Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Roast

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on December 15, 2002

      Oh my goodness!I actually made a delicious roast!Followed recipe to the letter!Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2002

      I add a light sprinkle of garlic powder and a light sprinkle of white pepper. For au jus...add one cup of water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2003

      I used a 2.5lb roast,cooked for 2.5 hours. I added 1 cup of beer in place of one of the 3 cups water.Plus 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder.It was great, one of the most tender beef roast I have had in a long time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      This was very good. I used a 3 lb roast and cooked for 3.5 hours. Very moist and tender. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2003

      My family loved this! The meat came out fork tender and the potatoes and carrots tasted great. I did have to add more water twice. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      This smelled so good as it was cooking but it was really bland. It didn't have much of a taste. It was like there was too much water. Next time I would cut the way back by half.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      What a mess. I halved my piece of meat and didn't have but one tiny onion. I could not remember whether I'd added celery seed to the bunch. I had a taste WAY long before it was ready, and it was tough as shoe leather (and this was a good piece of meat). I forgot it was still cooking and an hour or so later, took it out (finally), and it was incredibly moist. I plan on doing this again, but maybe paying more attention and getting it right. I will add a little more salt next time, and probably more onions than the recipe calls for, because I like onions. This is absolutely a keeper, and one I'd like to try to get right next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2006

      I made this in my crockpot, as others have suggested. This makes an absolutely TO DIE FOR gravy! I took 2 tbsp butter melted over medium heat and added approximately 2 tbsp flour and made a roux. I then added about 1 and a half cups of the hot broth from the crockpot and made a gravy. SOOO GOOD! I didn't have to add any salt or seasonings. It was perfect! Thanks MizzNezz for a great tasting recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2005

      I have made this roast at least 5 times now. It's the only way i will cook a roast now! i love the comination of flavours and how the outer edge of meat gets a sort of salty, crunchy crust and the inside is fork tender. i was a little worried about the 3 cups of water; however, it's incredible and makes some pretty incredible gravy. If i have time i do cook the vegies seperate to get the full flavour from the vegies. The only addition i've made is roasting parsnips in the pot-YUMMY! Thanks! My dad also thanks you, i made this at his house and he now has the recipe posted to use again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2005

      I actually did this in my crockpot/slow cooker because last minute we ended up having to be out for the day. The flavors were wonderful! I used a small beef roast and instead of sprinkling on the spices I rubbed them into the meat. I didn’t have any celery salt so threw in a few celery sticks chopped in thirds. I couldn’t resist adding some garlic and a splash of red wine. Marvelous! I didn’t use the potatoes and I used whole carrots, however next time I’ll wait until we get home to cook the carrots or use another veg as cooking them for the full time as the roast left them tasteless. I will make this again. Thank you MizzNezz.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      Oh, man thank you for this recipe. I was SO nervous b/c this was our Christmas dinner. We had about a 3 1/2 lb roast. I upped the salt amount (about 1 1/2 tsp seasoning salt), reduced the parsley (about 1/2 tsp dried) & no celery seed. I also used about 2 cups of water & reduced the amount of vegges only because I didn't have a lot of room around the roast. I baked it for about 3 hours, then added 1 potato (cut into large wedges) & baby carrots. Cooked it for about 1 more hour, then let it rest, covered, for about 1/2 hour. I DID use the drippings to make a gravy, which I'd never done, but it worked well. I cooked the roast w/ the fat side down. The taters were amazing! Thank you so much!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      Meat was very tender. Just needed a bit more spice...so I added paprika. mmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      Amazingly perfect! Hubby declared it a do-over, which is high praise in this house! Thx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      Very good roast. I made this last week and we ate the whole thing in one sitting. I will use this recipe from now on for my roasts. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      Left out the parsley, celery seed, thyme and basil. Excellent pot roast flavor without the herbs. Used 1 t. beef bouillon to season gravy instead of salt. Used Bisto (British gravy maker) to thicken gravy instead of flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      Excellent! I didn't have celery seeds so I just left that out. I was out of onions so instead I put about 1 tsp of onion powder in the water around the roast. Everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      I have made this several times now and each time it has been equally delicious. thanks for posting, my family thanks you as well

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2006

      Very tasty, easy to prep' and was fork tender. This is a really good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2004

      Absoloutly wonderful! I cut the recipe in half and used a 2 lb roast. Soo tasty and the meat was so tender! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (703 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 964.5
     
    Calories from Fat 536
    55%
    Total Fat 59.5 g
    91%
    Saturated Fat 24.0 g
    120%
    Cholesterol 208.6 mg
    69%
    Sodium 604.0 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.0 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 6.1 g
    24%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 60.6 g
    121%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites