Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Satay Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Satay

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on February 21, 2008

      Oh my! Oh my! My family loved this recipe! I used the ingredients as listed except I only put 1 tablespoon of Asian chili sauce so it wouldn't be too spicy for the kids(I used Sriracha sauce.) I couldn't find my skewers so I just cut the meat and poured the marinade over it. Then, after an hour, I laid the meat on my broiling pan and cooked it. The remaining marinade I boiled for a while so I could use it as additional sauce. I served the meat as dinner over brown rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2013

      Agree with other posters - this was fantastic and not to be missed! When I saw it was from America's Test Kitchen, I knew it would be excellent, but when I saw the ingredients and saw how easy it would be to de-carb it, I had to try it! <br/><br/>Worth a mere 6 minutes of broiling time - indoor broiling is a huge plus, don't like dragging out the grill just for myself, plus it was cold and raining like mad that day. I broiled at 350 degrees for 3 minutes each side. I also waited to skewer them until after the marinating, as I wanted to make use of all the sauce, didn't want the bottoms to miss out on the opportunity to bask in the yummy marinade. They were perfectly done and med rare inside, very tender and juicy.<br/><br/>I made a couple of adjustments to make it lower carb, as I mentioned earlier (used splenda instead of sugar, and a little grated onion instead 2 scallions). Like another poster, I wasn't sure if the marinade would be enough, but it was just right for my 1.75 pound piece of flank steak. Most of marinade stuck to the meat, and I had very little to toss. Made the peanut sauce Lisa in Cali suggested, with the same low carb modifications noted above, and I also used no sugar almond butter 'cuz that's what I had on hand. To die for! <br/><br/>Also great on wings. This is my new fave recipe. It was added to my permanent recipe book within an hour of dinner, which I have to say is probably a first. I liked it that much. Thanks a mil, Lisa in Cali!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      Very tender and easy with most ingredients already in my pantry. I like to skewer these, put them on the indoor grill, then serve with lettuce to make lettuce wraps and hot sauce with a side of steamed jasmine rice. Thanks for this one, it's definitely a keeper for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2012

      Simply divine! I doubled the recipe as to make sure we had plenty enough marinade...This is an absolute keeper! Thank you!

      Update: It was my turn to host Christmas this year and I decided to do an Asian-themed dinner...so I made these skewers and within minutes they were devoured by everyone...Thanks for allowing my family to believe that I'm a terrific cook!!!

      Another update (10/3/12): I like to make a peanut sauce to accompany these awesome little babies, so I just boil the leftover satay marinade in a sauce pan for a few minutes, add a scoop or two of creamy peanut butter, and maybe a bit more chopped cilantro leaf (sometimes I'll add a little grated ginger, sometimes not)... ...voila! ...thank you again, this dish is #1 with the fam!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      This recipe is AMAZING! I make it at least twice a month! Perfect with some steamed rice and egg rolls! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      This is one of our all-time favorite recipes. We like to camp in our travel trailer, and we always make these when we go out. If my husband saw me looking at this recipe, he would beg me to make them again today! This is definitely a keeper and in our permanent recipe file. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      Made this for a party yesterday and...What a Hit!! This was so delicious, 5lbs did not last 5 minutes after hitting the table. You made me a star. I can't wait to make this again. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      I love satay, and this is a great recipe! I used the dipping sauce recommended by Lisa and Cali. Yumm!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      Great recipe! I used steak tips that I had on hand and they were delicious! My DH is not a peanut-sauce person and even he kept diping into the sauce (link provided in the recipe introduction and on the Cooks Illustrated website). This is a sure keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      Totally yummy, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      This was an excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      Fantastic! Flavor was intense and wonderful. I didnt freeze the meat and I marinated it overnite. I didnt use skewers, just broiled it like a steak in the oven. No mushy texture at all. It was crispy on the edges, med. rare in the middle, perfect for us. I took Lisa in Cali's advice and served it with the peanut sauce, WOW! Thank you both. My husband kept going on and on about the flavor of the meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      Great recipe. I thought there wasn't really enough marinade initially, however, it seasoned the meat perfectly and was adequate. I served with Lisa in Cali's suggested peanut sauce which really put these over the top. Loved being able to broil instead of grilling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      I saw this recipe today & decided to make it for dinner tonight. I must say... it was absolutely delicious!!! I definitely will be making this again. Thanks for the great recipe! ^_^

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      Nice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      This is so delicious! I read some comments on another website and decided to try it. I can't tell you how fabulous these are. And easy. My husband and son fight over the last few skewers. The original recipe calls for a spicy peanut dipping sauce - 1/4 c. peanut butter, 2T. hot water, 2 t. soy sauce, 1 T. fresh lime juice, 1 tablespoon Asian chili sauce, 2 t. dark brown sugar, 1 small garlic clove, 2 t. cilantro leaves. This is a great addition, but not really necessary. I made these with Mean Chef's Vietnamese Chicken Salad and my entire family thinks I am a goddess!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      Delicious!! Nice and tingly, I cooked them on our indoor grill and they turned out perfect. I forgot to buy cilantro so I left it out but I don't think it made a lot of difference, they were wonderful and we will be making them again. Perfect amount of heat and a perfect combination of spice and herbs. We used the left over marinade as a dipping sauce and served them with Sichuan veggies, a great meal! Thanks for sharing one we will use all summer(and probably all winter too!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Meat Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Satay

    Serving Size: 1 (77 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 157.1
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    53%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 38.5 mg
    12%
    Sodium 368.1 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 12.8 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Asian chili sauce

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes