23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I loved this dish, too. Creamy, slightly tangy, spicy (but not overly so) and rich-yum. Very easy to put together and both prep and cooking times were accurate. Definitely not boring meat and potatoes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea December 02, 2003

A definite favorite! I've made it twice now and my family just loves it. We've only just recently started experiencing Indian cuisine and we love it. The only kheema dish we've tried before had more of a tomato base to it, and it was good, but we prefer this one. Next time I might add some cauliflower and have sort of a kheema/aloo gobi mix. Yum! Thanks, Jane, for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angel91805 February 03, 2012

I made this as directed for a party. I used yogurt. This is great! and surprisingly several of the kids liked it too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pansregnig December 31, 2009

I was looking for a one-dish meal that was a little different than my usual chili-mac. I was a little leery with this one because I have made some disastrous Indian meals, but I am thrilled that I went for it. I pretty much followed exactly and added Greek yogurt and 1% milk. I cut up the potatoes pretty small due to the other reviewers saying it took longer to get them done and it took the exact time that it stated. My whole family loved this! I will be making this often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nsomniak6 September 22, 2009

Quite good. The lemon juice gives it a nice twist, together with all the spices. Only didn't have peas, that I am sure would have been a very nice addition. I believe it would be great with cubbed instead of ground meat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsKette August 24, 2009

My boyfriend is Indian and his mom fixes Beef Keema frequently. This was my first attempt at an Indian dish and it turned out just perfect. I did a mix of ground beef and ground turkey and drained the fat, which I shouldn't have done because it wasn't as soupy as his Auntie's or his mom's. Despite being drier than it should have been, it was delicious. I need to learn how to make chapathi, but since I haven't yet learned, we used naan bought from the store with which to eat it. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jules #4 July 01, 2009

Everyone in my house loved it except for me. I thought was alright. So we had to settle for 4 stars. I followed the recipe to a T. It was easy and good. I will probably make again because everyone else liked it so much. THANK YOU.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 March 28, 2009

I've tried and review about 160 recipes at Zaar and THIS is my favorite. The flavors just sing to me - and in in new language. I love that it freezes and reheats beautifully. Perfect degree of spicyness served to a diverse group of people. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Salesgirl January 08, 2009

after reading the reviews i tried it...no one in my house liked it..it was too bland...i will never try this again !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sara.syed December 29, 2008

This was very good. In addition to the fresh ginger I added in a spoon of ginger paste. I also didn't add in the cinnamon or the fresh cilantro.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ummrabiah December 09, 2008
Beef Keema