47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

REALLY?!?!?!?!? OMGosh. I had a 2.5 lb roast on a Tuesday night that I was looking for something to do with. I must admit, I was not expecting anything fantastic, and did not want to make a trip to the grocery store, so I had some subs. I didn't have Au Jus mix, so I used an Onion Soup Powder. I didn't have a rack that fit my pan, so I set the roast onto of halved onions. (Actually, I think this made for some great broth!). I cooked mine at 325 for 1 hour and 15 minutes. I took it out when my thermometer read "Rare" and as the roast rested for 10 minutes, it seemed to continue to cook... but it came out PERFECTLY pink on the inside with an incredible taste. DH likes his meat "DONE" while I like mine "RARE"... and this was a PERFECT blend for both of us. This is one of my new Top 10. Thank you so much... this will be served the next time we have guests. What an unexpected treat!!!!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKillian24 January 09, 2007

I had used part of my roast for another recipe, only had 1.4 lbs. Cooked for 55 min. and it was perfect. Loved the sauce to go with it. Served with scalloped potatoes and caramelized sourdough biscuits. YUM.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound February 12, 2014

This is a keeper! Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JollyJumper2000 April 09, 2013

This was a good roast, we liked it a lot. We found the AJus to be a bit salty has well, so I had to water/wine it down to our taste. Everything else turned out really well and made a great Sunday dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly in TO June 10, 2012

Loved the flavors. I had fresh herbs in the garden so I used them instead of the dried. I used the other reviewers' suggestions for skillet searing and using onions as the roasting rack. My roast wasn't as tender as my usual recipe cooked at 275 degrees 40 minutes per pound so I will probably adjust it next time. I chose this recipe for the flavors and the gravy and they were delicious. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fluffystew January 08, 2012

I Loved the way this came out. It was fantastic! I'll definately be making this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smileybug August 24, 2010

Can't believe that I haven't rated this recipe yet! I make this often with no substitutions. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka June 23, 2010

Loved it!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pitbullmommy December 05, 2009

I really liked this. The leftovers were even better. Went with grape juice instead of the wine as I didn't have any. Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
svv17 October 17, 2009
Beef of Eye-Round Roast