Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Pot Roast (Pot, Oven or Slow Cooker) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Pot Roast (Pot, Oven or Slow Cooker)

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2012

      As the author states, there are lots of pot roast recipes out there ...but this one is special. I agree wholeheartedly. I cooked the roast in the oven covered for about 3 hours after sticking it with about 3 cloves of garlic, searing it in bacon fat for about 5 minutes, sauteeing 1/2 large onion and several more cloves of garlic, then adding about 1 cup red wine, 2/3 qt beef broth, 2 cloves, 2 bay leaves, 1 tbs dried parsley & 1/2 tsp ground coriander. I then followed the remainder of the recipe without any variation. Absolutely delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      This was a good warm crockpot recipe for a cold day. We followed the ingredients per recipe. It cooked about 6 hours on high and was perfectly done. Made for PRMR.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2014

      Bland and the meat wasn't tender like when I do pulled pork. Probably only 4 hours on high would've sufficed, but I still found it bland. Maybe stuffed with garlic like others have done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2014

      I followed the recipe as it is printed, although I marinated the roast over night in the liquid ingredients in a plastic Ziploc bag, in the fridge, but added a small amount of soy sauce and a small amount of onion and garlic powder. Turned out fall apart tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2014

      Wow! One of the most delicious meals I've made this far. I followed this recipe and it was really easy. Of course the cook always seasons to taste. A little more of this and that and wala a meal fit for a queen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2013

      Delicious, my best pot roast ever! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2013

      I made this in the crockpot and I loved how easy it was. My one year old gobbled it up, especially the vegetables (which she usualy won't eat!). The gravy is definitely needed, as the beef dries out pretty quickly. I had to add an extra teaspoon or so of beef bouillon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      Best pot roast recipe I've ever had. I made it with sweet potatoes, carrots, onions, celery plus put peels from two kiwis on the meat while cooking (tenderizer) discarding later before making gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      This recipe worked out so well for me. I've never cooked it before and my family loved it. The instructions were easy to follow and played to the fact that I don't want to spend all day in the kitchen. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

    • on May 04, 2011

      Delicious! Great recipe and I would not have thought of sweet potatoes. I put some in and really enjoyed the change from regular potatoes. (I did put in the red potatoes for those who don't care for sweet)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      My family really liked this recipe. It was easy and flavorful. I made it in the slow cooker. I cooked it on high for six hours. I didn't add any extra salt, as I thought the beef bullion was salty enough. I used baby red potatoes. Next time, I'll add more--we like potatoes. I also didn't make the gravy, but will try it next time around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      Yum! This was my first attempt at making beef pot roast in a dutch oven. I have only ever cooked it in a Crock Pot. I followed your directions for oven cooking and am very pleased with the results. It was delicious--moist & tender beef, perfectly cooked vegetables and rich gravy. Thank you for sharing this keeper of a recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      This roast came out so moist and tender with a deep flavor! The boullion and seasonings added give this tons of flavor. Made with a 3lb roast and baby red potatoes so added about 1 1/4 lbs since they were small. I made this on the stove top, but this will be made again and I think next time in the crockpot. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      This came out so delicious and tender! The only veggie I put in was an onion as I made Waikiki Meatballs to go on the side. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      My whole family LOVED this recipe. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      This was delicious! I did substitute the water with a small can of tomato sauce. And I used the bouillon you scoop out of a jar. Other than that, I followed it exactly. It was SO much better than the mixes we've been using!!

      Thanks for a delicious recipe!!

      Eta...Just a few other notes. I often do not do the first step. I just throw it in a dutch oven along with small red potatoes, one whole onion and baby carrots...I double the seasonings and add them to a 15 oz can of tomato sauce and pour that over everything. (after peppering, putting on meat tenderizer, onion powder and garlic powder on the roast.) I cook at 350 for about an hour and a half. I check it with a meat thermometer at that time, and take it out when the meat is at about 135 degrees farenheit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      I can't believe I haven't rated this one yet. I'm pretty sure it was the first or second Zaar recipe I ever tried. I have made and enjoyed it several times since then and have declared it my official roast beef recipe. Up until tonight, I had left out the basil, and it was just fine. I made it with basil tonight, and my husband liked it. It was good, but I think I prefer the simplicity of the seasonings without it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      This was the most wonderful, tender potroast! I did a 4lb roast and it took 2 hours. The gravy was SO easy and tasty! I made it with yorkshire puddings and honeyed carrots. My 3 year old daughter and boyfriend went on and on about how great it all was :) Thanks for a great recipe, it is definitely going into my regular rotation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      This was perfect. I have tried to make a good tender juicy pot roast. I made a couple of changes, i did not add the beef cubes but I added garlic and onion flakes. I used the oven method, and in a cast iron skillet i cooked the potatoes, onions and carrots for 30 minutes and then threw it in the pot in the oven for an additional hour. I would take a picture but there was not a morsel left. Wonderful wonderful wonderful wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Pot Roast (Pot, Oven or Slow Cooker)

    Serving Size: 1 (310 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 317.1
     
    Calories from Fat 93
    29%
    Total Fat 10.3 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 108.5 mg
    36%
    Sodium 193.4 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    13%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 37.7 g
    75%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes