Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Gravy

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on May 09, 2012

      Who needs store bought gravy when you can make this quick and simple gravy with the end result being a delicious creamy gravy! Made as written and I also used 2 teaspoons of Better Than Bouillon Beef Base added to 2 cups of water and at the end added 1/2 teaspoon Gravy Master instead of the Kitchen Bouquet. Start to finish my gravy was thick and bubbly in less than 15 minutes. Thanks for posting this keeper, it will be made often. Made for the "Down on the Farm" Photo Tag 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2014

      Perfect! I made without the Kitchen Bouquet and added 1/4 teaspoon of onion powder and it was the best beef gravy I've ever had.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2013

      Made this recipe today with several substitutions of convenience. I used 2 tbsp corn starch instead of flour, earth balance buttery spread instead of butter, as two other reviewers did I also used bouillon instead of beef broth and Gravy Master instead of Kitchen Bouquet (may have overdone it on the Gravy Master). Since I was only cooking for myself the amount in the recipe was far more than I needed, I used some of it to flavor some ground beef I was making before the thickening stage. It was great for everything! Probably would have been thicker if using flour but it worked for my purposes. Will definitely make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      I followed this recipe last night when I made liver and onions, adding the cooked onions into the gravy. My adult son raved about how good the gravy was and stated "this is the kind of gravy I would like on french fries", not knowing about your introduction!! Thank you so much!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      Delicious and super simple to make. I'd never before made homwmade gravy but will be doing so again...so much better than those store boufht packages!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2013

      Yep! That's it! Needed a refresher. Perfect! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2012

      On 5/30/12 I was making Real Homemade Mashed Potatoes and wanted to make gravy,so remembering Papa D's wonderful photos of this recipe, I decided to try it. And I'm so very glad I did. :) I didn't have beef broth, so two beef bouillon cubes were dissolved in two cups of boiling water was used.And as Papa D, Gravy Master was used instead of Kitchen Bouquet. If you try this recipe and use bouillon cubes, I would suggest you taste the gravy before adding the salt( I learned the hard way :) ). Thank you for posting a recipe that will certainly be made again. " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      I test tasted it before using it for wet burritos and it was very good. Cannot wait to make and use it for other dishes. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      Nice basic gravy - I've used the recipe several times (I also used the basic idea to thicken a casserole!) I have added a few extras - a bit of tomato paste, red wine, port etc. whatever the main dish called for. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

    • on December 06, 2009

      This gravy was very well received at my house and most importantly saved me from another trip to the store! I didn't have any Kitchen Bouquet but we didn't miss it. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      This was very good, I used 2 beef boullion cubes with 2 cups of water, sauted some onions and used this over hamburger steak..yummo. This was a nice thick gravy that I really enjoyed. Will be using this recipe again. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      Thank you for saving dinner! I had intended to pick up a jar of gravy at the store as the recipe called for but I forgot. I also have never made homemade gravy before and needed a recipe without pan drippings. This fit the bill perfectly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

    • on September 23, 2008

    • on May 13, 2008

      I've never made homemade gravy before and this turned out really delicious. Instead of the beef broth, I used 2 tsp of Better Than Boullion (beef) added to 2 c of water... I left out the Kitchen Bouquet since I don't have any in the house. I used this in Wet Burritos and it really made a delicious sauce. I will be making this again for mashed potatoes... thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      very good! i use this gravy whenever i make garlicky mashed potatoes and (well... also garlicky) meatloaf, and the whole meal is a big hit around the house. i've taken to adding a bit of onion powder and a couple cubes of beef bouillon, as i've got a deadly penchant for salty foods, but hey... that's just me. anyhow, thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      yum:D I love this gravy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

    • on February 27, 2007

      We loved this over our mashed potato and sausages for dinner. I didn't have andy Kitchen Bouquet so I threw in a few other herbs and it was really good. Will definately use this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (571 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 555.6
     
    Calories from Fat 426
    76%
    Total Fat 47.4 g
    72%
    Saturated Fat 29.7 g
    148%
    Cholesterol 122.0 mg
    40%
    Sodium 2772.9 mg
    115%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Kitchen Bouquet

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites