12 Reviews

I saved it by adding tons of stuff which kinda of ruins the idea of a recipe. Bland. And I used the mushrooms and several different colors of peppers. I love potroasts of all kinds, but this needs a lot of work--bay leaf? worcestershire? thyme? garlic? something for flavor. Have to agree with a previous reviewer--very very plain.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
schlamand October 06, 2008

This recipe was pretty good. However, I found that the steak was very plain. I would make this again, however, I would add some steak spice. I served this meal with rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sketchytania August 28, 2008

Wow, So delicious, tender and easy to prepare. DH & I really enjoyed this very much. I made it just like the recipe said, using the mushrooms & a whole onion they were so yummy with the gravy & steak. I have saved the recipe & will be making it again.Thank you for posting your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz May 28, 2008

AUSSIE/NZ Swap May 2008 Super simple to put together and very tender to eat! Dh and I enjoyed this for our workday meal. I did not use mushrooms (optional) but increased the onion to a whole onion. I love the gravy factor. It reminded me of my M-I-L roast, similar in taste and tenderness. I neer could get it right and this is close. This will be a save for sure! I used some leftovers in Joshua's Cheesy Eggs. YUMMY

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie May 08, 2008

I have done this and Worcestershire sauce and garlic are a must also I season the meat with a bit of kosher salt and cracked black pepper before I brown it and I as a Puerto Rican I sprinkle it at the end with a bit of cilantro most people do parsley.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary I. March 10, 2016

Very good; thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ypecha May 07, 2015

Recipe as it stands is very bland. Thankfully I skimmed the reviews and made a number of modifications -- and turned out an excellent meal. GREAT WORK REVIEWERS! But this recipe by itself, very disappointing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greenie February 24, 2015

What a great way to use my garden veggies. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka August 03, 2014

I was surprised at how enjoyable this was to make and what rich flavors were teased out of the ingredients. I was out of beef broth, so substituted ½ cup of Progresso cream of mushroom sauce, and also added a carrot, thinly sliced. I browned the meat in an iron skillet rather than non-stick and used Canola Oil, which permitted me to brown the meat more and the resulting fond in the bottom of the pan delivered a wonderful umami flavor when deglazed with the liquids and vegetables. However, I over-salted the sauce, which kept it from being a near-perfect result. I will definitely prepare this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grwill April 11, 2014

This was really good! I doubled the gravy directions and I'm glad I did! Served with mashed potatoes. My only regret is that I used thin cut chuck steaks and the meat wasn't as fork-tender as I'd like so it probably over cooked in initial browning-next time I'm going to use fat steaks to start. Thanks for sharing the technique!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jVo August 31, 2011
Beef Chuck Steak W/Onions & Peppers