Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Machaca Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Machaca

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2010

      Nothing too spectacular.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      Such a welcome change from plain old tacos! I forgot the salsa both times I've made this and it's still delicious. Served in tortillas or hard shells with cheddar cheese, rice and sour cream. We are salt sensitive and only used 1 beef bullion cube.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      Very Good. Ate on flour tortillas, think I will make taquitos with this next time...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      WILDLY exceeded my (already very high) expectations! Hubbyman finished the recipe while I'd been kept late at work, and forgot to add the salsa to the shredded beef mixture, and it was STILL deliciously moist and flavorful. I think we'll make it that way on purpose next time to open up the possibilities even more - we had terrific beef sandwiches and awesome tacos, and I'm already envisioning the wonderful breakfast burritos and enchiladas, etc., etc., ad infinitum! THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      This was a very flavorful beef, very tender. I did not have adobo seasoning and am trying not to accumulate spices and herbs I use infrequently so instead I just looked at this recipe for dry adobo seasoning, "Dry Adobo Seasoning (Adobo Seco)" and used garlic, mexican oregano, cumin and a bit of saffron in the crockpot. Did everything else just as written. This is wonderful. I love it and so does husband. DS is not sold on it but he's very picky. I didn't freeze any of what I made but may do so in the future. It makes a ton.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      This one is so good! Even my super picky 4yo loved it. I used the adobo seasoning recipe that someone posted in their review. We made leftovers into egg burritos for breakfast and they were to die for. Can't wait to make enchiladas out of the rest. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      Doubled the ingredients as my beef was about 2 lbs or so. Came out very good with tons of flavor. Husband said it wasn't spicy enough for him but I thought that it was perfect. Made for Tex Mex / Mexico / Southwest region for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Delicioso! This is soooo tasty - it is to die for. My family devoured it! An extra bonus was that it was extremely simple to prepare. I made this on one of my long work days. I put it in the crockpot in the morning and my husband shredded and served it to the children in the evening while I was still at work. They enjoyed it so much that I was grateful that they saved me some. Thanks Sue L. You have a winner with this recipe! Made for ZWT5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      Great! And easy too! I love that I can throw it all in a crock pot and then get more than one meal out of it. DH and step-son used it for hard shell tacos, I used a soft shell. Both were great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      It was very nice! I gotta tell you, I wasn't sure how the dry mustard would work in this recipe. But it was a nice subtle addition. I used 1 teaspoon of onion powder instead of the raw onion. I didn't use the salsa because the the shredded meat stood on it's own without it. I used Penzey's Adobo Seasoning. It doesn't make 6 to 8 servings though. More like 4. The meat reduces a lot makes about 3 cups when done. Husband said it was a keeper! I'm making another batch tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      Awsome! I had some frozen sliced beef that I wanted to use up so I put it in the crock pot with some tomato soup and cooked it down then shredded it with the food processor and put it back in the crock with this sauce for chims, The kids loved it for dinner! & It was self serve ( as I didn't fry the chims) which is great at our house with all the sports and activities Thanks!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      I can't believe I forgot to review this!!! We really liked this. It makes a great filling for chimichangas, burritos, tacos--you name it! It's easy to make a big batch in the crockpot (not to mention smelling fabulous while it cooks), and then freeze it in smaller packages for later use. If you can't find adobo seasoning at the store, you can order it from Penzey's spices--they have a nice adobo blend. I use Pace medium salsa with cilantro for the salsa, and a little broth instead of boullion (too salty). Thanks for posting, Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      I have made this recipe about 5 times now with awesome results. I've used varying qualities of salsa (store brand -> freshly prepared). I've had much better results with the fresh style salsa. I used the following modifications: adjusted seasoning quantity based on size of roast, used wet bouillon paste, added 1/2 cup water. After i shredded the meat, i simmered it in a pot for awhile. For leftovers, i have wrapped in tortillas, topping with shredded cheese and roasted onions & red pepper--wrapped in parchment and frozen in freezer bags. I reheat for quick lunch at work with great results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      I doubled this recipe, and it was by far the best shredded beef for tacos, burritos and enchiladas. This time, my daughter made enchiladas with it and it was a huge hit. I had to make some changes due to not having every ingredient needed on hand. didn't have enough powdered mustard, so added about 2 tsp. yellow mustard. I only had 1 can of chopped green chilis so added one Chipotle chile, chopped with a little of the sauce. I used 4 tsp. of Knorr beef boullion granules replacing the boullion cubes. I had no Adobo so I added 1 tsp. salt and about 1/2 tsp. of cumin, which are ingredients in Adobo. Because of the addition of the chipotle pepper, there were a couple of folks that considered it too spicy; most raved about it. Next time I prepare this, I will make certain I have the exact ingredients called for to please everybody's palates. You've got a winner here, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      Flavors in this were great. Thank you for sharing! I added 1/2 c. of water in addition to the other ingredients just to be sure it didn't dry up while I was at work. I might try another cut of meat for the next batch. I found the chuck roast fatty.. not my favorite cut of meat. The 1.5lb roast didn't yield any more than a soft taco dinner for 3. Too bad, because I was looking forward to trying it in eggs...8(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      Great machaca that was as good, if not better than my favorite Mexican restaurant. My roast was about 2 pounds and was done in about 8 hours. I didn't have adobo seasoning, so I just added salt and cumin to the pot. We had this in soft tacos for Saturday night dinner, and mixed with scrambled eggs the next day for Sunday morning brunch. The leftovers were mixed with refried beans and became burritos for DH's work lunches the following week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      This was really really good. I didn't have adobo seasoning but I did put cumin, salt and garlic. I used a pressure cooker for 1 hour and it was awesome. It is really great meat for enchiladas, tacos, burritos, or as a torta. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      the only things I changed were to use onion powder instead of onions ( my boyfriend doens't eat onions), and I used " Old El Paso Mexican Style Sauce -ROJO"..this is new & was great. I used all of the pot juices and it was terrific! I am making this with pork tonight

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      My husband (who is a picky eater) and I loved this recipe. I did everything except I forgot to add the salsa at the end. I am sure it would be just as tasty. I did add 1/2 cup of water and 2 tsp of the adobo seasoning. When it was done cooking I shredded it and then added the meat to the juices in the crockpot. Here is the adobo seasoning recipe that I used: 3 Tbsp. salt 1 Tbsp. onion power 1 Tbsp. garlic powder 1 Tbsp. black pepper 1/2 tsp. oregano 1/2 tsp. chili powder 1/2 tsp. cumin ENJOY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      I made this recipe exactly as it was laid out. The meat was tender, however was not spicy enough for our family. I would suggest adding 1 additional cans of chilis and 3 tablespoons of red pepper or chili powder for a spicy version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Machaca

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 197.6
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    33%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 75.0 mg
    25%
    Sodium 693.1 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 25.8 g
    51%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    adobo seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites