17 Reviews

Beef Rouladen is one of my favorite German recipes and this version is very good. Made as written with a couple minor adjustments, I used 2 cups of beef broth and added 1/2 cup red wine, so I could have plenty of sauce which I thickened with a cornstarch slurry. Wonderful flavor and oh so tender. Thanks for a superb meal. Made for your win in the 2011 football pool ~ Conference Championships Week.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Papa D 1946-2012 January 30, 2012

Wonderful rouladen. I made them with NY steak but they came out great. Loved the gravy to go with them. Served with crispy potato wedges.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound January 17, 2011

This was always my menu choice at Richter's Chalet in Dearborn. Haven't been there in years and this brought back fond memories! YUM! The rolls were tender and tasty. Served with Swiss Spaetzle (Very Easy Homemade Noodle)
Swiss Spaetzle (Very Easy Homemade Noodle)topped with the delicious gravy, this was a great German treat. Thanks for sharing Bayhill. This will be made frequently. Made for your win in Football Week 2010 Week 12.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn January 13, 2011

Loved, loved, loved this! This is just like my MIL makes hers. I omitted the salt due to other reviewers recommendations. The only other change I made was to use bacon fat instead of shortening. I served this with Spaetzle - German and my Bean 'n Bacon. Made a wonderful German meal. Thanks Bayhill for posting. Made for "I recommend" tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas June 25, 2008

Made this over the weekend, and if it could get more than 5 stars it would. I did leave out the salt, and the pickle. Very tender meat. Loved the gravy too. Made for a nice weekend meal. Made for your Football Pool Win.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker February 02, 2015

Made exactly as written. As it was cooking the smell was wonderful. The end product looked wonderful but I did not care for the pickle next time I would leave that out. Made with mash potatoes and green bean casserole. Not sure if I would make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 July 13, 2012

Beef Rouladen is my family's favorite meal, so I knew this was going to be a hit. I've never used the pickles though & have been meaning to try it. We LOVED it! I can't believe we've been missing out on such a significant flavor! The preparation of this was also different than how I've always done it and I have to say I really liked it this way. I use strips of bacon and wedges of onion in each roll, but I liked the ease of rolling & the better distribution of bacon when dicing them first. Thanks for sharing your GGM's recipe, Bayhill. It's fantastic! Made & enjoyed for ZWT6 Team Xtra Hot Dishes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** May 21, 2010

DH rated this recipe 4 stars. It had too many onions for him and I cut it down to half. I made smaller rolls-ups of beef and they were very tender. The gravy was delicious. Made for the Best of 2008 Cookbook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happynana March 20, 2009

What a delicious entree this is! My family ate with total concentration on who was going to finish first and get the leftovers! I did double the recipe so I could have some for later in the week, however, everyone ate more than usual because it was so good, so, so much for the leftovers! We truly enjoyed this and it will find its way back to our table again and real soon too! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BettyBoopers January 08, 2009
Beef Rolls (Rindsrouladen)