29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Nothing too spectacular.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IndyEater July 07, 2010

Such a welcome change from plain old tacos! I forgot the salsa both times I've made this and it's still delicious. Served in tortillas or hard shells with cheddar cheese, rice and sour cream. We are salt sensitive and only used 1 beef bullion cube.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wanna swap recipes? February 06, 2010

Very Good. Ate on flour tortillas, think I will make taquitos with this next time...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Married-to-a-Desi October 27, 2009

WILDLY exceeded my (already very high) expectations! Hubbyman finished the recipe while I'd been kept late at work, and forgot to add the salsa to the shredded beef mixture, and it was STILL deliciously moist and flavorful. I think we'll make it that way on purpose next time to open up the possibilities even more - we had terrific beef sandwiches and awesome tacos, and I'm already envisioning the wonderful breakfast burritos and enchiladas, etc., etc., ad infinitum! THANK YOU!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzymommy August 14, 2009

This was a very flavorful beef, very tender. I did not have adobo seasoning and am trying not to accumulate spices and herbs I use infrequently so instead I just looked at this recipe for dry adobo seasoning, "Dry Adobo Seasoning (Adobo Seco)" and used garlic, mexican oregano, cumin and a bit of saffron in the crockpot. Did everything else just as written. This is wonderful. I love it and so does husband. DS is not sold on it but he's very picky. I didn't freeze any of what I made but may do so in the future. It makes a ton.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ July 11, 2009

This one is so good! Even my super picky 4yo loved it. I used the adobo seasoning recipe that someone posted in their review. We made leftovers into egg burritos for breakfast and they were to die for. Can't wait to make enchiladas out of the rest. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slingmama July 07, 2009

Doubled the ingredients as my beef was about 2 lbs or so. Came out very good with tons of flavor. Husband said it wasn't spicy enough for him but I thought that it was perfect. Made for Tex Mex / Mexico / Southwest region for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Virginia Cherry Blossom May 16, 2009

Delicioso! This is soooo tasty - it is to die for. My family devoured it! An extra bonus was that it was extremely simple to prepare. I made this on one of my long work days. I put it in the crockpot in the morning and my husband shredded and served it to the children in the evening while I was still at work. They enjoyed it so much that I was grateful that they saved me some. Thanks Sue L. You have a winner with this recipe! Made for ZWT5

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acerast May 12, 2009

Great! And easy too! I love that I can throw it all in a crock pot and then get more than one meal out of it. DH and step-son used it for hard shell tacos, I used a soft shell. Both were great! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynn in CO March 30, 2009

It was very nice! I gotta tell you, I wasn't sure how the dry mustard would work in this recipe. But it was a nice subtle addition. I used 1 teaspoon of onion powder instead of the raw onion. I didn't use the salsa because the the shredded meat stood on it's own without it. I used Penzey's Adobo Seasoning. It doesn't make 6 to 8 servings though. More like 4. The meat reduces a lot makes about 3 cups when done. Husband said it was a keeper! I'm making another batch tomorrow!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bpixley March 21, 2009
Beef Machaca