10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Ok, cubed the sirloin tip roast while slightly frozen. Coated it with salted and peppered flour. Then cooked it in oil to brown on all sides. Removed beef and added the onion, mushrooms and garlic to pan til slight brown. Added the 1/4 c.wine, 1/2 cup broth and a little worcestshire(sp?). Stirred in tomato paste. Threw it all in crockpot with the rest of the can of beef broth and another 1/2 cup wine (used Black Opal Shiraz) and bay leaf. Added in a couple baby carrots the last 2 hours of cooking. Smelled delish! Before serving I added in 4 oz. cream cheese for about 15 minutes.... spectacular! Maybe I made a new recipe??! Served over egg noodles . My mother enjoyed it and that says alot....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bertag_76 November 04, 2009

I love this Recipe and so does my family. We get it 3 1/2 stars out of 4. I chopped the Mushrooms up even though it doesn't say to I felt it was necessary.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caitlin B. May 24, 2003

This was a very easy recipe. I put it in a slow cooker and cooked it on medium for about 5 hours, but since things turn out so much jucier in the slow cooker than they do in the oven, I needed to keep adding more and more sour cream and I still could not get a good gravy out of it. I added some corn starch, and problem solved! It was excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snoog February 05, 2010

Really good. I didn't have a sirloin roast, so used a tougher cut of meat -- still great but next time I will ensure that I have the proper cut of meat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen May 24, 2009

Dilemma: what to do with a 12 lb. whole sirloin tip roast? Problem solved. This recipe is just fabulous! I increased the ingredients X 4. Christmas dinner for 12 was a total success and the leftovers were even better. Thank you for a recipe that EVERYONE wanted to copy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cjelter December 28, 2007

Love this!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starcry September 05, 2007

We loved it! I made it according to the recipe. so easy. We loved the mushrooms so much i think I will add more next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tammy dalton May 17, 2007

Denise thank you so much for sharing your amazing recipe. My family & I enjoyed this dish tremendously. It was quick and very easy to make. The thick slices of beef, were moist and tender. The sauce was perfect just perfect. We really enjoyed the blending of onion, mushroom and sour cream in the sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato June 14, 2006

My boyfriend loved it! The meat was very tender and the sauce was perfect. I didn't use sour cream since I didn't have any. So I thickened it with cornstarch and also added a bit of cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tar January 24, 2005

wow!! can't say enough good about this recipe, the taste is out of this world, DH's words. The mushroom/onion sauce was really outstanding! the roast was nice and tender, we just wished there was more of the sauce, next time I will double the liquids, the wine and broth, couldn't get enough of it. I didn't have any sour cream in so I thickened it with cornstarch, it worked just fine, served it with boiled new potatoes and carrots and celery. Great Sunday dinner, thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf August 22, 2004
Beef Roast with Portabella Mushrooms