10 Reviews

This was very good! Made the house smell fantastic. Next time I think I will cut the onion a little smaller, and add some green bell pepper, but that's just personal preference. I can't wait to try this in a burrito (or chimichanga)! The guacamole was great, too. I think you can see the beef peeking out from under it just a little bit in my sorry photo. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa and Her Pants May 06, 2008

hubby really liked this. the meat still had plenty of liquid and was tender. i used a ribeye as it was all i had in the freezer. i also added a little bit more spices but that's it. very nice and mild meal. thanks PanNan!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica K June 19, 2007

This was FABULOUS! And so easy to make--I went to a grocery in town that has really good meat and got the sirloin already sliced for stir-fry. The only change I'd make for next time would be to maybe add a can of chiles or some jalapeno. I took one of the reviewer's advice and served it with white onion slivers. We'll make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef SuzyQ May 11, 2007

I was skeptical, but I made this based on the reviews and I'm glad I did.. I can't believe how much flavor the meat absorbed from the onion/garlic/salt whilst simmering.. amazing! I also made your Aztec Guac to go with and I agree, these flavors definately belong together! Both recipes are keepers, definately.. thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steve in FL May 06, 2007

This was great! I was very skeptical at first because I thought it was just going to taste like some boiled meat...I was soooo wrong! Very tender, great flavor and so easy. I think this will be the new way I cook my beef for tacos.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeanette G August 28, 2006

Oh my, this was good---perfect in every way! And so easy. I served this warm on taco salads for dinner, and it was given a big thumbs up from DH. Can't wait to try it with the Aztec Guac. Thanks, PanNan, for a keeper I will make again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BecR April 19, 2006

Wow! Pan. Growing up in a Mexican community we always had Beef Tacos served with Avacado Slices and White Onion Slivers. This recipe is what my memories have been hungering for. Thanks so much for the post!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vintage-Year March 12, 2006

Oh my! My Mom and I love beef (Alberta gal here) and this made a very tasty meal. We didnt have any guacamole, so My mom suggested that we use hummus instead. Very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Italy October 05, 2005

Very easy to make. The outcome is excellant! Each one of us had a different topping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BLUE ROSE October 04, 2005

This is absolutely GREAT! I couldn't imagine it turning into the great dish that it did. So easy, yet so good! I had it with the Aztec guacamole that PanNan suggested and both were superb!!! Your recipes are great PanNan. I am so glad I chose you!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mommie September 21, 2005
Beef for Tacos