21 Reviews

Great recipe, Mirj! I have made it twice so far, and it has been a hit both times. Before cooking the meat I marinated it for a day in a concoction I made up of sauteed onion and garlic simmered with wine, marmalade, sugar and chunks of orange (I removed the orange chunks before pouring the marinating the brisket so the orange flavor wouldn't overwhelm). I think the mushrooms work wonderfully and added even more the second time I made it. Thanks again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kishka July 08, 2003

This was absolutely wonderful, all the flavors were just right. Not too salty or too much orange. The other good thing about this dish is that you can make it in advance for a dinner party! I might consider to serve the mushrooms on the side next time, just to keep the sauce flavors more concentrated.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pets'R'us June 06, 2003

i am reviewing this early for the jewish mothers cookathon.....loved it!!!!!i had never made a brisket so i had no idea what to expect. the sauce was fabulous and next time i will make this with caryn gales barley pilaf---this is just the complement i was looking for when i reviewed her recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimbearly June 26, 2003

This was wonderful! I adjusted everything upward because my brisket was about 6.5 pounds. Anyway, made this for Rosh Hashana. We are not Jewish but still like to celebrate the holidays of other religions/cultures--partly to teach our son (& ourselves--I have to research ALOT:) other traditions/symbolisms, but it is also great fun. Anyway, sent leftovers home with a friend, she shared with her friends the next day & they raved also. So, basically, LOTS of pleased folks with this dish. Thanks so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaJ October 11, 2004

We have always made brisket with just an onion soup recipe, but never again. This recipe of yours is sooooooo delicious, that I actually rate it 10 STARS ********** or even more! It's a perfect recipe as written. By the way, we used a 40 year old Burgundy when making it. Thanks for posting this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alan Leonetti February 24, 2004

Served this for a dinner party for 25 on the buffet and everyone wanted the recipe. It is wonderful and very easy. Fixing it a day ahead of time makes it convenient for parties.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
robin fitch November 30, 2003

Really tasty dish, I couldn't find brisket but other beef also works. Very good dish for dinner parties as it can mostly be prepared in advace.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bfo November 10, 2003

Very good way to make brisket. I never knew what to do with that cut of meat before now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mickey in MN October 06, 2009

I've made this a few times, and it's always a success. Mirjam, if you see this any time soon, what do you think of subbing Honey for marmalade and adding more rind? (a) don't want to have a half-full jar of the stuff and (b) 'tis the Season...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lighty September 11, 2009

I had such high hopes for this, it smelled absolutely delicious while cooking and looked amazing, however it did not taste as good as it smelled. Actually it tasted sort of bland in comparison. I made it as published, although instead of cooking it in the oven I did it in the crock-pot for 7 hours on low. Thanks for sharing, hopefully it was my error of cooking it in the crock-pot that made it not so tasty, if so maybe this review will stop someone else from making the same error.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Skies August 16, 2009
Beef Brisket with Burgundy-Orange Sauce