used bison short ribs, as we prefer them to beef, and cooked it completely on top of the stove using a flame tamer to diffuse the heat. Made some buttermilk mashed potatoes and some corn with diced roasted red bell peppers and zucchini mixed in. Made a nice southwestern comfort food meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2012

      This recipe is awesome. I doubled the ingredients for the rub so that I would have plenty of it. I have made this recipe many times and my husband loves it every time. Thank you Bev.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2012

      This was tasty. Beef short ribs are one of my favorite cuts and am always looking for different ways to prepare them. Not overly spicey with lots of good peppery flavor. I served them with homemade mashed potatoes. Thanks Bev.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      Really really great. Followed the recipe up until adding the Anaheim chilis (I was afraid it would be too hot). The heat actually mellowed for me after simmering it at the end. It was wonderful over rice and served with carmelized carrots. I'm always looking for a way to cook short ribs as we get them with the 1/2 cow we buy every 9 months or so. I'm usually not a huge fan but this recipe made them great. Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      These were great for taco filling and I used the leftovers for beef enchiladas! Instead of browing the ribs, I put them on the grill for about 6 minutes per side. This worked out great and added to the smokiness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      We all enjoyed this spicy rib dish for dinner a few nights ago. I made the ribs in my dutch oven, and they seemed to cook up a little faster, perhaps, then the directions stated and there was maybe a little less sauce then what other reviewers' have stated. However, I kept my eye on the dish so this wasnt too much of a problem and the flavors ended up being top notch. I served with Smokey Mashed Sweet Potatoes 373832 as a side. Thanks for posting. We will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      I tried this for Memorial Day and it was absalutely SUPER!!!!!!!!! Thank You so much Kath

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      My first try @ beef short ribs and I'm hooked. This recipe is delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      My first time to fix short ribs and I couldn't have chosen a better recipe for my maiden voyage. The flavors were wonderful; the meat fall apart tender. I made just as written and the chipotle amount was perfect for us. Served with recipe ##177513 this made for a tongue-tingling meal that suited our tastes to a T. Thanks for posting this first-class recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2005

      This recipe definitely deserves more than 5 stars! I followed the recipe exactly. The ribs had a wonderful flavor, spicy and slight tangy and the meat was tender. We ate until we couldn't move and literally licked the plate clean! Thanks so much for this recipe Bev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2005

      everyone loved this dish, did it exact except pureed the sauce and mixed it into the rice delicious!!ty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2005

      This was an excellent way to fix short ribs. Lots of good flavor. I only made it to step 13, but the recipe is great. My husband likes short ribs and always asks for them. Now with this recipe, I don't mind fixing them. He really enjoyed this recipe too! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2004

      Bev, these short-ribs turned out mouthwateringly tender and delicious!! I left out the coriander and the chopped fresh cilantro because I just do not like them. We never missed them at all. Followed the instructions completely. After 1 1/2 hours in the oven, returned the pot to the stovetop and slow simmered for about 30 minutes. The sauce thickened up nicely and by this time, the ribs were ready to fall apart. Served this with white rice but leftovers the next day were excellent wrapped in warm flour tortillas and topped with sour cream. YUMMY! thanks for posting this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2003

      Another winner here. I recalled this recipe when I saw a boneless pack of beef short ribs at the market. As I'm currently out of my chipotles-in-adobo-stash, I used 2 jalapenos, about a tablespoon of chipotle marinade, and a pinch of chipotle powder. Due to husband's preferences, I only used 1/2 teaspoon cumin. After being nicely browned on the stove top, they cooked with the most tantalizing smell in the oven, for just over 1 1/2 hours. When I pulled the out to go back on the stovetop, I literally had to fend my husband away from liberally sampling, until the sauce had reduced enough (about 20 minutes). Please note that the heat of the peppers intensifies during this reduction, so plan for your palate accordingly (to us, it was the perfect marriage of heat and flavour). I served these with a salsa fresca, wrapped in warmed, soft tortilla shells. These were so good, even I had to go back for seconds. Nicely spiced, and the meat was perfectly tender... they made great leftovers for the following day. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Short Ribs in Chipotle and Green Chili Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (292 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 140.4
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    50%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 641.3 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    short rib of beef

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes