Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Goulash (Czech) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Goulash (Czech)

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2012

      Not really the greatest. It will do in a pinch, but it's not authentic Czech Goulash (I am Czech, born in Prague). There isn't even MARJORAM in this recipe, which is a MUST in Czech Goulash. There is also no green pepper in Czech Goulash and one onion isn't nearly enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2012

      I followed the recipe almost exactly (with the addition of some garlic) and it came out delicious. It was falling apart with just a fork and the onions caramelized perfectly. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

      This is a good recipe. I used a 1/2 of an arm roast that I cubed up. We served this over mashed potatoes, but I want to serve over some tiny dumplings next time. This is a nice recipe, thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      The whole family liked this. I served it over wild rice. After cooking the onions in bacon fat, I put the whole she-bang in the crock pot for 8 hours on low. I'm at a high elevation, so added about a 1/2 cup extra water. Turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      While this was not the one my husband is used to, I found it pretty tasty. I also cooked it in the crock pot on low instead of standing in front of the stove for 2 hours...made the beef very tender! I would say that the only thing I will change next time is to add some more spice to it, salt for sure, as it is pretty bland otherwise. But we will definitely be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2008

      This Beef Goulash is NOT CZECH! IT'S SLOVAK!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      Really good. Not the typical goulash I grew up with but very good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      This was so delicious! The beef was so tender and the flavors were simple but very tasty. Very easy recipe to throw together--will make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      This was very good and easy to make. I put everything in the crockpot and let it cook all day. This had a good taste to it. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      Really good. I followed the recipe exactly except that I added a tablespoon of minced garlic and served it over rice. Very tasty and very easy to make. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      A lovely beef goulash. Mine seemed the tiniest bit dry, but I may have cut the pieces too small. I cooked it for 2 hours...even on the small side, I'm afraid the pieces were not tender after one and a half, so allow plenty of time. It is very tasty--I used one T smoked paprika and one T regular... I could detect just a trace of smokiness. Next time I think I'll use both tablespoons of smoked paprika. Served with ~Rita~'s Cabbage and Noodles. The combination was terrific.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      really good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      This was a GREAT recipe! Easy and I almost always have these ingredients on hand. I had just bought some high quality paprika (both mild and hot) so I used a tbsp of each. Like Flower I also cooked it for 2.5 hours. Thanks lucid501!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      This was very tasty. Made for Pick a Chef. I used beef stew meat and orange bell pepper instead of green (a personal preference). Also added 1/2-1 tsp extra paprika. Had to cook for 2 1/2 hours to get to tenderness. Served with buttered egg noodles. Goulash is one of my favorites - thanks for the new recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2006

      Really good and actually economical. I used lean stew meat, browned the onions and meat in a heavy pan, added the seasonings and deglazed the pan with the water. Then everything went into the crockpot on low for several hours. The meat was so tender with just the right amount of gravy for Poppy Seed and Green Onion Noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2006

      I made this with cubed veal, a half green pepper and a half red pepper and I added a tablespoon of minced garlic in step two. I was cooking mine in a non-stick pan, so I needed only about half the oil. I also used only about half a teaspoon of salt, and merlot instead of water. I have difficulty adding water to recipes. I always want to opt for something more flavoursome! VERY tasty! Loved the paprika in this. And I'm sure it's much lower in fat than the nutritional information indicated. The quantity I made was ample for four. We ate this served over noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Goulash (Czech)

    Serving Size: 1 (264 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1646.8
     
    Calories from Fat 1535
    93%
    Total Fat 170.6 g
    262%
    Saturated Fat 68.1 g
    340%
    Cholesterol 224.7 mg
    74%
    Sodium 1228.6 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 20.0 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes