Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Burgundy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Burgundy

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 19, 2002

      Fantastic! I substituted Canadian bacon for the regular bacon, and this recipe was wonderful. It's a definate keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      Delicious! Only changes were we added rosemary, skipped the mushrooms and cooked it in a pressure cooker. First brown the bacon in a skillet. Brown the meat and garlic in the pressure cooker. Then add the seasonings, broth, wine, onions and cooked bacon. Put the lid on the pressure cooker and cook according to your pressure cookers directions. After the rocker gauge started rocking ours took apx. 30 minutes. Once the pressure goes down remove the lid and add the flour and water mixture to thicken. Served ours over egg noodles.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      I made this last Friday night for the five of us and everyone thought it was wonderful. I used cubed tenderloin from a roast I made a few days earlier and followed the rest of the recipe as written. Served it over wide egg noodles and it was delish! The boys had seconds and there were no left-overs which proves how good this was! Thanks so much for sharing this,PanNan!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2004

      Have used this recipe for years and it is fabulous. If there is any left over, I add water and bring to a boil. Then add sliced carrots, sliced celery, boiled potatoes, green beans and corn. Great winter beef stew!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2012

      It's Beef BURGUNDY....how can you use "any" wine such as Cabernet Sauvignon???!! Got to be Burgundy, or at least a Pinot Noir from elsewhere.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      I'm often tempted to tinker with recipes, but I made this one *exactly* as printed, and it was AMAZING! I especially liked that the mushrooms were left big enough that I could eat around them (I'm picky) and leave them to my fungus-loving husband. This one is going in the all-time keeper file, for sure. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      i am living in rural southern Brasil--so some of the meat cuts are difficult to find and some are very tough. I was not able to find beef broth here. I used a meat they call "alcatra"--I think it is rump roast. I rolled it in seasoned flour and omitted the flour & water at the end. After browning, I added wine & 1 cup water and soaked for 2 hours before pressure cooking. 30 minutes in pressure cooker made an incredibly easy and delicious meal. I will share with "the girls" down here! Thank you so much for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      Great recipe...ingredients are in the pantry always! Easy go to meal and super for a cold winter day...which most of us are experiencing today...jealous of Floridians today:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      Great flavor and easy to prepare. The only deviation from recipe was to add rosemary and reduce the combined simmer time by 30 minutes, served over garlic mashed potatoes and the whole family loved it. Will be a standard for our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      I used applewood smoked bacon, added fresh rosemary, sage & thyme, and replaced the fresh mushrooms with 1/2 cup reconstituted dried mushrooms and their liquid. I used a fruity but soft merlot. In addition, I added some very finely minced celery, carrot & onion to it as well as 1 heaping tbsp of tomato paste. Geez - I know it sounds like I added & changed a lot of things, but this is a great recipe to use as an outline! The broth was so rich and silky & wonderful with these additions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      Following these instructions, the meat was WAY overcooked for my taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2005

      I made this exactly as written except for the thyme - DH was afraid he wouldn't like it. What a wonderful dish - the sauce is sooo good. I wish I had doubled it, but will make it again soon - it is my DH's new favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2005

      5 Stars is not enough for this recipe. What makes this recipe so good is it takes very little of your time to make such a fanastic meal that other people would think you spent alot of hours over the stove when you didn't. I did omit the salt and pepper and I also double the sause. This recipe I am going to have again for my family and for company.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2005

      I thought it was good except there was way too much thyme. Next time I make it my dad wanted me to leave the thyme out all together, but I think I will use the fresh and see if that makes a difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2005

      This is a great way for a change from beef stew to use up some stew beef. The meat was so tender and the gravy was one of the best that I've had. I did omit the salt, health reasons, and it was still very tasty. Thanks PanNan for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2005

      I wish I could rate this recipe higher than 5 stars! The recipe was easy to prepare and the flavor was superb. I served this over mashed potatoes, with green beans and french rolls for a wonderful meal. I was really hoping for leftovers so I could use Queen Dragon Mom's suggestion for the stew. Unfortunately, my bunch gobbled it all in one meal. Thanks for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Burgundy

    Serving Size: 1 (326 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 222.8
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    22%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 51.1 mg
    17%
    Sodium 541.5 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.5 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 20.6 g
    41%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites