Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef, Macaroni and Tomato Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef, Macaroni and Tomato Casserole

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on September 11, 2009

      Great recipe! Hubby, who is not a big macaroni hamburger casserole fan, said it was the best he's ever had and that's saying something since I think I've tried them all. This is definitely a keeper and on my regular rotation. Only thing I did differently was use a bit more then a lb of hamburger Xlean and so I used a 14 oz can of tomato sauce as well. Thanks for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2014

      Definitely a keeper. My wife and daughter loved it the first time and we are having it again tonight. Was looking for something close to what my mother made many years ago in Ohio, and saw this one which is very close.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2013

      Exactly what we were craving! Yummy. Hard to stop at just one helping. I'm sure the leftovers will freeze well for lunches. I didn't have dried basil or oregano so used a Italian seasoning mix. Easy meal with a tossed salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      A great winter dish! Must double or perhaps even triple tomato sauce for a juicy casserole. Also add a dash or two of cayenne (red) pepper and paprika for added flavor. Use a heaping teaspoon of basil and oregano as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2012

      I used bowtie pasta and added 15 ounces of tomato sauce instead of the 8 ounces. Other then that I followed the recipe. This was real tasty. We all enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2012

      Made this today with an additional 14.5 oz can of stewed tomatoes as I felt it needed a flavor boost and did not have enough tomato as written. Added a dash of cayenne, a dash of piment d'esplet, (fancy chili powder) and used top-flight parmesan cheese - no green tube for me. Tasty, but not a dish I will repeat often, probably will reserve this for when we have our teenage nieces come for a visit. I prefer a bit more sophisticated sort of food for our palates. Does make a lot, and freezes well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2012

      Lovely and delicious! Can't go wrong here with filling food that keeps them coming back for more! I used a 15 oz. can of tomato sauce and also a little extra water. I used radiatore (little ruffles) pasta because I had it, and we thought it made the casserole more interesting than elbow mac. Next time I might layer some mozzarella cheese in the middle of the dish as well as on top. Thanks for a yummy dinner - and the kids did adore it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2012

      We really really enjoyed this. I cut in in half for our lunch but I did add an extra can of tomato sauce and some tomato paste. I also added some corn (which I had left over) and put a layer of cheese (low fat) between the mixture...DH is ready to have this again. Thank you for posting. Made for National Tomato Month...Diabetic Cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2012

      This was the best hamburger (or, rather, in my case vegetarian crumbles) casserole I've ever tasted. BF made it and he also ate some of the leftovers as well. Usually he let's me take the leftovers to lunch the next day but he made sure he took some as well. Thanks Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2012

      I doubled this. Used about 36 ounces of tomato sauce - plain. So it was only macaroni, beef, tomato sauce and cheese (used a mix of cheddar and italian - emptied out a few open bags in the fridge). Cooked in a big lasagna pan. Yum. Easy. Can't beat it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

      Hearty casserole and easy to make. I followed advice from some of the other reviewers and added an extra small can of tomato sauce, a little more of the macaroni, basil, and oregano - and used sharp cheddar cheese instead of mozzeralla and parmesan. Yummy! My husband loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      Really kid friendly. Leftovers are good too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      This wasn't as good as I thought it would be. It reminded me of jazzed up Hamburger Helper. I'm not fond of HH at all and would never feed it to my kiddos. So, this was just ok. I probably won't make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      great comfort dish! used penne, and the canned toms with herbs same with sauce.Next time will add more garlic and mushrooms and fresh italian parsley. I put a thick layer of mozza on top and parmesan and turned on the broiler to get bubbly and golden after 20mins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      I made this recipe on 9/18/09 for mine and SO's dinner.I followed the recipe as it was written. But I did assemble it a bit different, instead of using a 9 x 13 inch pan a 8x 12 inch pan was used and half of the mixture was added and covered it with some sliced provolone the added the rest of pasta mixture and covered it with mozzarella and parmesan to the top.Since we like our cheese a bit on the golden side, it was baked for about 30 minutes.I do think however if this is made again, I'm going to add a bit more tomato sauce it didn't seem to be " saucy " enough. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      This casserole was fantastic! Much tastier than any other macaroni and beef casseroles I've tried. I made it exactly as written -- and we all loved it. I've already made a second batch and brought it over to my son's house -- he also commented on how great it was. Thanks for posting this terrific recipe, Sue.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      Well, this is pretty much what I remembered from my childhood - my mum's version of hamburger helper. It's good, but not great food, as was all my mum's cooking. I probably would have rated it a 3 - but my Scottish husband ate 3 helpings, so I had to rate it higher. No telling about those Scottish men, you can serve them great gourmet food, and they turn up their noses - but this he found delicious!!!! Truthfully, though, I liked it too! Thanks Sue for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      I just made this recipe for dinner and followed the instructions exactly as written. Fantastic stuff! Reminds me of my grandpa's "goulash", only with more flavor. The amount of oregano and basil is perfect. That, along with the garlic, makes the whole house smell wonderful. Thanks for posting! :~)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      Easy and delicious. A great basic baked pasta dish. I doubled the tomato sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      I really liked the flavor of this casserole. I had a bunch of tomatoes that needed to be used so I subbed those for the canneded diced tomatoes. It did turn out a bit dry, either because it really needs more tomato sauce or because I added too much macaroni. Next time I will try a larger can of tomato sauce. Either way the flavor is great and this one is a keeper! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef, Macaroni and Tomato Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (364 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 675.6
     
    Calories from Fat 243
    36%
    Total Fat 27.0 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 13.3 g
    66%
    Cholesterol 124.0 mg
    41%
    Sodium 1265.0 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.1 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 8.9 g
    35%
    Protein 47.9 g
    95%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites