Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Liver and Onions With White Wine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Liver and Onions With White Wine

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on January 06, 2010

      I HATE LIVER!!! But... this was delicious! The wine sauce was fabulous and mixed with the liver and onions was spectacular. You might want to double the sauce because you'll want extra for your potatoes or pasta. Also, I had fried up the liver in bacon fat instead of the butter and oil. YUM! I may be eating liver just a wee bit more nowadays!! Thanks...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2013

      The sauce is what makes this dish. To make the sauce a little more liquid in order to add the liver as a compliment to a dish instead of the main course you can increase the amount of beef stock by 50% while keeping everything else constant.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2001

      Tasty dish, I used lambs fry instead of the beef. The wine gave it a nice flavour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2012

      Four stars because sauce took forever to make. Should say something about that in the description. That being said, it was delicious! Made a double batch, meat and sauce and family loved it. Saving it to My Cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2012

      Very, VERY tasty! I used red wine because that is what I had on hand. I made it for DH's birthday dinner and he devoured it!
      Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      This was wonderful! Liver has never tasted so good! I followed the recipe exactly. I was looking for some good recipes to up my iron intake, and this one was perfect. I served it with rice and fruit salad (since Vitamin C increases iron absorption).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      That's a great recipe that I would highly recommend. I think it would be a good way to cook chicken livers too. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

    • on August 06, 2009

      Great recipe! This was as good of a beef liver and onion recipe as I've ever had. I made two slight changes. I substituted calf liver and dry vermouth. It certainly was a keeper though that I'm quite happy to now have.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      This was amazing. I have always been a fan over liver, but this was hands down the best. Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      I have made this recipe twice and the results are consistent and truly outstanding. I would have never imagined getting requests for liver! I have omitted the sage the second time around, as I find the flavour of it in this dish too obvious and even overwhelming (keeping in mind I'm not a fan of the herb to begin with:). Thank you for a lovely recipe. It is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      I'm not a huge liver fan but this recipe is excellent. The sauce really makes it. I even overcooked the liver slightly but the sauce pulled it off. Great recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      My husband's favorite dish is liver and onions. He said this was the BEST ever!! Better than restaurant and (shhh, don't tell anyone) his mother's!! Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      I've always liked liver and onions, but my husband wasn't a fan....until this recipe. The first time we made it, he said I should have used two pounds of liver instead of one! This recipe could make a liver-lover out of anyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2005

      For years I massacred my liver byt cooking it too long - Just pink is just right! It is cooked through but lovely and tender. The sage adds a nice flavor accent and the beef stock enhances the liver's flavor. Now don't laugh, but I didn't want to open a bottle of wine tonight so I used Vodka - wonderful Thanks Gay No wonder you like liver using this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Liver and Onions With White Wine

    Serving Size: 1 (549 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 957.8
     
    Calories from Fat 315
    32%
    Total Fat 35.1 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 16.4 g
    82%
    Cholesterol 1507.3 mg
    502%
    Sodium 1045.7 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 111.5 g
    223%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites