24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Who needs store bought gravy when you can make this quick and simple gravy with the end result being a delicious creamy gravy! Made as written and I also used 2 teaspoons of Better Than Bouillon Beef Base added to 2 cups of water and at the end added 1/2 teaspoon Gravy Master instead of the Kitchen Bouquet. Start to finish my gravy was thick and bubbly in less than 15 minutes. Thanks for posting this keeper, it will be made often. Made for the "Down on the Farm" Photo Tag 2012.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Papa D 1946-2012 May 09, 2012

Perfect! I made without the Kitchen Bouquet and added 1/4 teaspoon of onion powder and it was the best beef gravy I've ever had.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LibbyF89 January 29, 2014

Made this recipe today with several substitutions of convenience. I used 2 tbsp corn starch instead of flour, earth balance buttery spread instead of butter, as two other reviewers did I also used bouillon instead of beef broth and Gravy Master instead of Kitchen Bouquet (may have overdone it on the Gravy Master). Since I was only cooking for myself the amount in the recipe was far more than I needed, I used some of it to flavor some ground beef I was making before the thickening stage. It was great for everything! Probably would have been thicker if using flour but it worked for my purposes. Will definitely make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gw33b3r August 29, 2013

I followed this recipe last night when I made liver and onions, adding the cooked onions into the gravy. My adult son raved about how good the gravy was and stated "this is the kind of gravy I would like on french fries", not knowing about your introduction!! Thank you so much!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammaw08 November 07, 2006

This is the BEST beef gravy I've ever made...or tasted! OMG DELICIOUS! I didn't have the Kitchen Bouquet and I didn't substitute anything but it still was the BDG!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GThompson March 15, 2015

This is very good. I used it in Wet Burritos and it was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka December 05, 2014

Made to recipe except i substituted 1tsp of lipton onion soup for the kitchen bouquet. Poured it over meatloaf and mashed potatoes, whole family of 6 loved it. Will definitely be adding this to my recipe book.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
T Y. October 27, 2014

Delicious and super simple to make. I'd never before made homwmade gravy but will be doing so again...so much better than those store boufht packages!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
georgiagin January 27, 2014

Yep! That's it! Needed a refresher. Perfect! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bdf1944 October 22, 2013

On 5/30/12 I was making Real Homemade Mashed Potatoes and wanted to make gravy,so remembering Papa D's wonderful photos of this recipe, I decided to try it. And I'm so very glad I did. :) I didn't have beef broth, so two beef bouillon cubes were dissolved in two cups of boiling water was used.And as Papa D, Gravy Master was used instead of Kitchen Bouquet. If you try this recipe and use bouillon cubes, I would suggest you taste the gravy before adding the salt( I learned the hard way :) ). Thank you for posting a recipe that will certainly be made again. " Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � May 31, 2012
Beef Gravy