10 Reviews

February 10, 2012
Made this again this evening for dinner, this time I added rice to the beef mixture, it was yummy. My family really enjoys this recipe. thanks.
Nov. 4, 2008
Had this dish for supper last night, all my kids loved it, even my picky eaters.
I like the idea of adding the butter last, awesome.
This is absolutley delicious. Wouldn't change a thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michele February 11, 2012

Correction to Chef didnac''s "CORRECTION": Technically, you are right about the origins of both salpicao, and adobo. However, it does not make the way this dish is cooked any less Filipino. Just because the Spaniards, as well as many other countries colonized the country, thereby influencing just about everything within Filipino culture, does not mean that it is not Filipino.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmmitsyami November 12, 2010

CORRECTION: salpicao is not a filipino recipe. its origin is mainly from portugese. like adobo it is not a filipino recipe it's from spain. but your recipe is good , just lessen some of the ingredients quantity , like the seasoning, it is too much for a 1 pound beef , and also the salt. do not season too much or over anything.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef didnac January 10, 2009

I did a stir-fry. I cut my beef in strips and marinated for 4 hours. I omitted the salt. I used a wok to saute the beef, added the oyster sauce to plain water and added to the wok when the meat was browned. Then I added two 16 oz bags of a broccoli, cauliflower and carrot mix that was pre-thawed. I added 4 tbs of butter and heated until the veggies were warm. Finally, I added some left over rice and warmed through. It was great and I would use beef broth next time instead of water. Thanks for the previous reviews that helped me to modify to a very good meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tara Colquitt January 10, 2008

Instead of "1/4 cup liquid seasoning", use { 1-teaspn Worcestershire sauce plus 1 Tblsp steak sauce } The paprika can be eliminated.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
j34fl34 August 09, 2007

this recipe is inedible.....way too salty...I know it was the liquid seasoning 1/4 cup way too much...waste of time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
j4eric February 04, 2007

Just from reading the recipe, i find it way too salty already. please next time, make sure of the measurements if you'll be giving out recipes coz there will be someone who wouldnt know that you dont know what you're saying.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jet_802 October 31, 2006

My dh is Filipino and I am always looking for good Filipino recipes to prepare for him, so of course, I had to try this! I didn't have much meat and it was just for the 2 of us so I cut way back on the ingredients including the oyster sauce, seasoning liquid and butter. Perhaps for this reason and also because we are used to the saltiness of many Filipino foods, we did not feel it was too salty. I used a couple splashes of soy sauce in water for my liquid seasoning as wasn't sure what was intended. I did add one mushroom mostly because I wanted a veggie in it and because I had one I needed to use up. My dh's only complaint was that I did not make enough sauce. I should have known as he likes a lot of sauce with anything served with rice. I will definitely keep this recipe and make it again with more sauce. I think I'd also like to add some other vegetables.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary A. August 20, 2006

I have to agree. The idea of using paprika intrigued me, but I didn't even taste anything except for salt! I didn't even use salt in the marinade. Nice idea though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melting pot October 14, 2005

I rate this recipe a 2 because it was incredibly salty. I used 1/4 cup lite soy sauce for the "liquid seasoning" and perhaps a different ingredient was referenced. The soy sauce on top on the salt in the marinade made it overbearing. I drained off most of the sauce and added mushrooms to help neutralize the flavor. It was edible but everyone ate about two bites max. The beef was tender and perhaps with some tweaking it could be turned into something better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petite Mommy August 24, 2005
Beef Salpicao (stir-fried Garlic Beef)