Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Rolls (Rindsrouladen) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Rolls (Rindsrouladen)

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 30, 2012

      Beef Rouladen is one of my favorite German recipes and this version is very good. Made as written with a couple minor adjustments, I used 2 cups of beef broth and added 1/2 cup red wine, so I could have plenty of sauce which I thickened with a cornstarch slurry. Wonderful flavor and oh so tender. Thanks for a superb meal. Made for your win in the 2011 football pool ~ Conference Championships Week.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      Wonderful rouladen. I made them with NY steak but they came out great. Loved the gravy to go with them. Served with crispy potato wedges.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2011

      This was always my menu choice at Richter's Chalet in Dearborn. Haven't been there in years and this brought back fond memories! YUM! The rolls were tender and tasty. Served with Swiss Spaetzle (Very Easy Homemade Noodle)
      Swiss Spaetzle (Very Easy Homemade Noodle)topped with the delicious gravy, this was a great German treat. Thanks for sharing Bayhill. This will be made frequently. Made for your win in Football Week 2010 Week 12.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      Loved, loved, loved this! This is just like my MIL makes hers. I omitted the salt due to other reviewers recommendations. The only other change I made was to use bacon fat instead of shortening. I served this with Spaetzle - German and my Bean 'n Bacon. Made a wonderful German meal. Thanks Bayhill for posting. Made for "I recommend" tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2012

      Made exactly as written. As it was cooking the smell was wonderful. The end product looked wonderful but I did not care for the pickle next time I would leave that out. Made with mash potatoes and green bean casserole. Not sure if I would make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      Beef Rouladen is my family's favorite meal, so I knew this was going to be a hit. I've never used the pickles though & have been meaning to try it. We LOVED it! I can't believe we've been missing out on such a significant flavor! The preparation of this was also different than how I've always done it and I have to say I really liked it this way. I use strips of bacon and wedges of onion in each roll, but I liked the ease of rolling & the better distribution of bacon when dicing them first. Thanks for sharing your GGM's recipe, Bayhill. It's fantastic! Made & enjoyed for ZWT6 Team Xtra Hot Dishes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      DH rated this recipe 4 stars. It had too many onions for him and I cut it down to half. I made smaller rolls-ups of beef and they were very tender. The gravy was delicious. Made for the Best of 2008 Cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      What a delicious entree this is! My family ate with total concentration on who was going to finish first and get the leftovers! I did double the recipe so I could have some for later in the week, however, everyone ate more than usual because it was so good, so, so much for the leftovers! We truly enjoyed this and it will find its way back to our table again and real soon too! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

    • on June 09, 2008

      Really great beef rolls! I fried up the bacon and, instead of the shortening, used the leftover grease in which to fry the beef rolls and onions. I pounded the steaks to less than 1/4" thick, julienned slightly fewer pickle slices than called for, and reduced the sauce with a wine + Wondra (for flour) mixture at the end. The sauce was outstanding, but be careful with the use of salt as there's plenty "natural" salt from the other ingredients (bacon, pickles and beef stock). Thank you for posting this, Bayhill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      this was a really great dish...the sauce was fabulous. my rolls didnt look as pretty as all of the others but the flavor was awesome! my boyfriend liked it as well & suggested i make it again but use sauerkraut instead of the pickles which i think i will try! thanks for a great recipe! i made this for zwt4~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      This is not our normal type fare but we really enjoyed it. I did the recipe as stated using a grainy prepared mustard and hot & spicy dill pickle slices. I used about a cup of dry red wine and then them simmered down to a thick sauce which was very robust and flavourful. Next time I'll probably pound the steaks into thinner pieces and use olive oil to brown instead of shortening. Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      Bayhill, I've made rouladen many times before and this is by far the very best one I've tried. It is super, super good. I followed the recipe except I added 3 T chopped dried tomatoes in olive oil into the filling, chopped the pickles, and olive oil in place of shortening and I do believe that was a good addition. I also went very easy on cornstarch because the broth was good just the way it was - I was even debating whether to add or not and it would have been good without it. This will make super fixing for plain cooked white rice, Japanese style. Since I was using sukiyaki style beef, my slices were quite small and very, very thin, but I liked them just the same. Thank you Bayhill for posting this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2006

      OMG...this was awesome! I wish I could give it 10 stars. I did happen to have pickle slices so that saved me from slicing up a pickle.I also used vegetable oil instead of shortening. Other then, I followed the recipe and it was a great success! Will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2006

      This was enjoyed on this very hot summer day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      LOVED, LOVED, LOVED it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hadn't had this in YEARS!!!! WAS AWESOME!!!!!!!! Thank you, Bayhill!!!!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Rolls (Rindsrouladen)

    Serving Size: 1 (218 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 107.3
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    52%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 4.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 694.0 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    beef top round steak

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites