Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef of Eye-Round Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef of Eye-Round Roast

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on January 09, 2007

      REALLY?!?!?!?!? OMGosh. I had a 2.5 lb roast on a Tuesday night that I was looking for something to do with. I must admit, I was not expecting anything fantastic, and did not want to make a trip to the grocery store, so I had some subs. I didn't have Au Jus mix, so I used an Onion Soup Powder. I didn't have a rack that fit my pan, so I set the roast onto of halved onions. (Actually, I think this made for some great broth!). I cooked mine at 325 for 1 hour and 15 minutes. I took it out when my thermometer read "Rare" and as the roast rested for 10 minutes, it seemed to continue to cook... but it came out PERFECTLY pink on the inside with an incredible taste. DH likes his meat "DONE" while I like mine "RARE"... and this was a PERFECT blend for both of us. This is one of my new Top 10. Thank you so much... this will be served the next time we have guests. What an unexpected treat!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2014

      I had used part of my roast for another recipe, only had 1.4 lbs. Cooked for 55 min. and it was perfect. Loved the sauce to go with it. Served with scalloped potatoes and caramelized sourdough biscuits. YUM.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

    • on April 09, 2013

      This is a keeper! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2012

      This was a good roast, we liked it a lot. We found the AJus to be a bit salty has well, so I had to water/wine it down to our taste. Everything else turned out really well and made a great Sunday dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      Loved the flavors. I had fresh herbs in the garden so I used them instead of the dried. I used the other reviewers' suggestions for skillet searing and using onions as the roasting rack. My roast wasn't as tender as my usual recipe cooked at 275 degrees 40 minutes per pound so I will probably adjust it next time. I chose this recipe for the flavors and the gravy and they were delicious. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      I Loved the way this came out. It was fantastic! I'll definately be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      Can't believe that I haven't rated this recipe yet! I make this often with no substitutions. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      Loved it!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      I really liked this. The leftovers were even better. Went with grape juice instead of the wine as I didn't have any. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      WOW! This is so so so good! I agree with a few others, I thought it would be a lot of work but it really was not and it came out perfectly. Amazing flavor! I paired it with mashed potatoes and broccoli. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      OMG! This recipe is fantastic. The best roast beef I have ever made. The gravy is awesome! Yummy with mashed sweet potates. You don't have touse au jus mix. You can make your own. Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      AWESOME!!!!!!! At first I thought this would be too much work but after carfeully reading the instructions I decided to make it. I'm glad I did because my entire family loved it. I will definitely make it again. Thank you for sharing this recipe, its full of yummy flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      Outrageously delicious, especially when served with roasted asparagus (asparagus, olive oil, salt, pepper).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      Great recipe. I also used onion wedges to support my roast. They gave the added flavor to the au jus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      Mmmmm. Our roast was very flavorful. I used a can of beef broth instead of water and au jux mix. Then I blended the other ingredients together before pouring over the roast. Folks might want to use their own judgement with regards to the mustard. If you don't like mustard all that much then consider reducing it. We like it and used the recommended amount. However, next time I think I will try preheating the oven to 500 degrees to sear the outside then add the other ingredients and reduce to 325 to cook. It might cut down on the number of dishes to wash that way. Thanks for submitting this recipe. We'll be enjoying this gem again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      This was my 1st attempt at making an eye of round roast. I was a bit afraid of this recipe because of the list of ingredients and the number of steps but I bucked up and decided to try it anyway. Overall I thought it was great. If I had it to do over, I would probably omit the mustard, but leave everything else as is. The done-ness came out perfectley cooked with an hour and a half cook time and 10mins resting. We had over half of the roast left (for our family of 4) so we chopped it up in our slow cooker the next day for chili. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      This was great! I made it for my parents when they came over and we all loved it. I also had no Tarragon, but it was still awesome. I was a little afraid at first because it seems like a really long recipe, but it was not bad at all! Pretty easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      I had actually never heard of this roast before, and saw it at my local grocers, meat department, meat counter. When I saw it the color was the most beautiful red, I had to purchase it. When I got home I did a search for the meat and found this recipe. When I made it, I did get alittle scared frying it in the olive oil, but it was so worth it. This meat tasted like a steak from the finest resturant. I did research in this meat and found that it is known to be tough, but it was the total opposite. One tip I would like to share is to cook to rarest temp, take out, then cook to desired tempature in microwave. That way, whenever you decide to have the leftovers (if there are any), you can take it from the fridge to the microwave and cook it to desired tempature without it being tough or overcooked. In short, Definitly a five star recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      Very tasty meat! I did have au jus mix, and it added so much flavor. The only spice I did not have was the tarragon. Other then that I used all the ingredients and it was super delicious!! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef of Eye-Round Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (256 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 532.3
     
    Calories from Fat 114
    21%
    Total Fat 12.7 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 201.4 mg
    67%
    Sodium 7656.4 mg
    319%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 80.0 g
    160%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites