Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Keema Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Keema

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2003

      I loved this dish, too. Creamy, slightly tangy, spicy (but not overly so) and rich-yum. Very easy to put together and both prep and cooking times were accurate. Definitely not boring meat and potatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2012

      A definite favorite! I've made it twice now and my family just loves it. We've only just recently started experiencing Indian cuisine and we love it. The only kheema dish we've tried before had more of a tomato base to it, and it was good, but we prefer this one. Next time I might add some cauliflower and have sort of a kheema/aloo gobi mix. Yum! Thanks, Jane, for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      I made this as directed for a party. I used yogurt. This is great! and surprisingly several of the kids liked it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      I was looking for a one-dish meal that was a little different than my usual chili-mac. I was a little leery with this one because I have made some disastrous Indian meals, but I am thrilled that I went for it. I pretty much followed exactly and added Greek yogurt and 1% milk. I cut up the potatoes pretty small due to the other reviewers saying it took longer to get them done and it took the exact time that it stated. My whole family loved this! I will be making this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      Quite good. The lemon juice gives it a nice twist, together with all the spices. Only didn't have peas, that I am sure would have been a very nice addition. I believe it would be great with cubbed instead of ground meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      My boyfriend is Indian and his mom fixes Beef Keema frequently. This was my first attempt at an Indian dish and it turned out just perfect. I did a mix of ground beef and ground turkey and drained the fat, which I shouldn't have done because it wasn't as soupy as his Auntie's or his mom's. Despite being drier than it should have been, it was delicious. I need to learn how to make chapathi, but since I haven't yet learned, we used naan bought from the store with which to eat it. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      Everyone in my house loved it except for me. I thought was alright. So we had to settle for 4 stars. I followed the recipe to a T. It was easy and good. I will probably make again because everyone else liked it so much. THANK YOU.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      I've tried and review about 160 recipes at Zaar and THIS is my favorite. The flavors just sing to me - and in in new language. I love that it freezes and reheats beautifully. Perfect degree of spicyness served to a diverse group of people. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      after reading the reviews i tried it...no one in my house liked it..it was too bland...i will never try this again !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      This was very good. In addition to the fresh ginger I added in a spoon of ginger paste. I also didn't add in the cinnamon or the fresh cilantro.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      Absolutely delicious! And quick and easy. Like Chef.Jules I used dried ginger and evaporated milk but I also added 1 tsp dried chilli flakes. I steamed the veges while the meat was simmering and added them near the end along with some chopped coriander and basil. Truly wonderful - it now has a permanent place in my cookbook. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      This was delicious. I didn't have fresh ginger so I used 1 tsp of ground. Also, used evaporated milk instead of whole milk. We had a neighbor boy over to eat with us, who happens to be Indian. He said it was very "authentic." Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      This is the second time I am using this recipe. Absolutely love it. Great flavour, relatively easy to make. My husband loves it and I think I should share it with my mom too!!! thank you so much for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Oh man. This is so good. It's such comfort food. I didn't use any ginger because I didn't have any and I used 1/2 tsp of curry powder due to lack of turmeric. I used plain nonfat yogurt which gave the right amount of tartness. I will definitely make this often. Thank you so much for sharing such an incredible recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      Pretty good overall, and I loved the flavors!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      We make this recipe all the time, it's great over rice or spaghetti. My husband prefers it over rice, I over spaghetti. One modification though, my husband cooks the potatoes in a seperate frying pan instead of adding it to the pot raw. This is a recipe in our rotation. Also, we try to use 1/2 lb sweet potatoes, 1/2 lb. red potatoes for a sweeter taste. SOOO GOOD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2006

      Quite tasty, but I must agree with other reviewers that the potatoes took longer to cook than noted in the recipe. I used ground ginger as that is what I had and didn't have cilantro. The dish was still flavorful. Thanks Jane!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      This has been in my cookbook for a LONG time! I loooove creamy dishes and indian dishes. To have them combined into one was just amazing. I would definitely add a bit of heat next time though. I used canned potatoes so I didnt have the problem of them not being cooked all the way through. Awesome dish and the amount of spices was dead on! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2005

      I almost dumped this midway through cooking. I tasted the beef soon after adding the spices and before the cream-- yuck! I almost cried. But I'm glad to have continued cooking. The medley of spices blended very well with the cream. It was rich, savory; simply delicious. I did alter it just a tad: simmered 30 minutes more before adding the peas to fully cook the potatoes. I wanted a bit more sauce so added 1 cup of beef broth. For personal taste, I also added 1/2 teaspoon chili pepper and 1/4 teaspoon cardamom. I skipped the last 1/2 teaspoon salt and I didn't have any cilantro so skipped it too. I served this over jasmine rice. Yummy. I can't believe it's the same dish I almost threw out! Thanks, Shelly for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2005

      We enjoyed this a lot, but felt it lacked the final "wow" factor to make it a 5 star recipe. It was easy to make, cooked perfectly in the time recommended, and was good as we had everythng on hand to make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Keema

    Serving Size: 1 (472 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 627.8
     
    Calories from Fat 329
    52%
    Total Fat 36.5 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 13.1 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 128.2 mg
    42%
    Sodium 1071.8 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 9.0 g
    36%
    Protein 39.8 g
    79%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites