Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Brisket with Burgundy-Orange Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Brisket with Burgundy-Orange Sauce

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on July 08, 2003

      Great recipe, Mirj! I have made it twice so far, and it has been a hit both times. Before cooking the meat I marinated it for a day in a concoction I made up of sauteed onion and garlic simmered with wine, marmalade, sugar and chunks of orange (I removed the orange chunks before pouring the marinating the brisket so the orange flavor wouldn't overwhelm). I think the mushrooms work wonderfully and added even more the second time I made it. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2003

      This was absolutely wonderful, all the flavors were just right. Not too salty or too much orange. The other good thing about this dish is that you can make it in advance for a dinner party! I might consider to serve the mushrooms on the side next time, just to keep the sauce flavors more concentrated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2003

      i am reviewing this early for the jewish mothers cookathon.....loved it!!!!!i had never made a brisket so i had no idea what to expect. the sauce was fabulous and next time i will make this with caryn gales barley pilaf---this is just the complement i was looking for when i reviewed her recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2004

      This was wonderful! I adjusted everything upward because my brisket was about 6.5 pounds. Anyway, made this for Rosh Hashana. We are not Jewish but still like to celebrate the holidays of other religions/cultures--partly to teach our son (& ourselves--I have to research ALOT:) other traditions/symbolisms, but it is also great fun. Anyway, sent leftovers home with a friend, she shared with her friends the next day & they raved also. So, basically, LOTS of pleased folks with this dish. Thanks so much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2004

      We have always made brisket with just an onion soup recipe, but never again. This recipe of yours is sooooooo delicious, that I actually rate it 10 STARS ********** or even more! It's a perfect recipe as written. By the way, we used a 40 year old Burgundy when making it. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2003

      Served this for a dinner party for 25 on the buffet and everyone wanted the recipe. It is wonderful and very easy. Fixing it a day ahead of time makes it convenient for parties.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2003

      Really tasty dish, I couldn't find brisket but other beef also works. Very good dish for dinner parties as it can mostly be prepared in advace.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      Very good way to make brisket. I never knew what to do with that cut of meat before now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      I've made this a few times, and it's always a success. Mirjam, if you see this any time soon, what do you think of subbing Honey for marmalade and adding more rind? (a) don't want to have a half-full jar of the stuff and (b) 'tis the Season...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      I had such high hopes for this, it smelled absolutely delicious while cooking and looked amazing, however it did not taste as good as it smelled. Actually it tasted sort of bland in comparison. I made it as published, although instead of cooking it in the oven I did it in the crock-pot for 7 hours on low. Thanks for sharing, hopefully it was my error of cooking it in the crock-pot that made it not so tasty, if so maybe this review will stop someone else from making the same error.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      oooooooh aaaahhhhhhhh on this one! I was worried after paying $32.00 for my hunk of brisket and never cooking a brisket before! Would the $5.00 ham be just as good? It was sooooo worth the money to make this recipe for our easter dinner this year. I made the brisket the night before. I followed the ingredients just as written. The next day of the party I sliced it and cooked it for an hour on 350 to warm it through. Beautiful, melt in your mouth flavor. It went great with the 3 cheese spinich casserole on this site. Mashed potatoes and california medley steamed veggies!!!! So simple to make having it all done the day before guest arrived!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      We loved this dish! I left this in the crockpot for about fifteen hours until it was just super tender and delicious. I also used apricot jelly instead of the orange marmalade and increased the onion soup mix a bit. I also left out the basil since some in the fam don't care for it but we didn't miss it at all as it was absolutely delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      What a great recipe for entertaining! I made two 5 pound beef briskets and used sugar free orange marmalade....everyone went nuts for it! We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      I used 6 lb and cooked covered for 4 1/2 hours using the same temperature and other mesurements and it was soo tender, I had to cool it down to cut it up, otherwise it was falling apart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      This dish makes a great presentation. Smells fabulous while it is cooking. I pretty much followed the recipe using a 3 pound brisket. I didn't have dried basil so I used fresh. I also used sugar free orange marmalade. The only other thing different that I did was to uncover the brisket during the last hour of cooking so it would brown up nicely. The mushrooms really soaked up the sauce during cooking. You could really taste the orange in the mushrooms. This is a fabulous dish and I will make this again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      Woooooooh hooooooooooo, this was one of the best beef briskets I had ever made. I had a dinner of around 30, and every single one of the guests commented on how delicious the brikest was. Unfortunately, we did not have any left overs for us. It was wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      Delicious recipe. Unique, mild-orange flavor. Perfectly done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      I made this brisket for one of the Passover seders this year. I wanted a brisket that was a little different this year. This recipe was different in such a great way. Everyone loved the brisket! I had to quadruple the recipe, but I didn't have room in the pans for four pounds of mushrooms so I only used two pounds. I wish I had had more room. I removed the cooked mushrooms from the sauce and served them on the side. The mushrooms were devoured very quickly. They tasted much "orangier" than the brisket or the sauce itself. I also only used one bottle of wine (about 3 to 3 1/2 cups)and added a little water to increase the liquid. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2005

      This was very good. I now keep "orange marmalade" in the pantry. I will try marinading my cheap cuts next time as Kishka stated. This is a keeper. Thank you Mirj.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2004

      Outstanding!! I am not a beef fan... and I never thought I'd find a recipe for a piece of beef that I love -- but this is it! I was so surprised at how much hubby and I just loved this! The orange sauce / beef combination was absolutely delicious. I made this with Roasted Squash, Potatoes, Shallots Herbs by Rita L #81544, and they went so well with the brisket and sauce. Thanks so much for the delicious recipe! Dianne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Brisket with Burgundy-Orange Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (359 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 464.6
     
    Calories from Fat 152
    32%
    Total Fat 16.9 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 140.6 mg
    46%
    Sodium 581.9 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 10.4 g
    41%
    Protein 49.5 g
    99%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes