11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loved this! So flavorful and delicious! Not even sure how it could be bland at all. All we changed was added a little bit of Penzy's greek seasoning because we read about the bland comments. Next time I might up the orzo to 1.5 cups too, but overall will definitely make again and again. Great for a cold night or just easy weeknight meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LCorp November 08, 2013

I thought that it was good but bland. After I tryed it I added some garlic salt and meat seasoning. Then it tasted better. My kids loved it. I like trying new things but my kids are a little scared to try new things. Next time I am going to try putting in a little bit of feta cheese also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tmhaendel August 09, 2012

This is a great recipe! I added cannellini beans as others suggested. I think I'll try this recipe with feta cheese next time. Overall, our family enjoyed this dish and the leftovers were even more tasty! Thanks for posting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saracho February 17, 2012

This is my go-to dinner for week nights. I made mine without Spinach and Tomato and it turned out delicious. I topped with fresh Parsley and grated Pecorino Romano. It's a dangerous dish... as in too easy to eat too much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wineo September 22, 2011

I love this easy dish! I made some changes, but think it would be good either way. I used ground turkey and chicken broth, I also adjusted the amount of meat and added some cannellini beans as suggested by another reviewer, and added some sliced mushrooms. I did need to add a bit more water to cook the pasta properly. Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Reader October 04, 2010

Delicious and very easy! My kids and I loved it. The only changes I made were, I used fresh spinach instead of frozen, and beef bouillon, instead of broth. This easy dish is a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m.dugdale8027 March 10, 2010

We just tried this tonight. I think this is a real easy recipe that is quick to make and can be switched up to whatever a person prefers. We followed everything with the exception of orzo - we added only four ounces and then one can of canellini beans. I found the beef stock was just too pungent. I am thinking next time we make this, I will use vegetable stock. Also, I found the canellini beans a great texture and would like to sub them next time entirely by using two cans instead of the orzo. I could see this to easily be converted vegetarian or ground turkey. Another great idea would be to use feta instead of parm. I believe this is a great template and will be in our dinner rotation. Thanks for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smilyn January 31, 2010

I totally forget to write this review and share the photos. Thought I did already. This was a great flavorful meal. So quick to put together. When the hamburger was cooking I added salt, pepper and garlic salt. I didn't add all the chopped spinach, it seemed just a bit too much for me. I probably added about 1/2 the box if that. I too only used 1/2 of a large onion. Thanks for the post of this recipe Matthew.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny June 07, 2009

This was a good, hearty, low fat meal! We used 1/2 of a large onion, 2 Tablespoons of fresh oregano, and frozen spinach. The only significant change we would make would be to add more seasoning to the ground beef and onions while they brown, as we thought that the meat still tasted like plain ground beef in the final dish. Also, we thought this might be good with fet cheese mixed in. A very good dish overall, thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH May 01, 2009

My husband and I are vegetarian and I made this with "Morning star" veggie crumbles sausage style and it was fantastic! Really easy! Didn't really have to "brown" the meat since it's already cooked, but I did so anyway but with a bit of olive oil since it has no fat. It turned out great. I will definatly add this to my vegetarian recipe collection!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Spearjack November 05, 2006
Beef & Orzo Mediterranean Style