Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Daube Provençal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Daube Provençal

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on November 07, 2011

      This was so Amazing!! Loved making and Loved eating even more!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2011

      I have tried to make several of these beef with wine types and this rates toward the top of the list , this turned out very well for me , I like the taste of salt that I add myself but I do not like the taste of high sodium canned food so I made the following substitutions and the taste was very fresh. I used no salt added kitchen basics chicken stock, no salt tomato paste, and to use up some fresh tomatoes I used three chopped tomatoes with an additional half a cup of stock and extra tomato paste as substitute for canned diced tomatoes. Also added two cans of mushrooms and some sweet potato the carrots and used a frozen chopped onion mix. . the sweet potato actually ended up mostly dissolving but added wonderful and thickness to the sauce. I served over those egg noodles that come frozen, added salt to taste. It was really outstanding. I used my heavy lecruset Dutch oven, next time I will check it after two and a half hours because I feel It overcooked a bit. thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2011

      The beef stew is absolutely amazing! I used already cut-up beef round cubes from the store, and it made the prep even simpler. I had all day to make this so I went with the "oven" method and the sauce got thick and rich. We served it simply over some medium egg noodles and it was a major hit. I will definitely be making this again, even for a dinner party or a special occasion. Btw, this recipe originally comes from Cooking Light's November 2004 edition. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      Wow! This was awesome. My girlfriend doesn't usually like stew, soup, or saucy foods, yet she still enjoyed it.

      I substituted:
      crushed tomatoes for diced tomatoes,
      corkscrew noodles as egg noodles, and
      used Cabinet Saugvahin for red wine. It was great!

      Thanks for the fine recipe. i bet the word "healthy" in the title scares people away, but it's great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2010

      This recipe is amazing. I have been making this for years. Very good over buttered egg noodles. I do cut the garlic down to about 6-7 cloves. Yum Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      This was very good. Hubby asked me to make him a roast for Fathers Day, so I chose this once since I had never cooked a roast in wine before. I only used 7 garlic cloves and wished I had used the full 12. I didn't stray at all from the recipe (except I forgot to add the can of diced tomatoes) and chose to slow cook mine in the oven and not the crockpot. This was a wonderful tasting roast, I would definately make it again and hopefully remember the diced tomatoes. I would reccomend this recipe to anyone who loves a good roast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      How many of your fabUlous recipes have I made and reviewed, Lainey? Well, not enough, for sure...LOL This is a easy to make (oven did all the work) producing a "French creme de la creme" taste!! (blowing kiss from fingertips-- imagine. :) ) While it's in the oven---people will ask "What's smelling so good?" Only you will know. Used some left-over eye of round roast so just browned the onions, garlic(added some sliced mushrooms) --everything into an old cast iron Dutch oven, before siding right into the oven for 3 hours. YUMMERS! Made for the rosemary event in French Forum and Mediterranean event in Cooking Photos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      Great combination of flavors!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      Very good! I added some mushrooms. Cooked in the crockpot and because liquid does not evaporate the same in the crockpot I did add a little cornstarch mixed with the juice for the last half hour of cooking.Served with brown rice because I was out of noodles. I will make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      I found this recipe through Cooking Light and we thoroughly enjoyed the flavours. I put mine in the crockpot and it was done in 4 hours. Just don't make my mistake and open a $33.00 bottle of red wine for this!!! Served over wide egg noodles....this made for a very satisfying meal. I do recommend this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2006

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Daube Provençal

    Serving Size: 1 (433 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 426.4
     
    Calories from Fat 114
    26%
    Total Fat 12.6 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 122.9 mg
    40%
    Sodium 766.1 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 37.5 g
    75%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    reduced-sodium beef broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites